Ovarian CancerNCT00017134
Fenretinide Followed by Surgery Compared With Surgery Alone in Preventing Ovarian Cancer in Patients at Increased Risk
A study testing fenretinide and conventional surgery in people with Ovarian Cancer, run by Gynecologic Oncology Group at 35 sites in United States.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Chemoprevention therapy is the use of certain drugs to try to prevent the development of cancer. It is not yet known whether fenretinide given before surgery is more effective in preventing ovarian cancer than surgery alone. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and older, women only
- Conditions the study is for
- Ovarian Cancer
- What is being tested?
- fenretinide and conventional surgery
- Type of treatment
- Surgery or procedure
- How many people
- 71 participants
- Where
- 35 sitesUnited States
- Study dates
- Sep 2002to Dec 2006
- Phase
- Interventional
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- Women only
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Increased risk for ovarian cancer secondary to 1 of the following:
- Evidence of a BRCA1 or BRCA2 genetic mutation
- Family history of 1 or more first-degree relatives diagnosed with ovarian cancer prior to 50 years of age
- Family history of 1 first-degree relative with ovarian cancer (any age) AND 1 or more first- or second-degree relatives diagnosed with breast or ovarian cancer
- Personal history of breast cancer (at any age) AND 1 or more first- or second-degree relative diagnosed with breast or ovarian cancer at any age
- Meets any 1 of the following criteria:
- Ashkenazi Jewish ethnicity with 1 first-degree or 2 second-degree relatives with breast* and/or ovarian cancer
- Ashkenazi Jewish ethnicity with diagnosed breast* cancer in patient
- Greater than 20% probability of carrying BRCA1/2 mutation with a family history of breast and ovarian cancer NOTE: * Where breast cancer is required to meet this criteria, diagnosis must occur prior to menopause or at ≤ 50 years old if age at menopause is unknown
- Planned prophylactic oophorectomy
- Normal pelvic exam within the past 6 weeks
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age:
- 18 and over
Performance status:
- GOG 0-1
Life expectancy:
- At least 12 months
Hematopoietic:
- WBC at least 4,000/mm^3
- Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3
Hepatic:
- Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 mg/dL
- SGOT no greater than 2 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
Renal:
- Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL OR
- Creatinine clearance at least 60 mL/min
- Triglyceride less than 2 times ULN (fasting)
Cardiovascular:
- No myocardial infarction within the past 3 months
- No active angina
- No unstable heart rhythms
- No clinically evident congestive heart failure
Other:
- No uncontrolled medical illness that would preclude study participation
- No uncontrolled diabetes
- No uncontrolled psychiatric illness
- Not pregnant or nursing
- Negative pregnancy test
- Fertile patients must use effective barrier contraception
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy:
- Not specified
Chemotherapy:
- At least 3 months since prior chemotherapy
Endocrine therapy:
- At least 3 months since prior hormonal therapy
- At least 8 weeks since prior hormone replacement therapy
- At least 8 weeks since prior oral, injectable, or implantable contraceptives
- No concurrent hormonal therapy, including hormone replacement therapy
Radiotherapy:
- At least 3 months since prior radiotherapy
- No prior radiotherapy to pelvis for malignancy
Surgery:
- See Disease Characteristics
Other:
- At least 3 months since prior investigational treatment
- No concurrent nutritional supplements except a daily multivitamin with less than 25,000 IU of vitamin A
- No prior non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) on a regular (chronic or daily) basis within the past 6 months
- No concurrent NSAIDs on a regular (chronic or daily) basis
- Concurrent aspirin at a dose of 81 mg/day allowed
Trial locations and contacts
35 sites in 1 country.
35 sites in 1 country
United States35 sites
McDowell Cancer Center at Akron General Medical Center
Akron, Ohio, 44307
Morgan Cancer Center at Lehigh Valley Hospital - Cedar Crest
Allentown, Pennsylvania, 18105
Colorado Gynecologic Oncology Group P.C.
