Lung CancerPhase 2NCT00030810
Combination Chemotherapy Followed by Radiation Therapy Before Surgery in Treating Patients With Stage IIIB NSCLC
A Phase 2 study testing Hyperfractionated, Taxotere/Cisplatin and conventional surgery in people with Lung Cancer, run by Swiss Cancer Institute at 1 site in Switzerland.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining chemotherapy with radiation therapy before surgery may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed during surgery. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 to 75 years
- Conditions the study is for
- Lung Cancer
- What is being tested?
- Hyperfractionated, Taxotere/Cisplatin and conventional surgery
- Type of treatment
- Surgery or procedure
- How many people
- 46 participants
- Where
- 1 siteSwitzerland
- Study dates
- Sep 2001to May 2006
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 to 75 years
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Histologically confirmed, operable stage IIIB non-small cell lung cancer
- T4 N0-3 M0 or T1-4 N3 M0 by bronchoscopy and mediastinoscopy (required for assessment of N3 disease) or CT scan or MRI of the thorax
- Squamous cell
- Adenosquamous cell
- Large cell
- Poorly differentiated
- No prior or concurrent metastatic disease by CT scan or MRI of the brain, bone scan, and abdominal ultrasound or CT scan
- No malignant pleural or pericardial effusion
- No invasion of the aorta, esophagus, myocardium, or supraclavicular nodes
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age:
- 18 to 75
Performance status:
- WHO 0-1
Life expectancy:
- Not specified
Hematopoietic:
- WBC at least 4,000/mm^3
- Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3
Hepatic:
- Bilirubin normal
- AST and/or ALT no greater than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
- Alkaline phosphatase no greater than 2.5 times ULN
Renal:
- Creatinine clearance at least 60 mL/min
Cardiovascular:
- No unstable cardiac disease requiring treatment
- No congestive heart failure
- No angina pectoris (even if medically controlled)
- No significant arrhythmia
- No myocardial infarction within the past 3 months
Other:
- Not pregnant or nursing
- Fertile patients must use effective contraception
- No definite contraindications for the use of corticosteroids as premedication
- No preexisting grade 2 or greater peripheral neuropathy
- No active uncontrolled infection
- No uncontrolled diabetes mellitus
- No other prior or concurrent malignancy except non-melanomatous skin cancer or adequately treated carcinoma in situ of the cervix
- No prior significant neurologic or psychiatric disorders including psychotic disorders, dementia, or seizures that would preclude informed consent
- No other serious underlying medical condition that would preclude study participation
- No socioeconomic or geographical circumstances that would preclude study compliance
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy:
- Not specified
Chemotherapy:
- Not specified
Endocrine therapy:
- No concurrent corticosteroids except as prophylactic pretreatment medication, treatment for acute hypersensitivity reactions, or chronic treatment (initiated more than 6 months ago) at low-dose (no more than 20 mg methylprednisolone or equivalent)
Radiotherapy:
- No prior radiotherapy to the chest
Surgery:
- See Disease Characteristics
Other:
- At least 30 days since prior treatment in a clinical trial
- No prior cytostatic therapy
- No other concurrent experimental drugs
Trial locations and contacts
1 site in 1 country.
Switzerland1 site
Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois
Lausanne, CH-1011
About this study
Official title: Preoperative Chemoradiotherapy In Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC) Patients With Operable Stage IIIB Disease: A Prospective Phase II Trial
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining chemotherapy with radiation therapy before surgery may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed during surgery.
PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy followed by radiation therapy before surgery in treating patients who have stage IIIB non-small cell lung cancer.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Determine the feasibility and efficacy of sequential neoadjuvant docetaxel, cisplatin, and radiotherapy followed by surgery in patients with operable stage IIIB non-small cell lung cancer.
- Determine the rate of event-free survival at 1 year in patients treated with this regimen.
- Determine the operability and complete resection rate in patients treated with this regimen.
- Determine the postoperative 30-day mortality in patients treated with this regimen.
- Determine the response rate, failure pattern, and overall survival in patients treated with this regimen.
- Determine the toxicity of this regimen in these patients.
OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.
Patients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour and cisplatin IV over 1 hour on day 1. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks for 3 courses in the absence of unacceptable toxicity.
Beginning 3 weeks after the last chemotherapy dose, patients without progressive disease receive radiotherapy 1-2 times daily on days 1-5, 8-12, and 15-19.
Patients undergo surgery within 3-4 weeks after completion of radiotherapy.
Patients are followed at 1 month and then every 3 months thereafter.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 15-46 patients will be accrued for this study.
