AzTrials
AzTrials

Prostate CancerPhase 2NCT00020735

Toremifene Followed by Radical Prostatectomy in Treating Patients With Stage I or Stage II Prostate Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing toremifene, conventional surgery and neoadjuvant therapy in people with Prostate Cancer, run by Joel Nelson, MD at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Androgens can stimulate the growth of prostate cancer cells. Hormone therapy using toremifene may fight prostate cancer by reducing the production of androgens. PURPOSE: Randomized phase II trial to study the effectiveness of toremifene followed by radical prostatectomy in treating patients who have stage I… Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years, men only
Conditions the study is for
Prostate Cancer
What is being tested?
toremifene, conventional surgery and neoadjuvant therapy
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
45 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Apr 2001to Jun 2009
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • Men only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the prostate
  • Organ-confined (cT1-2) disease (stage I or II)
  • Must be schedule to undergo radical prostatectomy
  • Prior sextant biopsy required

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • Over 18

Performance status:

  • ECOG 0-1

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • Neutrophil count greater than 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count greater than 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic:

  • Bilirubin less than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • ALT and AST less than 2 times ULN
  • Alkaline phosphatase less than 2 times ULN
  • No chronic hepatitis or cirrhosis

Renal:

  • Creatinine less than 1.5 times ULN

Other:

  • No severe mental or physical illness that would preclude radical prostatectomy
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy:

  • At least 5 years since prior antiestrogen, antiandrogen, LHRH agonist, estrogen, or progestational agent

Radiotherapy:

  • Not specified

Surgery:

  • See Disease Characteristics

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Hillman Cancer Center at University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute

    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 15232

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Randomized Controlled Clinical Trial Of The Antiestrogen GTx-006 In Subjects With Prostate Cancer

RATIONALE: Androgens can stimulate the growth of prostate cancer cells. Hormone therapy using toremifene may fight prostate cancer by reducing the production of androgens.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase II trial to study the effectiveness of toremifene followed by radical prostatectomy in treating patients who have stage I or stage II prostate cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare the percent of high-grade prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia (HGPIN) present in the radical prostatectomy tissue (excluding the luminal area) of patients with stage I or II adenocarcinoma of the prostate treated with toremifene vs observation alone followed by radical prostatectomy.
  • Compare the absolute and relative changes in HGPIN in patients treated with toremifene vs observation alone.
  • Compare biomarkers (including DNA ploidy and nuclear morphology; Ki67 and MIB-1 expression; bcl-2 expression; frequency of cells expressing apoptotic bodies; microvessel density; and intraprostatic testosterone, dihydrotestosterone (DHT), and estradiol) in the radical prostatectomy tissue of patients treated with toremifene vs observation alone.
  • Compare changes from baseline in serum biomarkers, particularly PSA and hormone profiles (testosterone, DHT, androstenedione, dehydroepiandrosterone, androstanediol-glucuronide, estradiol, and sex hormone binding globulin), in patients treated with toremifene vs observation alone.
  • Compare the safety of toremifene in these patients.
  • Determine the relationships among pairs of biomarkers, biomarker changes, and outcome measures, including toxicity of toremifene and posttreatment HGPIN in these patients.
  • Determine the relationship between HGPIN or biomarker responses and antiandrogen germline CAG repeat length polymorphism in patients treated with toremifene.
  • Compare the tumor volume, margin status, and pT stage in patients treated with toremifene vs observation alone.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, open-label, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to participating center and baseline high-grade prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia (none vs more than 0% up to 10% vs more than 10%). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients receive oral toremifene daily for 3-6 weeks in the absence of unacceptable toxicity.
  • Arm II: Patients undergo observation alone. Patients in both arms then undergo radical prostatectomy.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 78 patients (52 for arm I, 26 for arm II) will be accrued for this study at a rate of 6-7 patients per month.

Conditions
Prostate Cancer
Being tested
toremifene, conventional surgery, neoadjuvant therapy
Keywords
adenocarcinoma of the prostate, stage I prostate cancer, stage II prostate cancer
Medical subject headings
Prostatic Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00020735
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
oral toremifeneExperimentalNot described
Receives: Drug: toremifene; Procedure: neoadjuvant therapy
observationOtherNot described
Receives: Procedure: conventional surgery

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Percent of radical prostatectomy tissue volume (exclusive of luminal area) with high-grade prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia (HGPIN) present

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startApr 2001
  3. Primary completionJan 2005
  4. Study completionJun 2009

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Prevention
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
45 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00020735
Sponsor's protocol ID
PCI-00-105
Other IDs
CDR0000068708, PCI-N01-CN-75018, NCI-P01-0181
Status last verified
Dec 2015
First submitted
11 Jul 2001
Last updated
2 Dec 2015
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing toremifene, conventional surgery and neoadjuvant therapy in people with Prostate Cancer, run by Joel Nelson, MD at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 2 Dec 2015. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Percent of radical prostatectomy tissue volume (exclusive of luminal area) with high-grade prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia (HGPIN) present. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 2 Dec 2015.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in