AzTrials
AzTrials

Head and Neck CancerPhase 2NCT00014118

Chemotherapy and Radiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Stage III or Stage IV Larynx or Oropharynx Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing carboplatin, paclitaxel and conventional surgery in people with Head and Neck Cancer, run by Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group at 47 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining chemotherapy with radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years
Conditions the study is for
Head and Neck Cancer
What is being tested?
carboplatin, paclitaxel and conventional surgery
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
Not given
Where
47 sitesUnited States
Study dates
6 Jun 2001to May 2009
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed stage III or IV (T2-T4) squamous cell carcinoma of the larynx or oropharynx
  • No recurrent disease
  • No evidence of distant metastasis
  • Resectable disease, defined as follows:
  • High probability of attaining clear surgical margins (for disease of the base of tongue, tonsil, soft palate, or pharyngeal wall)
  • No extension to root of tongue (for disease of the base of tongue)
  • No extension into pterygoid by radiograph (for disease of the tonsil, soft palate, or pharyngeal wall)
  • No primary tumor or nodal metastases fixed to the carotid artery or cervical spine (for disease of the base of tongue, tonsil, soft palate, or pharyngeal wall)
  • No trismus (for disease of the tonsil, soft palate, or pharyngeal wall)
  • No involvement of the trachea greater than 1 cm or any involvement of the esophagus (for disease of the subglottis)
  • For disease of the supraglottis, glottis, or subglottis:
  • No base of the tongue invasion greater than 2 cm
  • No tumor extension through cartilage to involve strap muscles of the neck
  • No tumor fixation to prevertebral fascia
  • No involvement of the carotid artery
  • No fixed nodal disease with involvement of the deep neck
  • Extension into pyriform sinus or lateral pharyngeal wall allowed if no extension into posterior pharynx
  • Measurable disease
  • - Lesions accurately measured in at least one dimension as > 20 mm (2.0 cm) with conventional techniques or as > 10 mm (1.0 cm) with spiral CT scan
  • Cytologic or histologic evidence of neoplasm is needed for measurable disease restricted to a solitary lesion
  • No other concurrent head and neck neoplasms

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Creatinine less than 3.0 mg/dL
  • Calcium normal

Cardiovascular

  • No significant cardiac disease
  • No uncontrolled hypertension
  • No unstable angina
  • No congestive heart failure
  • No myocardial infarction within the past year
  • No serious cardiac arrhythmias requiring medication

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for at least 3 months after study completion
  • No significant detectable infection
  • No history of allergy to drugs containing Cremophor EL
  • No history of allergy to mammalian cell-derived products (epoetin alfa) or human albumin
  • No other malignancy within the past 3 years except basal or squamous cell skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • No prior chemotherapy
  • No concurrent amifostine

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • No prior radiotherapy above the clavicles

Surgery

  • No prior surgery to the primary tumor except biopsy or debulking

Other

  • No concurrent experimental mucosal protectants

Trial locations and contacts

47 sites in 1 country.

47 sites in 1 country

United States47 sites
  • Aultman Cancer Center at Aultman Hospital

    Canton, Ohio, 44710-1799

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Chanute

    Chanute, Kansas, 66720

  • Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center at Northwestern University

    Chicago, Illinois, 60611-3013

  • Hematology and Oncology Associates

    Chicago, Illinois, 60611

  • Mercy Hospital and Medical Center

    Chicago, Illinois, 60616

  • MetroHealth Cancer Care Center at MetroHealth Medical Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44109

