AzTrials
AzTrials

Carcinoma of Unknown PrimaryPhase 3NCT00022178

Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Metastatic Cancer of an Unknown Site of Origin

A Phase 3 study testing cisplatin, cyclophosphamide and doxorubicin hydrochloride in people with Carcinoma of Unknown Primary, run by The Christie NHS Foundation Trust at 1 site in United Kingdom.

Unknown status

Status not confirmed. The sponsor has not verified this record for over two years, so it may be out of date.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. It is not yet known which combination chemotherapy regimen is more effective for metastatic cancer of an unknown site of origin. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Carcinoma of Unknown Primary
What is being tested?
cisplatin, cyclophosphamide and doxorubicin hydrochloride
How many people
Not given
Where
1 siteUnited Kingdom
Study dates
Dec 1998to not given
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically confirmed metastatic carcinoma of unknown primary Adenocarcinoma or non-adenocarcinoma No axillary lymph node metastases as sole site of disease in female patients No peritoneal carcinomatosis as sole site of disease in female patients No squamous cell carcinoma in cervical lymph nodes as sole site of disease in male or female patients No neuroendocrine tumors No elevated alpha-fetoprotein, beta-HCG, or PSA

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: Karnofsky 60-100% Life expectancy: More than 3 months Hematopoietic: WBC at least 3,000/mm3 Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm3 Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 Hemoglobin at least 10 g/dL Hepatic: Bilirubin less than 1.8 mg/dL Renal: Creatinine less than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN) Urea less than 1.5 times ULN Glomerular filtration rate at least 60 mL/min Cardiovascular: LVEF at least 50% by echocardiogram or MUGA scan No uncontrolled angina pectoris No heart failure No clinically significant uncontrolled cardiac arrhythmias No abnormal EKG Other: Not pregnant or nursing Negative pregnancy test Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for 1 year after study No other prior malignancy except adequately treated non-melanoma skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix No medical or psychiatric condition that would preclude study No other serious uncontrolled medical condition

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: No prior chemotherapy for carcinoma of unknown primary Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: Prior radiotherapy allowed except to sole site of measurable or evaluable disease Concurrent palliative radiotherapy allowed except to sole site of measurable or evaluable disease Surgery: Not specified Other: No other concurrent experimental drugs

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United Kingdom1 site
  • Christie Hospital N.H.S. Trust

    Manchester, England, M20 4BX

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: An Open Label Prospective Randomised Study Comparing The Use Of Vincristine, Adriamycin And Cyclophosphamide (VAC) Versus Epirubicin, Cisplatin And Continuous 5-Flourouracil (ECF) In Patients With Unknown Primary Carcinoma (UPC)

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. It is not yet known which combination chemotherapy regimen is more effective for metastatic cancer of an unknown site of origin.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of two combination chemotherapy regimens in treating patients who have metastatic cancer of an unknown site of origin.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Compare the efficacy of the regimens, in terms of tumor response, progression-free survival, and overall survival of vincristine, doxorubicin, and cyclophosphamide vs epirubicin, cisplatin, and fluorouracil in patients with metastatic carcinoma of unknown primary. II. Compare the toxicity of these regimens in these patients. III. Compare quality of life and symptom control in patients treated with these regimens.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, open-label, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to presence of liver metastases (yes vs no) and type of tumor (adenocarcinoma vs non-adenocarcinoma). Patients are randomized to one of two treatment arms. Arm I: Patients receive vincristine IV, doxorubicin IV, and cyclophosphamide IV on day 1. Arm II: Patients receive epirubicin IV and cisplatin IV over 4 hours on day 1 and fluorouracil IV continuously on days 1-21. Treatment in both arms repeats every 3 weeks for 3-6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Quality of life is assessed at baseline, at the end of courses 2, 4, and 6, and 1 month after completion of therapy. Patients are followed at 1 month and then until death.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 398 patients (199 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
cisplatin, cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin hydrochloride, epirubicin hydrochloride, fluorouracil
Keywords
adenocarcinoma of unknown primary, squamous cell carcinoma of unknown primary, undifferentiated carcinoma of unknown primary, newly diagnosed carcinoma of unknown primary
Medical subject headings
Neoplasms, Unknown Primary

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Feb 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startDec 1998

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00022178
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000068792
Other IDs
CHNT-VAC-VS-ECF, EU-20041
Status last verified
Feb 2002
First submitted
10 Aug 2001
Last updated
20 Sep 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing cisplatin, cyclophosphamide and doxorubicin hydrochloride in people with Carcinoma of Unknown Primary, run by The Christie NHS Foundation Trust at 1 site in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 20 Sep 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 20 Sep 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in