AzTrials
AzTrials

Esophageal CancerPhase 3NCT00041262

Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Esophageal Cancer

A Phase 3 study testing cisplatin, epirubicin hydrochloride and fluorouracil in people with Esophageal Cancer, run by Medical Research Council at 1 site in United Kingdom.

Unknown status

Status not confirmed. The sponsor has not verified this record for over two years, so it may be out of date.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells. It is not yet known which regimen of combination chemotherapy is more effective in treating esophageal cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age
Conditions the study is for
Esophageal Cancer
What is being tested?
cisplatin, epirubicin hydrochloride and fluorouracil
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
1,300 participants
Where
1 siteUnited Kingdom
Study dates
Nov 2004to not given
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the esophagus or type 1 or 2 tumors of the gastroesophageal junction
  • Stage IIB or greater by spiral or multi-slice CT scan and endoscopic ultrasound
  • Amenable to primary surgery with curative intent
  • No para-aortic/celiac lymphadenopathy greater than 1 cm on CT scan and/or greater than 6 mm on endoscopic ultrasound
  • No disease invading the airways, aorta, pericardium, or lung
  • No liver, lung, or other distant metastases

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • Not specified

Performance status:

  • WHO 0-1

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • WBC greater than 3,000/mm3
  • Platelet count greater than 100,000/mm3

Hepatic:

  • Liver function tests no greater than 1.5 times normal

Renal:

  • Glomerular filtration rate greater than 60 mL/min

Cardiovascular:

  • Ejection fraction greater than 50% OR
  • Normal echocardiograph

Pulmonary:

  • FEV1 greater than 1.5 L

Other:

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • No prior primary malignancy
  • No significant medical condition that would preclude study

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy:

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy:

  • Not specified

Surgery:

  • See Disease Characteristics

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United Kingdom1 site, 1 recruiting
  • Queen Elizabeth Hospital at University Hospital of Birmingham NHS Trust

    Birmingham, England, B15 2TH

    Derek Alderson, MD, 44-121-627-2276, d.alderson@bham.ac.uk

    Recruiting

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: A Prospective Randomized Trial Comparing Standard Chemotherapy Followed By Resection Versus Infusional Chemotherapy In Patients With Resectable Adenocarcinoma Of The Oesophagus

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells. It is not yet known which regimen of combination chemotherapy is more effective in treating esophageal cancer.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of two regimens of combination chemotherapy in treating patients who are undergoing surgery for esophageal cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare survival and quality of life of patients with resectable adenocarcinoma of the esophagus treated prior to surgery with standard chemotherapy comprising cisplatin and fluorouracil versus prolonged infusional chemotherapy comprising cisplatin, epirubicin, and fluorouracil.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to one of two treatment arms.

  • Arm I (Standard chemotherapy): Patients receive cisplatin IV over 4 hours on days 1-4 and fluorouracil IV continuously on days 1-4. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 2 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
  • Arm II (Infusional chemotherapy): Patients receive cisplatin IV over 4 hours on day 1, epirubicin IV on day 1, and fluorouracil IV continuously. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Patients undergo surgery 4-6 weeks after the last dose of fluorouracil in arm I or anytime after the fluorouracil infusion is completed in arm II.

Quality of life is assessed at baseline, immediately before starting the last course of chemotherapy, immediately before surgery, 6 weeks post-operatively, and at 6, 9, 12, 18, and 24 months after randomization.

Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year, every 6 months for 5 years, and then annually thereafter.

Peer Reviewed and Funded or Endorsed by Cancer Research UK

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 1,300 patients (650 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
cisplatin, epirubicin hydrochloride, fluorouracil, conventional surgery, neoadjuvant therapy
Keywords
stage IIB esophageal cancer, stage IIIA esophageal cancer, stage IIIB esophageal cancer, adenocarcinoma of the esophagus
Medical subject headings
Esophageal Neoplasms, Adenocarcinoma Of Esophagus

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Survival

Secondary outcomes (4)
  1. Disease-free survival

  2. Local control

  3. Morbidity from surgery and chemotherapy

  4. Quality of life

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 2004

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Enrolment
1,300 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00041262
Sponsor's protocol ID
MRC-OE05
Other IDs
CDR0000069457, EU-20204
Status last verified
Mar 2007
First submitted
8 Jul 2002
Last updated
12 Aug 2013
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Alderson D, Cunningham D, Nankivell M, Blazeby JM, Griffin SM, Crellin A, Grabsch HI, Langer R, Pritchard S, Okines A, Krysztopik R, Coxon F, Thompson J, Falk S, Robb C, Stenning S, Langley RE. Neoadjuvant cisplatin and fluorouracil versus epirubicin, cisplatin, and capecitabine followed by resection in patients with oesophageal adenocarcinoma (UK MRC OE05): an open-label, randomised phase 3 trial. Lancet Oncol. 2017 Sep;18(9):1249-1260. doi: 10.1016/S1470-2045(17)30447-3. Epub 2017 Aug 4.

    PubMed 28784312

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing cisplatin, epirubicin hydrochloride and fluorouracil in people with Esophageal Cancer, run by Medical Research Council at 1 site in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 12 Aug 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

Each site lists its own contact: choose the nearest one under Trial locations. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Survival. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00041262, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 12 Aug 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in