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Dodge City

    Dodge City, Kansas, 67801

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - El Dorado

    El Dorado, Kansas, 67042

  • Green Bay Oncology, Limited at St. Vincent Hospital Regional Cancer Center

    Green Bay, Wisconsin, 54301-3526

  • Green Bay Oncology, Limited at St. Mary's Hospital

    Green Bay, Wisconsin, 54303

  • St. Mary's Hospital Medical Center - Green Bay

    Green Bay, Wisconsin, 54303

  • St. Vincent Hospital Regional Cancer Center

    Green Bay, Wisconsin, 54307-3508

  • Ingalls Cancer Care Center at Ingalls Memorial Hospital

    Harvey, Illinois, 60426

  • Baptist Cancer Institute - Jacksonville

    Jacksonville, Florida, 32207

  • Midwest Center for Hematology/Oncology

    Joliet, Illinois, 60432

  • Borgess Medical Center

    Kalamazoo, Michigan, 49001

  • West Michigan Cancer Center

    Kalamazoo, Michigan, 49007-3731

  • Bronson Methodist Hospital

    Kalamazoo, Michigan, 49007

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Kingman

    Kingman, Kansas, 67068

  • Watson Clinic, LLC

    Lakeland, Florida, 33804-5000

  • Southwest Medical Center

    Liberal, Kansas, 67901

  • Bay Area Cancer Care Center at Bay Area Medical Center

    Marinette, Wisconsin, 54143

  • Marshfield Clinic - Marshfield Center

    Marshfield, Wisconsin, 54449

  • Mary Babb Randolph Cancer Center at West Virginia University Hospitals

    Morgantown, West Virginia, 26506

  • Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center

    Nashville, Tennessee, 37232-6838

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Newton

    Newton, Kansas, 67114

  • Cancer Care and Hematology Specialists of Chicagoland - Niles

    Niles, Illinois, 60714

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Parsons

    Parsons, Kansas, 67357

  • Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19104-4283

  • Fox Chase Cancer Center - Philadelphia

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19111-2497

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Pratt

    Pratt, Kansas, 67124

  • Marshfield Clinic - Indianhead Center

    Rice Lake, Wisconsin, 54868

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Salina

    Salina, Kansas, 67042

  • Guthrie Cancer Center at Guthrie Clinic Sayre

    Sayre, Pennsylvania, 18840

  • Siouxland Hematology-Oncology Associates, LLP

    Sioux City, Iowa, 51101

  • Mercy Medical Center - Sioux City

    Sioux City, Iowa, 51104

  • St. Luke's Regional Medical Center

    Sioux City, Iowa, 51104

  • Hematology Oncology Associates - Skokie

    Skokie, Illinois, 60076

  • Hematology/Oncology of the North Shore at Gross Point Medical Center

    Skokie, Illinois, 60076

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Wellington

    Wellington, Kansas, 67152

  • Associates in Womens Health, PA - North Review

    Wichita, Kansas, 67203

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Medical Arts Tower

    Wichita, Kansas, 67208

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Wichita

    Wichita, Kansas, 67214

  • CCOP - Wichita

    Wichita, Kansas, 67214

  • Via Christi Cancer Center at Via Christi Regional Medical Center

    Wichita, Kansas, 67214

  • Wesley Medical Center

    Wichita, Kansas, 67214

  • Cancer Center of Kansas, PA - Winfield

    Winfield, Kansas, 67156

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Trial OF Chemoradiation For Organ Preservation In Resectable Stage III or IV Squamous Cell Carcinomas Of The Larynx Or Oropharynx

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining chemotherapy with radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy followed by radiation therapy and chemotherapy in treating patients who have stage III or stage IV cancer of the larynx or stage III or stage IV cancer of the oropharynx.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the organ preservation rate in patients with stage III or IV squamous cell carcinoma of the larynx or oropharynx treated with paclitaxel and carboplatin followed by paclitaxel with concurrent radiotherapy.
  • Determine the feasibility and toxicity of this regimen in these patients.
  • Determine the utility of pre- and post-treatment organ function instruments on swallowing ability and voice quality in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the disease-free survival and patterns of failure of patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the objective tumor response rate (complete and partial response) in these patients following treatment with 2 courses of induction therapy with paclitaxel and carboplatin.
  • Determine changes in quality of life of patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine whether the presence of human papilloma virus infection and p-glycoprotein correlates with outcome in patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to disease site (larynx vs oropharynx).