Aurora, Colorado, 80010
Roswell Park Cancer Institute
Buffalo, New York, 14263-0001
Fletcher Allen Health Care - University Health Center Campus
Burlington, Vermont, 05401
Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center at University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, 27599-7295
Blumenthal Cancer Center at Carolinas Medical Center
Charlotte, North Carolina, 28232-2861
Charles M. Barrett Cancer Center at University Hospital
Cincinnati, Ohio, 45267
Riverside Methodist Hospital Cancer Care
Columbus, Ohio, 43214-3998
Mount Carmel Health - West Hospital
Columbus, Ohio, 43222
Evanston Northwestern Healthcare - Evanston Hospital
Evanston, Illinois, 60201-1781
Michael & Dianne Bienes Comprehensive Cancer Center at Holy Cross Hospital
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, 33308
University of Texas Medical Branch
Galveston, Texas, 77555-0361
CCOP - Northern New Jersey
Hackensack, New Jersey, 07601
Helen and Harry Gray Cancer Center at Hartford Hospital
Hartford, Connecticut, 06102-5037
St. Vincent Indianapolis Hospital
Indianapolis, Indiana, 46260
Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center at University of Iowa
Iowa City, Iowa, 52242
Kansas Masonic Cancer Research Institute at the University of Kansas Medical Center
Kansas City, Kansas, 66160-7357
Markey Cancer Center at University of Kentucky Chandler Medical Center
Lexington, Kentucky, 40536-0293
Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center at UCLA
Los Angeles, California, 90095-1781
Hillcrest Cancer Center at Hillcrest Hospital
Mayfield Heights, Ohio, 44124
University of Minnesota Medical Center & Children's Hospital - Fairview
Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55455
George Bray Cancer Center at New Britain General Hospital
New Britain, Connecticut, 06050
Mount Sinai Medical Center
New York, New York, 10029
Oklahoma University Medical Center
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, 73104
Oregon Health & Science University Cancer Institute
Portland, Oregon, 97239-3098
Virginia Commonwealth University Massey Cancer Center
Richmond, Virginia, 23298-0037
William Beaumont Hospital - Royal Oak Campus
Royal Oak, Michigan, 48073
CCOP - Metro-Minnesota
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, 55416
Memorial Hospital of South Bend
South Bend, Indiana, 46601
CCOP - Cancer Research for the Ozarks
Springfield, Missouri, 65802
St. John's Regional Health Center
Springfield, Missouri, 65804
Hulston Cancer Center at Cox Medical Center South
Springfield, Missouri, 65807
Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish Hospital
St Louis, Missouri, 63110
Cancer Institute of New Jersey at Cooper - Voorhees
Voorhees Township, New Jersey, 08043
About this study
Official title: An Exploratory Evaluation of Fenretinide (4-HPR) as a Chemopreventive Agent for Ovarian Carcinoma
RATIONALE: Chemoprevention therapy is the use of certain drugs to try to prevent the development of cancer. It is not yet known whether fenretinide given before surgery is more effective in preventing ovarian cancer than surgery alone.
PURPOSE: Randomized clinical trial to compare the effectiveness of fenretinide followed by surgery with that of surgery alone in preventing ovarian cancer in patients who are at increased risk.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Compare the frequency of histopathology markers or precursor lesions of the ovaries, including surface papillomatosis, invaginations, pseudostratification, and inclusion cysts, removed from patients at increased risk for ovarian cancer between those receiving fenretinide vs those undergoing immediate oophorectomy.
- Determine the relative abundance of markers of cell proliferation and apoptosis in cancer-prone ovaries of patients treated with fenretinide.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 arms.
- Arm I: Patients undergo prophylactic oophorectomy.
- Arm II: Patients receive oral fenretinide once daily for 27 days every 30 days for 6-8 weeks. Treatment continues in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or diagnosis of malignancy. After completion of fenretinide, patients undergo prophylactic oophorectomy.
Patients are followed every 3 months for 2 years and then every 6 months for 3 years.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 71 patients will be accrued for this study within 2 years.
