AzTrials
AzTrials

Colorectal CancerPhase 2NCT00021398

Radiation Therapy and Chemotherapy Followed by Surgery and Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Rectal Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing fluorouracil, leucovorin calcium and conventional surgery in people with Colorectal Cancer, run by Fox Chase Cancer Center at 17 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining radiation therapy and chemotherapy may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed during surgery. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Colorectal Cancer
What is being tested?
fluorouracil, leucovorin calcium and conventional surgery
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
23 participants
Where
17 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Jul 1996to Sep 2018
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the rectum
  • Tumor extending through bowel wall (T3) OR
  • Fixation to surrounding structures (T4) OR
  • Nodal involvement by endorectal ultrasound (N1-2)
  • Tumor extending through bowel wall, but not fixed (T3) must be:
  • At least 4 cm or at least 40% of bowel circumference OR
  • Accompanied by nodal involvement
  • Evidence of transmural penetration confirmed by 2 of the following:
  • CT scan
  • Pelvic MRI
  • Transrectal ultrasound
  • Physical exam
  • Proximal extent of tumor must not extend higher than 12 cm above dentate line and must be below pelvic peritoneal reflexion or sacral promontory
  • Regional lymph node involvement allowed
  • No distant metastases by CT scan of abdomen and pelvis or chest x-ray

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Age: Over 18
  • Performance status: ECOG 0-1
  • Life expectancy: At least 2 years
  • Hematopoietic:
  • Leukocyte count greater than 4,000/mm3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3
  • Hemoglobin greater than 10 g/dL
  • Hepatic:
  • SGOT and SGPT less than 1.5 times normal
  • Bilirubin less than 1.5 mg/dL
  • Renal: Creatinine less than 1.8 mg/dL
  • Other:
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • No other prior or concurrent malignancy within the past 5 years except inactive non-melanoma skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
  • No psychiatric condition that would preclude informed consent
  • No other serious medical illness that would limit survival

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • Biologic therapy: Not specified
  • Chemotherapy: No prior chemotherapy for rectal cancer
  • Endocrine therapy: Not specified
  • Radiotherapy: No prior radiotherapy for rectal cancer
  • Surgery: No prior surgery for rectal cancer, except diagnostic biopsy

Trial locations and contacts

17 sites in 1 country.

17 sites in 1 country

United States17 sites
  • Bon Secours-Holy Family Health System

    Altoona, Pennsylvania, 16602

  • Delaware County Memorial Hospital

    Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, 19026

  • Hunterdon Regional Cancer Center

    Flemington, New Jersey, 08822

  • Pinnacle Health Hospitals

    Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, 17105-8700

  • Conemaugh Memorial Hospital

    Johnstown, Pennsylvania, 15905

  • Kimball Medical Center

    Lakewood, New Jersey, 08701

  • Saint Mary Regional Center

    Langhorne, Pennsylvania, 19047

  • North Penn Hospital

    Lansdale, Pennsylvania, 19446

  • Fox Chase Cancer Center at Virtua Memorial Hospital Burlington County

    Mount Holly, New Jersey, 08060

  • Paoli Memorial Hospital

    Paoli, Pennsylvania, 19301-1792

  • Fox Chase Cancer Center

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19111

  • Pottstown Memorial Regional Cancer Center

    Pottstown, Pennsylvania, 19464

  • Reading Hospital and Medical Center

    Reading, Pennsylvania, 19612-6052

  • Riverview Medical Center

    Red Bank, New Jersey, 07701

  • Community Medical Center

    Toms River, New Jersey, 08755

  • St. Francis Medical Center

    Trenton, New Jersey, 08629

  • Southern Chester County Medical Center

    West Grove, Pennsylvania, 19390

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase II Study: Hyperfractionated Pre-Op Chemo-Radiation for Locally Advanced Rectal Cancer

RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining radiation therapy and chemotherapy may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed during surgery.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of radiation therapy and chemotherapy followed by surgery and combination chemotherapy in treating patients who have stage II or stage III rectal cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the local recurrence rate, disease-free survival, and overall survival of patients with stage II or III rectal cancer treated with neoadjuvant radiotherapy and fluorouracil followed by surgical resection and adjuvant fluorouracil and leucovorin calcium. II. Determine the toxicity rate in patients treated with this regimen. III. Correlate failure-free survival with ultrasound-determined preoperative staging in patients treated with this regimen. IV. Determine the quality of life of patients treated with this regimen. V. Determine if toxicity due to treatment, daily stool frequency, sexual dysfunction, and disease-free survival correlates with quality of life parameters in patients treated with this regimen. VI. Correlate clinical selection criteria with ability to perform sphincter-sparing surgery in patients treated with this regimen. VII. Determine post-chemoradiotherapy pathological response, margin status, and lymph node status and correlate these factors with initial clinico-pathologic findings in patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: Patients undergo pelvic radiotherapy once daily five days a week for 5 weeks followed by boost radiotherapy twice daily for 7 days. Patients also receive neoadjuvant fluorouracil IV continuously over days 1-4 and 36-40. Patients undergo surgical resection 4-6 weeks after completion of radiotherapy. At 4 weeks after surgery, patients receive adjuvant leucovorin calcium IV and fluorouracil IV once daily five days a week. Treatment continues every 4 weeks for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Quality of life is assessed at baseline, at the completion of pelvic and boost radiotherapy, at 4 weeks after completion of chemoradiotherapy (prior to surgery), and then at 3, 6, and 12 months after completion of study therapy. Patients are followed every 3 months for 2 years, every 4 months for 3 years, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 23-41 patients will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
fluorouracil, leucovorin calcium, conventional surgery, radiation therapy
Keywords
stage II rectal cancer, stage III rectal cancer, adenocarcinoma of the rectum
Medical subject headings
Colorectal Neoplasms, Rectal Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00021398
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Radiation Therapy, Chemotherapy and SurgeryExperimentalNot described
Receives: Drug: fluorouracil; Drug: leucovorin calcium; Procedure: conventional surgery; Radiation: radiation therapy

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Frequency of toxicity

    Measured: weekly during treatment

  2. tolerated dose of preoperative hyperfractionated radiation and concurrent chemotherapy

    Measured: during radiation therapy and chemotherapy

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted13 Apr 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startJul 1996
  3. Primary completionJul 2001
  4. Study completionSep 2018

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
23 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00021398
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000068776
Other IDs
P30CA006927, FCCC-96071, NCI-G01-1988
Status last verified
Jun 2020
First submitted
11 Jul 2001
Last updated
5 Jun 2020
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing fluorouracil, leucovorin calcium and conventional surgery in people with Colorectal Cancer, run by Fox Chase Cancer Center at 17 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 5 Jun 2020. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 17 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Frequency of toxicity (time frame: weekly during treatment). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 5 Jun 2020.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in