- Conditions
- Lung Cancer
- Being tested
- Hyperfractionated, Taxotere/Cisplatin, conventional surgery
- Keywords
- squamous cell lung cancer, large cell lung cancer, stage IIIB non-small cell lung cancer, adenosquamous cell lung cancer
- Medical subject headings
- Lung Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
HyperfractionatedRadiation
Hyperfractionated radiotherapy
Taxotere/CisplatinDrug
Taxotere/Cisplatin
conventional surgeryProcedure or surgery
conventional surgery
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Rate of event-free survival measured 1 year after registration
Secondary outcomes (5)
Operability after chemotherapy
Postoperative mortality 30 days after surgery
Complete resection rate after surgery
Toxicity
Response rate
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
- Study startSep 2001
- Primary completionMay 2006
- Study completionMay 2006
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Publications (4)Papers the sponsor has linked to this study.
- Other trials for Lung CancerStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 46 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Swiss Cancer Institute
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Roger Stupp, MD, Study chair, Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00030810
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- SAKK 16/01
- Other IDs
- EU-20137
- Status last verified
- May 2019
- First submitted
- 14 Feb 2002
- Last updated
- 15 May 2019
- Results posted
- No
- Data monitoring committee
- Yes
Publications
Stupp R, Mayer M, Kann R, Weder W, Zouhair A, Betticher DC, Roth AD, Stahel RA, Majno SB, Peters S, Jost L, Furrer M, Thierstein S, Schmid RA, Hsu-Schmitz SF, Mirimanoff RO, Ris HB, Pless M. Neoadjuvant chemotherapy and radiotherapy followed by surgery in selected patients with stage IIIB non-small-cell lung cancer: a multicentre phase II trial. Lancet Oncol. 2009 Aug;10(8):785-93. doi: 10.1016/S1470-2045(09)70172-X. Epub 2009 Jul 13.
PubMed 19604722Pless M, Stupp R, Kann R, et al.: Preoperative chemoradiotherapy in non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) patients with operable stage IIIB disease: a phase II trial of the Swiss Group for Clinical Cancer Research (SAKK). [Abstract] J Clin Oncol 25 (Suppl 18): A-18021, 685s, 2007.
Fruh M, Betticher DC, Stupp R, Xyrafas A, Peters S, Ris HB, Mirimanoff RO, Ochsenbein AF, Schmid R, Matzinger O, Stahel RA, Weder W, Guckenberger M, Rothschild SI, Lardinois D, Mach N, Mark M, Gautschi O, Thierstein S, Biaggi Rudolf C, Pless M; Swiss Group for Clinical Cancer Research (SAKK). Multimodal Treatment in Operable Stage III NSCLC: A Pooled Analysis on Long-Term Results of Three SAKK trials (SAKK 16/96, 16/00, and 16/01). J Thorac Oncol. 2019 Jan;14(1):115-123. doi: 10.1016/j.jtho.2018.09.011. Epub 2018 Sep 26.
PubMed 30267838Fruh M, Ris HB, Xyrafas A, Peters S, Mirimanoff RO, Gautschi O, Pless M, Stupp R. Preoperative chemoradiotherapy with cisplatin and docetaxel for stage IIIB non-small-cell lung cancer: 10-year follow-up of the SAKK 16/01 trial. Ann Oncol. 2016 Oct;27(10):1971-3. doi: 10.1093/annonc/mdw251. Epub 2016 Jun 29. No abstract available.
PubMed 27358380
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 15 May 2019. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Preoperative Chemoradiotherapy In Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC) Patients With Operable Stage IIIB Disease: A Prospective Phase II Trial
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00030810
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- SAKK 16/01
- Conditions
- Lung Cancer
- Keywords
- squamous cell lung cancer, large cell lung cancer, stage IIIB non-small cell lung cancer, adenosquamous cell lung cancer
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 46 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- Swiss Cancer InstituteUniversity, hospital or other
- Study start
- Sep 2001
- Primary completion
- May 2006 (actual)
- Study completion
- May 2006 (actual)
- First posted
- 27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining chemotherapy with radiation therapy before surgery may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed during surgery.
PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy followed by radiation therapy before surgery in treating patients who have stage IIIB non-small cell lung cancer.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Determine the feasibility and efficacy of sequential neoadjuvant docetaxel, cisplatin, and radiotherapy followed by surgery in patients with operable stage IIIB non-small cell lung cancer.
- Determine the rate of event-free survival at 1 year in patients treated with this regimen.
- Determine the operability and complete resection rate in patients treated with this regimen.
- Determine the postoperative 30-day mortality in patients treated with this regimen.
- Determine the response rate, failure pattern, and overall survival in patients treated with this regimen.
- Determine the toxicity of this regimen in these patients.
OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.
Patients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour and cisplatin IV over 1 hour on day 1. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks for 3 courses in the absence of unacceptable toxicity.
