AzTrials
AzTrials

Brain TumorPhase 2NCT00047320

Neoadjuvant Chemotherapy With or Without Second-Look Surgery Followed by Radiation Therapy With or Without Peripheral Stem Cell Transplantation in Treating Patients With Intracranial Germ Cell Tumors

A Phase 2 study testing carboplatin, etoposide and ifosfamide in people with Brain Tumor and Central Nervous System Tumors, run by Children's Oncology Group at 106 sites in 5 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Giving a chemotherapy drug before surgery may shrink the tumor so that it is no longer present by conventional imaging and tumor markers from serum and cerebrospinal fluid. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 3 to 24 years
What is being tested?
carboplatin, etoposide and ifosfamide
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
104 participants
Where
106 sitesin 5 countries
Study dates
Jan 2004to Feb 2009
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 3 to 24 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • One of the following diagnoses:
  • Histologically confirmed intracranial non-germinomatous germ cell tumor (NGGCT) of 1 of the following types:
  • Endodermal sinus tumor (yolk sac tumor)
  • Embryonal carcinoma
  • Choriocarcinoma
  • Immature teratoma and teratoma with malignant transformation
  • Mixed germ cell tumor
  • Histologically confirmed germinoma with elevation of serum/CSF beta human chorionic gonadotropin (HCG) levels greater than 50 mIU/mL or any serum/CSF alpha-fetoprotein (AFP) levels greater than 10 ng/ml or above institutional norm
  • Histologically unconfirmed pineal and/or suprasellar tumors with serum/CSF beta HCG levels greater than 50 mIU/mL or AFP levels greater than 10 ng/ml or above institutional norm
  • Patients with normal AFP and beta HCG < 50 mIU/mL without histologic diagnosis of a NGGCT or patients with pure germinoma without elevation of tumor marker are ineligible
  • Initial diagnosis within the past 31 days

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 3 to 24 at diagnosis

Performance status

  • No minimum performance level

Life expectancy

  • At least 8 weeks

Hematopoietic

  • Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,000/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3 (transfusion independent)
  • Hemoglobin at least 10.0 g/dL (transfusion allowed)

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • ALT no greater than 2.5 times ULN

Renal

  • Creatinine no greater than 1.5 times ULN OR
  • Creatinine clearance or radioisotope glomerular filtration rate at least 70 mL/min

Pulmonary

  • No assisted ventilation

Other

  • Seizure disorders allowed
  • No patients in status or coma
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patient must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy

  • Prior corticosteroids allowed
  • Concurrent corticosteroids allowed
  • Concurrent endocrine replacement therapy allowed (e.g., L-thyroxine, testosterone, estrogen, desmopressin acetate)
  • No concurrent growth hormone therapy

Radiotherapy

  • Not specified

Surgery

  • More than 1 prior surgery allowed

Other

  • No other prior therapy for malignancy

Trial locations and contacts

106 sites in 5 countries.

106 sites in 5 countries

United States90 sites
  • Akron Children's Hospital

    Akron, Ohio, 44308-1062

  • University of New Mexico Cancer Center

    Albuquerque, New Mexico, 87131-5636

  • Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University

    Atlanta, Georgia, 30322

  • MBCCOP - Medical College of Georgia Cancer Center

    Augusta, Georgia, 30912-3730

  • Dell Children's Medical Center of Central Texas

    Austin, Texas, 78723

  • Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins

    Baltimore, Maryland, 21231-2410

  • Lurleen Wallace Comprehensive Cancer at University of Alabama - Birmingham

    Birmingham, Alabama, 35294

  • Floating Hospital for Children at Tufts - New England Medical Center

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02111

  • Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center at Dana Farber Cancer Institute

