AzTrials
AzTrials

Esophageal CancerPhase 2NCT00006472

Combination Chemotherapy Plus Radiation Therapy Followed By Surgery in Treating Patients With Stage I, Stage II, or Stage III Esophageal Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing carboplatin, fluorouracil and paclitaxel in people with Esophageal Cancer, run by Medstar Health Research Institute at 6 sites in United States.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Giving chemotherapy drugs and radiation therapy before surgery may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed during surgery. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages Up to 120 years
Conditions the study is for
Esophageal Cancer
What is being tested?
carboplatin, fluorouracil and paclitaxel
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
4 participants
Where
6 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Jan 2000to 10 Sep 2002
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Up to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically confirmed squamous cell carcinoma or adenocarcinoma of the upper, middle, or lower third esophagus Stage I, II, or III disease Measurable disease No distant metastases Negative liver biopsy Negative bone scan unless due to benign disease No tracheobronchial involvement No vocal cord paralysis No phrenic nerve involvement No celiac axis lymph node involvement unless due to primary cancer at gastroesophageal junction No evidence of disseminated cancer

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: Not specified Performance status: ECOG 0-2 Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm3 Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 Hemoglobin at least 10 g/dL Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 mg/dL SGOT/SGPT no greater than 2 times upper limit of normal (ULN) Alkaline phosphatase no greater than 2 times ULN Renal: Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL Creatinine clearance at least 60 mL/min Cardiovascular: No uncontrolled or severe cardiovascular disease No congestive heart failure No myocardial infarction within the past 6 months No severe or uncontrolled hypertension (systolic greater than 150 mmHg and diastolic greater than 100 mmHg) Pulmonary: FEV1/FVC at least 75% predicted Arterial blood saturation at least 92% Other: Not pregnant or nursing Negative pregnancy test Fertile patients must use effective contraception No other malignancy except curatively treated nonmelanoma skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix No other serious medical illness that would limit survival to fewer than 2 years No active uncontrolled bacterial, viral, or fungal infection No active uncontrolled duodenal ulcer No psychiatric disorder that would preclude study

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: No prior chemotherapy Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: No prior chest radiotherapy Surgery: No prior surgical resection of tumor Other: No prior therapy for esophageal cancer

Trial locations and contacts

6 sites in 1 country.

6 sites in 1 country

United States6 sites
  • Union Memorial Hospital

    Baltimore, Maryland, 21218

  • Harbor Hospital Center

    Baltimore, Maryland, 21225

  • Franklin Square Hospital Center

    Baltimore, Maryland, 21237

  • Good Samaritan Hospital of Maryland

    Baltimore, Maryland, 21239

  • Washington Cancer Institute

    Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20010

  • Washington Hospital Center

    Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20010

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Esophageal Cancer: A Phase II Study of Paclitaxel, Carboplatin and 5-Fluorouracil With Simultaneous Radiotherapy Followed by Surgical Resection

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Giving chemotherapy drugs and radiation therapy before surgery may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed during surgery.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy plus radiation therapy given before surgery in treating patients who have stage I, stage II, or stage III esophageal cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the total response rate in patients with stage I, II, or III esophageal cancer treated with paclitaxel, carboplatin, and fluorouracil with concurrent radiotherapy followed by surgical resection. II. Determine the overall survival of these patients treated with this regimen. II. Determine the toxicity of this regimen in this patient population.

OUTLINE: Patients receive paclitaxel IV over 1 hour followed by carboplatin IV over 30 minutes on days 1 and 22, and fluorouracil IV continuously on days 1-42. Patients undergo radiotherapy concurrently with chemotherapy daily 5 days a week for 5 weeks. Patients then undergo surgical resection within 3-5 weeks following completion of therapy. Patients are followed every 3 months for 6 months, every 6 months for 1 year, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 47 patients will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
carboplatin, fluorouracil, paclitaxel, conventional surgery, radiation therapy
Keywords
stage I esophageal cancer, stage II esophageal cancer, stage III esophageal cancer, squamous cell carcinoma of the esophagus, adenocarcinoma of the esophagus
Medical subject headings
Esophageal Neoplasms, Esophageal Squamous Cell Carcinoma, Adenocarcinoma Of Esophagus

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • carboplatinDrug

    Also called paraplatin

    Carboplatin AUC 6 days 1 and 22

  • fluorouracilDrug

    Also called 5FU

    5FU 225mg/m2 continuous infusion on days 1-42 during radiation

  • paclitaxelDrug

    Also called 200mg/m2 days 1 and 22

    taxol

  • conventional surgeryProcedure or surgery

  • radiation therapyRadiation

    The initial fields should be treated AP:PA when possible to a dose of 4500 cGy in 180 cGy fractions

Study groups in NCT00006472
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Single arm studyOtherTaxol® (Paclitaxel), Carboplatin and 5-Fluorouracil with Simultaneous Radiotherapy Followed by Surgical Resection
Receives: Drug: carboplatin; Drug: fluorouracil; Drug: paclitaxel; Procedure: conventional surgery; Radiation: radiation therapy

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted26 Feb 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startJan 2000
  3. Primary completion15 Nov 2001
  4. Study completion10 Sep 2002

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
4 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00006472
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000068295
Other IDs
WHC-99692, NCI-V00-1633
Status last verified
Feb 2002
First submitted
6 Nov 2000
Last updated
18 Aug 2020
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing carboplatin, fluorouracil and paclitaxel in people with Esophageal Cancer, run by Medstar Health Research Institute at 6 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 18 Aug 2020. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 6 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study was stopped early. Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 18 Aug 2020.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in