AzTrials
AzTrials

Brain and Central Nervous System TumorsPhase 2NCT00025077

Combination Chemotherapy, Surgery or Radiation Therapy, and Peripheral Stem Cell Transplant in Treating Patients With Recurrent Medulloblastoma or Primitive Neuroectodermal and Pineal Tumors

A Phase 2 study testing filgrastim, carboplatin and cyclophosphamide in people with Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors, run by Children's Cancer and Leukaemia Group at 21 sites in 2 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Giving a chemotherapy drug before surgery or radiation therapy may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed during surgery or radiation therapy. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages Up to 20 years
Conditions the study is for
Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors
What is being tested?
filgrastim, carboplatin and cyclophosphamide
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
50 participants
Where
21 sitesin 2 countries
Study dates
Jan 2000to Apr 2011
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Up to 20 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed recurrent medulloblastoma or supratentorial primitive neuroectodermal and pineal tumor
  • Nodular/desmoplastic medulloblastoma
  • Medullomyoblastoma
  • Melanotic medulloblastoma
  • Ependymoblastoma
  • Pinealoblastoma
  • Received prior craniospinal radiotherapy OR
  • Relapse in site of prior localized radiotherapy (e.g., relapse after "baby brain" protocol)

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • Under 21

Performance status:

  • Lansky 40-100% for ages 1-16 years
  • Karnofsky 40-100% for ages over 16 years

Life expectancy:

  • At least 8 weeks

Hematopoietic:

  • Neutrophil count at least 1,000/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic:

  • Bilirubin less than upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • AST less than 2 times ULN

Renal:

  • Glomerular filtration rate at least 60 mL/min

Other:

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics

Surgery

  • Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

21 sites in 2 countries.

21 sites in 2 countries

United Kingdom20 sites
  • Aberdeen Royal Infirmary

    Aberdeen, Scotland, AB25 2ZN

  • Royal Belfast Hospital for Sick Children

    Belfast, Northern Ireland, BT12 6BE

  • Birmingham Children's Hospital

    Birmingham, England, B4 6NH

  • Bristol Royal Hospital for Children

    Bristol, England, BS2 8BJ

  • Addenbrooke's Hospital at Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

    Cambridge, England, CB2 2QQ

  • Royal Hospital for Sick Children

    Edinburgh, Scotland, EH9 1LF

  • Royal Hospital for Sick Children

    Glasgow, Scotland, G3 8SJ

  • Leeds Cancer Centre at St. James's University Hospital

    Leeds, England, LS9 7TF

  • Leicester Royal Infirmary

    Leicester, England, LE1 5WW

  • Royal Liverpool Children's Hospital, Alder Hey

    Liverpool, England, L12 2AP

  • Saint Bartholomew's Hospital

    London, England, EC1A 7BE

  • Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Trust

    London, England, WC1N 3JH

  • University College of London Hospitals

    London, England, WIT 3AA

  • Central Manchester and Manchester Children's University Hospitals NHS Trust

    Manchester, England, M27 4HA

  • Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust

    Newcastle upon Tyne, England, NE7 7DN

  • Queen's Medical Centre

    Nottingham, England, NG7 2UH

  • Oxford Radcliffe Hospital

    Oxford, England, 0X3 9DU

  • Children's Hospital - Sheffield

    Sheffield, England, S10 2TH

  • Southampton University Hospital NHS Trust

    Southampton, England, SO16 6YD

  • Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust - Surrey

    Sutton, England, SM2 5PT

Other trials in United Kingdom

Ireland1 site
  • Our Lady's Hospital for Sick Children Crumlin

    Dublin, 12

Other trials in Ireland

About this study

Official title: Treatment Of Recurrent Central Nervous System Primitive Neuroectodermal Tumors (PNETs) In Children And Adolescents A Strategy Including The Use Of High Dose Thiotepa And High Dose Carboplatin

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Giving a chemotherapy drug before surgery or radiation therapy may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed during surgery or radiation therapy. Peripheral stem cell transplant may be able to replace immune cells that were destroyed by chemotherapy or radiation therapy and allow doctors to give higher doses of chemotherapy.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well combination chemotherapy followed by surgery or radiation therapy and peripheral stem cell transplant work in treating patients with recurrent medulloblastoma or primitive neuroectodermal and pineal tumors.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the feasibility of cyclophosphamide and surgical resection or radiotherapy followed by thiotepa, carboplatin, and autologous peripheral blood stem cell rescue in patients with recurrent medulloblastoma or supratentorial neuroectodermal and pineal tumors.
  • Determine the acute and chronic toxicity of this regimen in these patients.
  • Determine progression-free and overall survival of patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.

  • Cytoreductive Phase: Patients receive cyclophosphamide IV over 1 hour on days 1 and 2 and filgrastim (G-CSF) subcutaneously (SC) once daily beginning on day 7 and continuing until blood counts recover. Treatment repeats after discontinuation of G-CSF for 2-4 courses. Peripheral blood stem cells (PBSC) are harvested after each course of cyclophosphamide. Patients undergo surgical resection or radiotherapy after the completion of chemotherapy. Patients achieving complete response proceed to myeloablative therapy.
  • Myeloablative Phase: Patients receive thiotepa IV over 3 hours on days 1-3. Autologous PBSC are reinfused on day 5 and patients receive G-CSF SC once daily beginning on day 10 and continuing until blood counts recover. Beginning 2 days after the completion of G-CSF, patients receive carboplatin IV over 1 hour on days 1-3. Autologous PBSC are reinfused on day 5 and patients receive G-CSF SC once daily beginning on day 10 and continuing until blood counts recover.

Patients are followed at 1, 3, 6, and 12 months.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 50 patients will be accrued for this study within 5 years.

Keywords
recurrent childhood supratentorial primitive neuroectodermal tumor, recurrent childhood medulloblastoma
Medical subject headings
Central Nervous System Neoplasms, Medulloblastoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Event-free survival

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. Toxic death rate

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startJan 2000
  3. Study completionApr 2011

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Enrolment
50 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00025077
Sponsor's protocol ID
CCLG-CNS-2000-01
Other IDs
CDR0000068910, EU-20105
Status last verified
Jun 2007
First submitted
11 Oct 2001
Last updated
2 Aug 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing filgrastim, carboplatin and cyclophosphamide in people with Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors, run by Children's Cancer and Leukaemia Group at 21 sites in 2 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 2 Aug 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 21 sites in United Kingdom, Ireland. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Event-free survival. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 2 Aug 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in