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02115

  • Hollings Cancer Center at Medical University of South Carolina

    Charleston, South Carolina, 29425

  • West Virginia University Health Sciences Center - Charleston

    Charleston, West Virginia, 25302

  • Blumenthal Cancer Center at Carolinas Medical Center

    Charlotte, North Carolina, 28232-2861

  • Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago

    Chicago, Illinois, 60611

  • University of Chicago Cancer Research Center

    Chicago, Illinois, 60637-1470

  • Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center

    Cincinnati, Ohio, 45229-3039

  • Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44195

  • Nationwide Children's Hospital

    Columbus, Ohio, 43205-2696

  • Driscoll Children's Hospital

    Corpus Christi, Texas, 78411

  • Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center at University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center - Dallas

    Dallas, Texas, 75390

  • Children's Medical Center - Dayton

    Dayton, Ohio, 45404-1815

  • Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute

    Detroit, Michigan, 48201-1379

  • Southern California Permanente Medical Group

    Downey, California, 90242-2814

  • Duke Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Durham, North Carolina, 27710

  • Carole and Ray Neag Comprehensive Cancer Center at the University of Connecticut Health Center

    Farmington, Connecticut, 06360-2875

  • Lee Cancer Care of Lee Memorial Health System

    Fort Myers, Florida, 33901

  • Cook Children's Medical Center - Fort Worth

    Fort Worth, Texas, 76104

  • University of Florida Shands Cancer Center

    Gainesville, Florida, 32610-0232

  • Butterworth Hospital at Spectrum Health

    Grand Rapids, Michigan, 49503-2560

  • St. Vincent Hospital Regional Cancer Center

    Green Bay, Wisconsin, 54307-3508

  • Van Elslander Cancer Center at St. John Hospital and Medical Center

    Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, 48236

  • Hackensack University Medical Center Cancer Center

    Hackensack, New Jersey, 07601

  • Penn State Cancer Institute at Milton S. Hershey Medical Center

    Hershey, Pennsylvania, 17033-0850

  • Indiana University Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center

    Indianapolis, Indiana, 46202-5289

  • St. Vincent Indianapolis Hospital

    Indianapolis, Indiana, 46260

  • University of Mississippi Cancer Clinic

    Jackson, Mississippi, 39216-4505

  • Nemours Children's Clinic

    Jacksonville, Florida, 32207

  • Kansas Masonic Cancer Research Institute at the University of Kansas Medical Center

    Kansas City, Kansas, 66160-7357

  • Children's Mercy Hospital

    Kansas City, Missouri, 64108

  • Breslin Cancer Center at Ingham Regional Medical Center

    Lansing, Michigan, 48910

  • Arkansas Cancer Research Center at University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

    Little Rock, Arkansas, 72205

  • Loma Linda University Cancer Institute at Loma Linda University Medical Center

    Loma Linda, California, 92354

  • Jonathan Jaques Children's Cancer Center at Miller Children's Hospital

    Long Beach, California, 90801

  • Childrens Hospital Los Angeles

    Los Angeles, California, 90027

  • Covenant Children's Hospital

    Lubbock, Texas, 79410

  • Children's Hospital Central California

    Madera, California, 93638-8762

  • Marshfield Clinic - Marshfield Center

    Marshfield, Wisconsin, 54449

  • St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

    Memphis, Tennessee, 38105

  • University of Miami Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center - Miami

    Miami, Florida, 33136

  • Miami Children's Hospital

    Miami, Florida, 33155

  • Midwest Children's Cancer Center

    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, 53226

  • Children's Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota - Minneapolis

    Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55404

  • Masonic Cancer Center at University of Minnesota

    Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55455

  • Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center

    Nashville, Tennessee, 37232-6838

  • Cancer Institute of New Jersey at UMDNJ - Robert Wood Johnson Medical School

    New Brunswick, New Jersey, 08903

  • NYU Cancer Institute at New York University Medical Center

    New York, New York, 10016

  • Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center at Columbia University Medical Center

