AzTrials
AzTrials

Lung CancerPhase 2NCT00006469

Combination Chemotherapy and Radiation Therapy Followed By Surgery in Treating Patients With Stage IIB or Stage IIIA Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing carboplatin, paclitaxel and conventional surgery in people with Lung Cancer, run by Medstar Health Research Institute at 2 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining these treatments before surgery may kill more tumor cells in patients with non-small cell lung cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years
Conditions the study is for
Lung Cancer
What is being tested?
carboplatin, paclitaxel and conventional surgery
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
30 participants
Where
2 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Aug 1999to 30 Jan 2006
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed bulky stage IIB or stage IIIA non-small cell lung cancer
  • Ipsilateral mediastinal node involvement by mediastinoscopy
  • No contralateral lymph node involvement
  • No malignant pleural effusion
  • No distant metastases

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 18 and over

Performance status:

  • ECOG 0-1

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • Granulocyte count at least 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin at least 10 g/dL

Hepatic:

  • ALT/AST less than 2 times upper limit of normal
  • Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 mg/dL

Renal:

  • Creatinine no greater than 2.0 mg/dL

Other:

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No other prior malignancy within the past 5 years except adequately treated carcinoma in situ of the cervix or nonmelanoma skin cancer

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • No prior chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • No prior radiotherapy

Surgery:

  • See Disease Characteristics

Trial locations and contacts

2 sites in 1 country.

United States2 sites
  • Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Cancer Institute at Franklin Square Hospital Center

    Baltimore, Maryland, 21237

  • Washington Cancer Institute at Washington Hospital Center

    Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20010

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase II Trial of Concurrent Paclitaxel, Carboplatin and External Beam Radiotherapy Followed by Surgical Resection in Stage IIIA (N2) Non-small Cell Lung Cancer

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining these treatments before surgery may kill more tumor cells in patients with non-small cell lung cancer.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combining chemotherapy with radiation therapy before surgery in treating patients who have stage IIB non-small cell lung cancer or stage IIIA non-small cell lung cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the response rate, duration of response, and survival in patients with bulky stage IIB or stage IIIA non-small cell lung cancer treated with paclitaxel, carboplatin, and radiotherapy followed by surgical resection.
  • Assess the toxicity of this regimen in this patient population.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.

Patients receive paclitaxel IV over 1 hour and carboplatin IV over 30 minutes weekly for 5 weeks. Patients also undergo concurrent radiotherapy daily 5 days a week for 5 weeks in the absence of unacceptable toxicity. At approximately 4 weeks after completion of chemoradiotherapy, patients with stable or regressive disease undergo surgical resection. If disease is unresectable, patients receive an additional 2 weeks of radiotherapy.

Patients are followed every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 3 years, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 29-30 patients will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Lung Cancer
Keywords
stage II non-small cell lung cancer, stage IIIA non-small cell lung cancer
Medical subject headings
Lung Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00006469
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Single arm studyOtherConcurrent Paclitaxel, Carboplatin, and External-Beam Radiation Followed by Surgical Resection in Locally Advanced Non-Small-Cell Lung Cancer
Receives: Drug: carboplatin; Drug: paclitaxel; Procedure: conventional surgery; Procedure: neoadjuvant therapy; Radiation: radiation therapy

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Pathologic response rate

    as measured by pathology of the resected specimen and chest x-ray at 3 and 5 years after completion of study treatment.

    Measured: 3-5 Years

  2. Disease-free and overall survival at 3 and 5 years after completion of study treatment

    Measured: 3-5 Years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startAug 1999
  3. Primary completion30 Jan 2006
  4. Study completion30 Jan 2006

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Model description
Concurrent Paclitaxel, Carboplatin, and External-Beam Radiation Followed by Surgical Resection in Locally Advanced Non-Small-Cell Lung Cancer
Enrolment
30 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00006469
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000068288
Other IDs
WHC-99444, NCI-V00-1632
Status last verified
Aug 2020
First submitted
6 Nov 2000
Last updated
19 Aug 2020
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing carboplatin, paclitaxel and conventional surgery in people with Lung Cancer, run by Medstar Health Research Institute at 2 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 19 Aug 2020. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 2 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Pathologic response rate (time frame: 3-5 Years). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 19 Aug 2020.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in