Patients receive induction therapy comprising paclitaxel IV over 3 hours followed by carboplatin IV over 30-60 minutes on days 1 and 22. Within 28 days after completion of induction therapy, patients with responding or stable disease receive paclitaxel IV over 60 minutes on days 1, 8, 15, 22, 29, 36, and 43 and radiotherapy once daily, 5 times weekly, for 7 weeks beginning on day 1.

Within 6-8 weeks after completion of therapy, patients who initially had bulky neck disease (N3) or who have residual palpable lymphadenopathy undergo surgical neck dissection. Patients with N1-N2 disease with complete response may also undergo neck dissection. Patients with initial complete response who recur at the primary site undergo surgical salvage.

Quality of life is assessed at baseline, after induction therapy, and at 3, 12, and 24 months after completion of all therapy.

Patients are followed at 6 weeks, 3 months, every 6-8 weeks for 1 year, every 3 months for 1 year, every 4 months for 1 year, and then every 6 months for 5 years thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 110 patients (55 per stratum) will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
carboplatin, paclitaxel, conventional surgery, radiation therapy
Keywords
stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the oropharynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the oropharynx, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the larynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the larynx
Medical subject headings
Head and Neck Neoplasms, Squamous Cell Carcinoma of Head and Neck

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Organ preservation rate

  2. Feasibility and toxicity

  3. Utility of pre- and post-treatment organ function instruments

  4. Disease-free survival and patterns of failure

  5. Objective tumor response rate (complete and partial response)

  6. Changes in quality of life

  7. Correlation of the presence of human papilloma virus infection and p-glycoprotein with outcome

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study start6 Jun 2001
  3. Primary completionMar 2007
  4. Study completionMay 2009

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Masking
None (open label)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00014118
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000068468
Other IDs
U10CA021115, ECOG-2399
Status last verified
Jun 2023
First submitted
10 Apr 2001
Last updated
15 Jun 2023
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Fakhry C, Westra WH, Li S, Cmelak A, Ridge JA, Pinto H, Forastiere A, Gillison ML. Improved survival of patients with human papillomavirus-positive head and neck squamous cell carcinoma in a prospective clinical trial. J Natl Cancer Inst. 2008 Feb 20;100(4):261-9. doi: 10.1093/jnci/djn011. Epub 2008 Feb 12.

    PubMed 18270337
  • Cmelak AJ, Li S, Goldwasser MA, Murphy B, Cannon M, Pinto H, Rosenthal DI, Gillison M, Forastiere AA. Phase II trial of chemoradiation for organ preservation in resectable stage III or IV squamous cell carcinomas of the larynx or oropharynx: results of Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group Study E2399. J Clin Oncol. 2007 Sep 1;25(25):3971-7. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2007.10.8951.

    PubMed 17761982
  • Fakhry C, Westra W, Li S, et al.: Prognostic significance of human papillomavirus (HPV) tumor status for patients with head and neck squamous cell carcinoma (HNSCC) in a prospective, multi-center phase II clinical trial. [Abstract] J Clin Oncol 25 (Suppl 18): A-6000, 299s, 2007.

  • Cmelak AJ, Li S, Murphy B, et al.: Locally advanced resectable larynx (L) or oropharynx (OP) cancer: updated results of organ preservation trial ECOG 2399. [Abstract] J Clin Oncol 24 (Suppl 18): A-5527, 286s, 2006.

  • Murphy BA, Smith K, Cmelak A, et al.: Swallowing function for patients treated on E2399: a phase II trial of function preservation with induction paclitaxel/carboplatin followed by radiation plus weekly paclitaxel. [Abstract] J Clin Oncol 24 (Suppl 18): A-5524, 2006.

  • Murphy BA, Smith K, Dowling E, et al.: Baseline swallowing function for patients treated on E2399: a phase II trial of function preservation with induction paclitaxel/carboplatin followed by radiation plus weekly paclitaxel. [Abstract] Proceedings of the American Society of Clinical Oncology 22: A-2005, 2003.

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing carboplatin, paclitaxel and conventional surgery in people with Head and Neck Cancer, run by Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group at 47 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 15 Jun 2023. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 47 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Organ preservation rate. The study lists 7 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00014118, which also lists 6 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 15 Jun 2023.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in