AzTrials
AzTrials

Colorectal CancerPhase 2NCT00005944

Second-look Surgery With or Without Intraperitoneal Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Recurrent Colorectal Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing chemotherapy, fluorouracil and leucovorin calcium in people with Colorectal Cancer and Metastatic Cancer, run by UNICANCER at 18 sites in 2 countries.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Giving chemotherapy drugs in different ways may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 0 to 70 years
What is being tested?
chemotherapy, fluorouracil and leucovorin calcium
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
Not given
Where
18 sitesin 2 countries
Study dates
1 Jul 1999to 1 Oct 2003
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 0 to 70 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Primary diagnosis of adenocarcinoma of the colon or rectum and meeting one of the following risk criteria during the primary surgery: Perforated bowel (spontaneous or not) Occlusion Peritoneal deposits Invasion of serosa of more than 4 cm diameter Concurrent ovarian metastases Randomization eligibility: Presence of proven recurrent peritoneal disease (only one micronodule of 1 mm sufficient) at second look laparotomy Total resection of macroscopic lesions possible (local recurrence, lymph node or hepatic metastases)

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 70 and under Performance status: Not specified Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: WBC at least 1,500/mm3 Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 Hepatic: Not specified Renal: Creatinine no greater than 1.4 mg/dL Cardiovascular: No cardiac condition that would increase surgical risk Pulmonary: No pulmonary condition that would increase surgical risk Other: No other condition that would increase surgical risk No other malignancy within the past 5 years except basal cell skin cancer

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: No concurrent immunotherapy Chemotherapy: No other concurrent chemotherapy Endocrine therapy: No concurrent hormonal therapy Radiotherapy: No concurrent anticancer radiotherapy Surgery: See Disease Characteristics

Trial locations and contacts

18 sites in 2 countries.

18 sites in 2 countries

France17 sites
  • CHR de Besancon - Hopital Jean Minjoz

    Besançon, 25030

  • Institut Bergonie

    Bordeaux, 33076

  • CHU Ambroise Pare

    Boulogne-Billancourt, F-92104

  • Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Dijon

    Dijon, 21033

  • Centre Hospitalier Regional de Lille

    Lille, 59037

  • Centre Leon Berard

    Lyon, 69373

  • Institut J. Paoli and I. Calmettes

    Marseille, 13273

  • CHU de la Timone

    Marseille, 13385

  • Centre Regional de Lutte Contre le Cancer - Centre Val d'Aurelle

    Montpellier, 34298

  • CHR Hotel Dieu

    Nantes, 44093

  • CRLCC Nantes - Atlantique

    Nantes-Saint Herblain, 44805

  • Hopital L'Archet - 2

    Nice, F-06202

  • C.H.R. de Nimes - Hopital Caremeau

    Nîmes, 30000

  • CHR D'Orleans - Hopital de la Source

    Orléans, 45067

  • Centre Hospitalier Universitaire

    Reims, 51092

  • Centre Paul Strauss

    Strasbourg, 67085

  • Institut Gustave Roussy

    Villejuif, F-94805

Other trials in France

Belgium1 site
  • CHU Sart-Tilman

    Liège, B-4000

Other trials in Belgium

About this study

Official title: Study of Second Look Surgery With or Without Chemotherapy Intraperitoneally, in the Event of Risk of Intraperitoneal Recurrence

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Giving chemotherapy drugs in different ways may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase II trial to compare the effectiveness of second-look surgery with or without intraperitoneal infusions of mitomycin and fluorouracil in treating patients who have colorectal cancer that is recurrent to the peritoneum.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Compare the effect of second look surgery with or without intraperitoneal mitomycin and fluorouracil on the 3 year survival rate of patients with colorectal cancer who are at high risk for peritoneal cavity cancer. II. Compare the quality of life of patients treated with these regimens. III. Compare the toxicity of these regimens in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to center, risk group, presence of symptoms (yes vs no), and isolated disease (yes vs no). After primary surgery, all patients receive 6 months of chemotherapy consisting of leucovorin calcium IV followed by fluorouracil IV over 10 minutes on days 1-5 every 4 weeks. Patients then undergo second look surgery or laparoscopy at 8-12 months. Second look surgery or laparoscopy may be performed earlier if markers increase progressively for unknown reasons or symptoms of peritoneal cancer occur. Patients with recurrent disease that can be resected are randomized to one of two treatment arms. Patients with no residual disease or with unresectable disease are followed for survival. Arm I: Patients undergo complete resection of all detectable lesions followed immediately by intraperitoneal (IP) mitomycin on day 0 and fluorouracil IP on days 1-4. Patients also receive systemic chemotherapy consisting of leucovorin calcium IV over 2 hours and fluorouracil IV bolus, followed by fluorouracil IV over 22 hours on days 1 and 2. Systemic chemotherapy repeats every 2 weeks for 6 months. Arm II: Patients undergo complete or partial resection and then receive systemic chemotherapy as in arm I. Quality of life is assessed at baseline and then every 4 months for 3 years. All patients (including nonrandomized patients) are followed every 4 months for 3 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 152 patients (76 randomized) will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
chemotherapy, fluorouracil, leucovorin calcium, mitomycin C, conventional surgery
Keywords
recurrent colon cancer, recurrent rectal cancer, adenocarcinoma of the colon, adenocarcinoma of the rectum, liver metastases, primary peritoneal cavity cancer
Medical subject headings
Colorectal Neoplasms, Neoplasm Metastasis, Colonic Neoplasms, Rectal Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted24 Mar 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study start1 Jul 1999
  3. Primary completion24 Oct 2000
  4. Study completion1 Oct 2003

Why it stopped: insuffisient recruitment

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00005944
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000067833
Other IDs
FRE-FNCLCC-97018, EU-20010
Status last verified
Feb 2021
First submitted
5 Jul 2000
Last updated
17 Feb 2021
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing chemotherapy, fluorouracil and leucovorin calcium in people with Colorectal Cancer and Metastatic Cancer, run by UNICANCER at 18 sites in 2 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 17 Feb 2021. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 18 sites in France, Belgium. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study was stopped early (reason given: insuffisient recruitment). Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 17 Feb 2021.

Free account

Keep searching with a free account

You’ve used your 3 free searches for this session. Log in or create a free AzTrials account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in