    New York, New York, 10032

  • Newark Beth Israel Medical Center

    Newark, New Jersey, 07112

  • Children's Hospital of The King's Daughters

    Norfolk, Virginia, 23507-1971

  • Children's Hospital and Research Center Oakland

    Oakland, California, 94609

  • Oklahoma University Cancer Institute

    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, 73104

  • Children's Hospital of Orange County

    Orange, California, 92868

  • Florida Hospital Cancer Institute at Florida Hospital Orlando

    Orlando, Florida, 32803-1273

  • Advocate Lutheran General Cancer Care Center

    Park Ridge, Illinois, 60068-1174

  • St. Joseph's Hospital and Medical Center

    Paterson, New Jersey, 07503

  • Sacred Heart Cancer Center at Sacred Heart Hospital

    Pensacola, Florida, 32504

  • Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19104-9786

  • St. Christopher's Hospital for Children

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19134-1095

  • Phoenix Children's Hospital

    Phoenix, Arizona, 85016-7710

  • Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh

    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 15213

  • Oregon Health and Science University Cancer Institute

    Portland, Oregon, 97239-3098

  • Rhode Island Hospital Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Providence, Rhode Island, 02903

  • Mayo Clinic Cancer Center

    Rochester, Minnesota, 55905

  • Sutter Cancer Center

    Sacramento, California, 95816

  • Primary Children's Medical Center

    Salt Lake City, Utah, 84113-1100

  • University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

    San Antonio, Texas, 78207

  • Methodist Children's Hospital of South Texas

    San Antonio, Texas, 78229-3993

  • Rady Children's Hospital - San Diego

    San Diego, California, 92123-4282

  • UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center

    San Francisco, California, 94115

  • Sanford Cancer Center at Sanford USD Medical Center

    Sioux Falls, South Dakota, 57117-5039

  • Simmons Cooper Cancer Institute

    Springfield, Illinois, 62794-9677

  • Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish Hospital - Saint Louis

    St Louis, Missouri, 63110

  • All Children's Hospital

    St. Petersburg, Florida, 33701

  • Stanford Cancer Center

    Stanford, California, 94305-5824

  • SUNY Upstate Medical University Hospital

    Syracuse, New York, 13210

  • St. Joseph's Cancer Institute at St. Joseph's Hospital

    Tampa, Florida, 33607

  • Albert Einstein Cancer Center at Albert Einstein College of Medicine

    The Bronx, New York, 10461

  • New York Medical College

    Valhalla, New York, 10595

  • Children's National Medical Center

    Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20010-2970

  • Kaplan Cancer Center at St. Mary's Medical Center

    West Palm Beach, Florida, 33407

  • Alfred I. duPont Hospital for Children

    Wilmington, Delaware, 19803

Other trials in United States

Canada9 sites
  • IWK Health Centre

    Halifax, Nova Scotia, B3K 6R8

  • McMaster Children's Hospital at Hamilton Health Sciences

    Hamilton, Ontario, L8N 3Z5

  • Montreal Children's Hospital at McGill University Health Center

    Montreal, Quebec, H3H 1P3

  • Hopital Sainte Justine

    Montreal, Quebec, H3T 1C5

  • Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Quebec

    Québec, G1V 4G2

  • Saskatoon Cancer Centre at the University of Saskatchewan

    Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, S7N 4H4

  • Janeway Children's Health and Rehabilitation Centre

    St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, A1B 3V6

  • Hospital for Sick Children

    Toronto, Ontario, M5G 1X8

  • Children's & Women's Hospital of British Columbia

    Vancouver, British Columbia, V6H 3V4

Other trials in Canada

Australia3 sites
  • Royal Children's Hospital

    Brisbane, Queensland, 4029

  • Royal Children's Hospital

    Parkville, Victoria, 3052

  • Princess Margaret Hospital for Children

    Perth, Western Australia, 6001

Other trials in Australia

New Zealand2 sites
  • Starship Children's Health

    Auckland, 1

  • Christchurch Hospital

    Christchurch

Other trials in New Zealand

Switzerland2 sites
  • Swiss Pediatric Oncology Group Bern

    Bern, 3010

  • Swiss Pediatric Oncology Group Geneva

    Geneva, 1205

Other trials in Switzerland

About this study

Official title: A Phase II Study To Assess The Ability Of Neoadjuvant Chemotherapy Plus/Minus Second Look Surgery To Eliminate All Measurable Disease Prior To Radiotherapy For NGGCT