Beginning 3 weeks after the last chemotherapy dose, patients without progressive disease receive radiotherapy 1-2 times daily on days 1-5, 8-12, and 15-19.
Patients undergo surgery within 3-4 weeks after completion of radiotherapy.
Patients are followed at 1 month and then every 3 months thereafter.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 15-46 patients will be accrued for this study.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 to 75 years
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| HyperfractionatedHyperfractionated radiotherapy | Radiation | – |
| Taxotere/CisplatinTaxotere/Cisplatin | Drug | – |
| conventional surgeryconventional surgery | Procedure or surgery | – |
Primary outcome
Rate of event-free survival measured 1 year after registration
5 secondary outcomes
Operability after chemotherapy
Postoperative mortality 30 days after surgery
Complete resection rate after surgery
Toxicity
Response rate
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 15 May 2019.
- Results publication: PubMed 19604722Stupp R, Mayer M, Kann R, Weder W, Zouhair A, Betticher DC, Roth AD, Stahel RA, Majno SB, Peters S, Jost L, Furrer M, Thierstein S, Schmid RA, Hsu-Schmitz SF, Mirimanoff RO, Ris HB, Pless M. Neoadjuvant chemotherapy and radiotherapy followed by surgery in selected patients with stage IIIB non-small-cell lung cancer: a multicentre phase II trial. Lancet Oncol. 2009 Aug;10(8):785-93. doi: 10.1016/S1470-2045(09)70172-X. Epub 2009 Jul 13.
- Results publicationPless M, Stupp R, Kann R, et al.: Preoperative chemoradiotherapy in non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) patients with operable stage IIIB disease: a phase II trial of the Swiss Group for Clinical Cancer Research (SAKK). [Abstract] J Clin Oncol 25 (Suppl 18): A-18021, 685s, 2007.
- Results publication: PubMed 30267838Fruh M, Betticher DC, Stupp R, Xyrafas A, Peters S, Ris HB, Mirimanoff RO, Ochsenbein AF, Schmid R, Matzinger O, Stahel RA, Weder W, Guckenberger M, Rothschild SI, Lardinois D, Mach N, Mark M, Gautschi O, Thierstein S, Biaggi Rudolf C, Pless M; Swiss Group for Clinical Cancer Research (SAKK). Multimodal Treatment in Operable Stage III NSCLC: A Pooled Analysis on Long-Term Results of Three SAKK trials (SAKK 16/96, 16/00, and 16/01). J Thorac Oncol. 2019 Jan;14(1):115-123. doi: 10.1016/j.jtho.2018.09.011. Epub 2018 Sep 26.
- Results publication: PubMed 27358380Fruh M, Ris HB, Xyrafas A, Peters S, Mirimanoff RO, Gautschi O, Pless M, Stupp R. Preoperative chemoradiotherapy with cisplatin and docetaxel for stage IIIB non-small-cell lung cancer: 10-year follow-up of the SAKK 16/01 trial. Ann Oncol. 2016 Oct;27(10):1971-3. doi: 10.1093/annonc/mdw251. Epub 2016 Jun 29. No abstract available.
Related trials for Lung Cancer
RecruitingPhase 1/2
Study of INBRX-106 and INBRX-106 in Combination With Pembrolizumab (Keytruda®) in Subjects With Locally Advanced or Metastatic Solid Tumors (Hexavalent OX40 Agonist)
Solid Tumor, Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
RecruitingObservational study
A Prospective ,Multicenter ,Non-interventional ,Real-world Study Observing Changes in Molecular Markers Osimertinib Targeted Therapy in EGFRm NSCLC
Non Small Cell Lung Cancer
Active, not recruiting
Streamlined Geriatric and Oncological Evaluation Based On IC Technology
Breast Cancer, Comorbidities and Coexisting Conditions
RecruitingPhase 3
A Study Evaluating Sotorasib Platinum Doublet Combination Versus Pembrolizumab Platinum Doublet Combination as a Front-Line Therapy in Participants With Stage IV or Advanced Stage IIIB/C Nonsquamous Non-Small Cell Lung Cancers (CodeBreaK 202)
Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC)
Active, not recruitingPhase 2
Datopotamab Deruxtecan (Dato-DXd, DS-1062a) in Advanced and/or Unresectable Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Metastatic Lung Cancer, Advanced Non Small Cell Lung Cancer
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Roger Stupp, MD study chair
Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois
1 site in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 2 study testing Hyperfractionated, Taxotere/Cisplatin and conventional surgery in people with Lung Cancer, run by Swiss Cancer Institute at 1 site in Switzerland.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 15 May 2019. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 1 site in Switzerland. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Rate of event-free survival measured 1 year after registration. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00030810, which also lists 4 linked publications.
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 15 May 2019.