- Conditions
- Ovarian Cancer
- Being tested
- fenretinide, conventional surgery
- Keywords
- ovarian epithelial cancer
- Medical subject headings
- Ovarian Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Ovarian Epithelial
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
fenretinideDrug
conventional surgeryProcedure or surgery
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted7 May 2003 (estimated)
- Study startSep 2002
- Primary completionDec 2006
Why it stopped: Withdrawn due to poor accrual
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for Ovarian CancerStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase N/A
- Primary purpose
- Prevention
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Enrolment
- 71 participants (estimated)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Gynecologic Oncology Group
- Sponsor type
- Research network
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Investigators
- Mary B. Daly, MD, PhD, Study chair, Fox Chase Cancer Center
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00017134
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- CDR0000068655
- Other IDs
- GOG-0190
- Status last verified
- Nov 2006
- First submitted
- 6 Jun 2001
- Last updated
- 10 Jun 2013
- Results posted
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 10 Jun 2013. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- An Exploratory Evaluation of Fenretinide (4-HPR) as a Chemopreventive Agent for Ovarian Carcinoma
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00017134
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- CDR0000068655
- Conditions
- Ovarian Cancer
- Keywords
- ovarian epithelial cancer
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- TerminatedReason stopped: Withdrawn due to poor accrual
- Enrolment
- 71 participants (estimated)
- Lead sponsor
- Gynecologic Oncology GroupResearch network
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Study start
- Sep 2002
- Primary completion
- Dec 2006 (actual)
- First posted
- 7 May 2003 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Chemoprevention therapy is the use of certain drugs to try to prevent the development of cancer. It is not yet known whether fenretinide given before surgery is more effective in preventing ovarian cancer than surgery alone.
PURPOSE: Randomized clinical trial to compare the effectiveness of fenretinide followed by surgery with that of surgery alone in preventing ovarian cancer in patients who are at increased risk.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Compare the frequency of histopathology markers or precursor lesions of the ovaries, including surface papillomatosis, invaginations, pseudostratification, and inclusion cysts, removed from patients at increased risk for ovarian cancer between those receiving fenretinide vs those undergoing immediate oophorectomy.
- Determine the relative abundance of markers of cell proliferation and apoptosis in cancer-prone ovaries of patients treated with fenretinide.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 arms.
- Arm I: Patients undergo prophylactic oophorectomy.
- Arm II: Patients receive oral fenretinide once daily for 27 days every 30 days for 6-8 weeks. Treatment continues in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or diagnosis of malignancy. After completion of fenretinide, patients undergo prophylactic oophorectomy.
Patients are followed every 3 months for 2 years and then every 6 months for 3 years.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 71 patients will be accrued for this study within 2 years.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Prevention
- Allocation
- Randomised
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- Female only
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| fenretinide | Drug | – |
| conventional surgery | Procedure or surgery | – |
Primary outcome
Not reported in the source record.
Results and safety
The study was stopped early (reason given: Withdrawn due to poor accrual). Results are not available in the source record.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 10 Jun 2013.
Related trials for Ovarian Cancer
Active, not recruiting
Ovarian Tissue Cryopreservation in Children
Cancer
RecruitingObservational study
DICER1-related Pleuropulmonary Blastoma Cancer Predisposition Syndrome: A Natural History Study
Pleuropulmonary Blastoma, Cystic Nephroma
RecruitingPhase 2
Immunotherapy Platform Study in Platinum Resistant High Grade Serous Ovarian Cancer
Ovarian Cancer
Recruiting
INtegrating Systematic PatIent-Reported Evaluations in Multi-Disciplinary Tumor Boards: The INSPIRE Study
Breast Cancer, Corpus Uteri Cancer
Not yet recruitingPhase 2
Study of Suvemcitug Plus Chemotherapy in Advanced High-Grade Serous Ovarian Cancer
High-grade Serous Ovarian Cancer
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Mary B. Daly, MD, PhD study chair
Fox Chase Cancer Center
35 sites in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A study testing fenretinide and conventional surgery in people with Ovarian Cancer, run by Gynecologic Oncology Group at 35 sites in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 10 Jun 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 35 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
Are results available for this study?
The study was stopped early (reason given: Withdrawn due to poor accrual). Results are not available in the source record.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 10 Jun 2013.