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Giving a chemotherapy drug before surgery may shrink the tumor so that it is no longer present by conventional imaging and tumor markers from serum and cerebrospinal fluid. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Peripheral stem cell transplantation may allow the doctor to give higher doses of chemotherapy drugs and kill more tumor cells. Combining different types of therapy may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: This Phase II trial is studying how well neoadjuvant chemotherapy with or without surgery and with or without high dose chemotherapy and peripheral stem cell transplantation, can increase response rates prior to radiation therapy and increase progression free and overall surviving patients with newly diagnosed intracranial germ cell tumors.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the response rate of patients with non-germinomatous germ cell tumors treated with neoadjuvant chemotherapy.
  • Determine the progression-free survival and overall survival of patients treated with neoadjuvant chemotherapy with or without second-look surgery followed by radiotherapy with or without autologous peripheral blood stem cell transplantation (PBSCT).
  • Determine whether additional complete responses can be achieved after high-dose thiotepa and etoposide with PBSCT in patients with persistently positive markers, histological evidence of residual malignant elements, or unresectable residual tumors after initial neoadjuvant chemotherapy.
  • Determine patterns of recurrence in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Correlate tumor marker response with radiographic and clinical measures of response, as well as findings at second-look surgery in patients with radiological evidence of residual disease.

OUTLINE:

  • Induction chemotherapy:
  • Courses 1, 3, and 5: Patients receive carboplatin IV over 1 hour on day 1 and etoposide IV over 1 hour on days 1-3. Beginning on day 4, patients receive filgrastim (G-CSF) IV or subcutaneously (SC) for 10 days or until blood counts recover. Courses are 3 weeks in duration.
  • Courses 2, 4, and 6: Patients receive etoposide IV over 1 hour followed by ifosfamide IV over 1 hour on days 1-5. Beginning on day 6, patients receive G-CSF IV or SC for 10 days or until blood counts recover. Courses are 3 weeks in duration.

Patients undergo re-evaluation. Patients with a complete response (CR) go directly to radiotherapy. Approximately 3 weeks after completion of induction chemotherapy, all patients with less than a CR are encouraged to undergo second-look surgery.

After second-look surgery, patients with a CR or a partial response (PR) go directly to radiotherapy. Patients with less than a PR undergo consolidation chemotherapy with peripheral blood stem cell rescue (PBSC) followed by radiotherapy.

  • Consolidation chemotherapy: Patients undergo PBSC collection. Patients receive G-CSF SC until PBSC collection is complete. Patients then receive thiotepa IV over 3 hours followed by etoposide IV over 3 hours on days -5 to -3. PBSCs are reinfused on day 0. Beginning on day 1 and continuing until blood counts recover, patients receive G-CSF SC daily.
  • Radiotherapy: All patients receive radiotherapy once daily 5 days a week for 5-6 weeks beginning after recovery from induction chemotherapy or second-look surgery or within 9 weeks after PBSC reinfusion.

Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year, every 4 months for 1 year, every 6 months for 1 year, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 80-100 patients will be accrued for this study within 36-42 months.

Being tested
carboplatin, etoposide, ifosfamide, thiotepa, adjuvant therapy
Keywords
childhood central nervous system germ cell tumor, childhood teratoma, recurrent childhood malignant germ cell tumor, childhood central nervous system choriocarcinoma, childhood central nervous system embryonal tumor, childhood central nervous system germinoma, childhood central nervous system mixed germ cell tumor, childhood central nervous system teratoma, childhood central nervous system yolk sac tumor, recurrent childhood central nervous system embryonal tumor
Medical subject headings
Brain Neoplasms, Central Nervous System Neoplasms, Teratoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • carboplatinDrug

