AzTrials
AzTrials

Colorectal CancerNCT00004891

PET and CT Scans in Patients With Locally Advanced Primary Rectal Cancer That Can Be Removed During Surgery

A study testing chemotherapy, computed tomography and conventional surgery in people with Colorectal Cancer, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Diagnostic procedures, such as PET and CT scans, may improve the ability to detect the extent of locally advanced primary rectal cancer and may also help to measure a patient's response to treatment. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years
Conditions the study is for
Colorectal Cancer
What is being tested?
chemotherapy, computed tomography and conventional surgery
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
149 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Sep 1999to Mar 2007
Phase
Interventional
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Primary resectable rectal cancer as determined by currently accepted diagnostic work-up, including CT scan and endorectal ultrasound (EUS)
  • Must meet criteria for preoperative radiotherapy and chemotherapy:
  • Bulky tumors and/or EUS evidence of T3-4 and/or N1 disease

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 18 and over

Performance status:

  • Not specified

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • Not specified

Hepatic:

  • Not specified

Renal:

  • Not specified

Other:

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • No uncontrolled diabetes mellitus (i.e., greater than 175 mg/dL)
  • No intolerance of being inside PET scanner for duration of study
  • No vulnerable patients (e.g., mentally retarded or prisoners)

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • See Disease Characteristics

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • See Disease Characteristics

Surgery:

  • See Disease Characteristics

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

    New York, New York, 10065

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Prospective Evaluation of 18F-Fluorodeoxyglucose Positron Emission Tomography (FDG-PET) in the Multimodality Management of Locally Advanced Primary Rectal Cancer

RATIONALE: Diagnostic procedures, such as PET and CT scans, may improve the ability to detect the extent of locally advanced primary rectal cancer and may also help to measure a patient's response to treatment.

PURPOSE: This clinical trial is studying how well PET and CT scans detect residual or metastatic disease in patients with locally advanced primary rectal cancer that can be removed during surgery.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine if fludeoxyglucose F 18 positron emission tomography (FDG-PET) is superior to CT scan at monitoring rectal cancer response to radiation and chemotherapy by identifying residual rectal cancer in the rectal wall or pelvic lymph nodes in order to optimize selection of patients suitable for a sphincter preserving rectal cancer resection or a local excision.
  • Determine the accuracy of FDG-PET in detecting extrapelvic metastatic disease in primary rectal cancer patients considered operable on the basis of currently accepted diagnostic work-up, including abdominal CT scan and chest x-ray.

OUTLINE: This is a diagnostic study conducted concurrently with multimodality management.

Within 1-2 weeks prior to starting preoperative radiotherapy/chemotherapy, patients undergo baseline positron emission tomography (PET) imaging of the thorax, abdomen, and pelvis. Patients receive fludeoxyglucose F 18 (FDG) IV followed 45 minutes later by PET imaging. Patients also undergo baseline CT imaging of the abdomen and pelvis. A CT scan of the chest is obtained if the prestudy chest x-ray is abnormal.

Patients receive preoperative radiotherapy/chemotherapy. Within 4-6 weeks of completion of radiotherapy/chemotherapy, patients undergo repeat FDG-PET imaging and CT scan. Patients undergo surgical resection 1-2 weeks later.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 125 patients will be accrued for this study within 3 years.

Keywords
stage II rectal cancer, stage III rectal cancer, stage IV rectal cancer
Medical subject headings
Colorectal Neoplasms, Rectal Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00004891
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
primary resectable rectal cancerExperimentalNot described
Receives: Drug: chemotherapy; Procedure: computed tomography; Procedure: conventional surgery; Procedure: neoadjuvant therapy; Procedure: positron emission tomography; Procedure: radionuclide imaging; Radiation: fludeoxyglucose F 18; Radiation: radiation therapy

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Determine if fludeoxyglucose F 18 positron emission tomography (FDG-PET) is superior to CT scan

    at monitoring rectal cancer response to radiation and chemotherapy by identifying residual rectal cancer in the rectal wall or pelvic lymph nodes in order to optimize selection of patients suitable for a sphincter preserving rectal cancer resection or a local excision

    Measured: 2 years

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. Determine the accuracy of FDG-PET

    in detecting extrapelvic metastatic disease in primary rectal cancer patients considered operable on the basis of currently accepted diagnostic work-up, including abdominal CT scan and chest x-ray.

    Measured: 2 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startSep 1999
  3. Primary completionMar 2007

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase N/A
Primary purpose
Diagnosis
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
149 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00004891
Sponsor's protocol ID
MSKCC-99048
Other IDs
CDR0000067567, NCI-G00-1695
Status last verified
Dec 2015
First submitted
7 Mar 2000
Last updated
22 Dec 2015
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Nahas CS, Akhurst T, Yeung H, Leibold T, Riedel E, Markowitz AJ, Minsky BD, Paty PB, Weiser MR, Temple LK, Wong WD, Larson SM, Guillem JG. Positron emission tomography detection of distant metastatic or synchronous disease in patients with locally advanced rectal cancer receiving preoperative chemoradiation. Ann Surg Oncol. 2008 Mar;15(3):704-11. doi: 10.1245/s10434-007-9626-y. Epub 2007 Sep 20.

    PubMed 17882490
  • Guillem JG, Puig-La Calle J Jr, Akhurst T, Tickoo S, Ruo L, Minsky BD, Gollub MJ, Klimstra DS, Mazumdar M, Paty PB, Macapinlac H, Yeung H, Saltz L, Finn RD, Erdi Y, Humm J, Cohen AM, Larson S. Prospective assessment of primary rectal cancer response to preoperative radiation and chemotherapy using 18-fluorodeoxyglucose positron emission tomography. Dis Colon Rectum. 2000 Jan;43(1):18-24. doi: 10.1007/BF02237238.

    PubMed 10813118
  • Guillem JG, Ruby JA, Leibold T, Akhurst TJ, Yeung HW, Gollub MJ, Ginsberg MS, Shia J, Suriawinata AA, Riedel ER, Mazumdar M, Saltz LB, Minsky BD, Nash GM, Paty PB, Temple LK, Weiser MR, Larson SM. Neither FDG-PET Nor CT can distinguish between a pathological complete response and an incomplete response after neoadjuvant chemoradiation in locally advanced rectal cancer: a prospective study. Ann Surg. 2013 Aug;258(2):289-95. doi: 10.1097/SLA.0b013e318277b625.

    PubMed 23187748

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A study testing chemotherapy, computed tomography and conventional surgery in people with Colorectal Cancer, run by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 22 Dec 2015. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Determine if fludeoxyglucose F 18 positron emission tomography (FDG-PET) is superior to CT scan (time frame: 2 years). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00004891, which also lists 3 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 22 Dec 2015.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in