    Also called Paraplatin, NSC #241240

    Given IV

  • etoposideDrug

    Also called VP-16, VePesid, Etopophos, NSC #141540

    Given IV

  • ifosfamideDrug

    Also called Isophosphamide, Iphosphamide, Z4942, Ifex

    Given IV

  • thiotepaDrug

    Also called Tespa, Thiophosphamide, Triethylenethiophosphoramide Tspa, WR-45312

    Given IV

  • adjuvant therapyProcedure or surgery

  • conventional surgeryProcedure or surgery

  • neoadjuvant therapyProcedure or surgery

  • peripheral blood stem cell transplantationProcedure or surgery

  • radiation therapyRadiation

    Also called Craniospinal irradiation (CSI) followed by boost radiation to the sites of gross disease at diagnosis.

    craniospinal irradiation

Study groups in NCT00047320
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Radiation Therapy (CR from Induction)ExperimentalPatients will receive 6 cycles of Induction chemotherapy consisting of carboplatin and etoposide (Cycles 1, 3, and 5) alternating with ifosfamide and etoposide (Cycles 2, 4, and 6). The entire length of Induction is 18 weeks unless delay occurs due to myelosuppression or unanticipated toxicity. Each cycle of Induction will begin when ANC > 750/L and platelets > 75,000/L and when off filgrastim (G-CSF) for at least 48 hours. Following the Induction phase (weeks 0-18) those patient in CR will undergo radiation therapy.
Receives: Drug: carboplatin; Drug: etoposide; Drug: ifosfamide; Drug: thiotepa; Procedure: adjuvant therapy; Procedure: conventional surgery; Procedure: neoadjuvant therapy; Procedure: peripheral blood stem cell transplantation; Radiation: radiation therapy

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Response to Induction Chemotherapy

    A patient who achieves a complete or partial response, defined a reduction of at least 65% in tumor size after induction chemotherapy will be considered to have experienced response.

    Measured: 18 weeks

Secondary outcomes (5)
  1. The Probability of Event-free Survival (EFS)

    Event-free Survival was defined as time from study entry to death from any cause, disease progression or recurrence, or second malignant neoplasm. Event-free survival was estimated by KM estimate.

    Measured: At 3 years from study entry

  2. Progression-free Survival (PFS)

    Progression-free Survival was defined as time from study entry to disease progression or recurrence. Deaths that are clearly unrelated to disease progression, and second neoplasms are censored in this analysis. Progression -free survival was estimated by KM estimate.

    Measured: At 3 years from study entry

  3. Overall Survival (OS)

    Overall Survival was defined as time from study entry to death from any cause. Overall survival was estimated by KM estimate.

    Measured: At 3 years from study entry

  4. Number of Patients Experiencing Toxic Death

    Toxic death, defined as death predominantly attributable to treatment-related causes.

    Measured: During chemotherapy (up to 18 weeks)

  5. Occurrence of Non-hematological Grade 4 Toxicity Occurrence of Nonhematological Grade 4 Toxicity

    The number of patients who experienced non-hematological grade 4 toxicities anytime during chemotherapy.

    Measured: During chemotherapy(up to 18 weeks)

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted27 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startJan 2004
  3. Primary completionFeb 2009
  4. Study completionFeb 2009

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
104 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00047320
Sponsor's protocol ID
ACNS0122
Other IDs
CDR0000257664, COG-ACNS0122
Status last verified
Jan 2018
First submitted
3 Oct 2002
Last updated
14 Feb 2018
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Publications

  • Fangusaro J, Wu S, MacDonald S, Murphy E, Shaw D, Bartels U, Khatua S, Souweidane M, Lu HM, Morris D, Panigrahy A, Onar-Thomas A, Fouladi M, Gajjar A, Dhall G. Phase II Trial of Response-Based Radiation Therapy for Patients With Localized CNS Nongerminomatous Germ Cell Tumors: A Children's Oncology Group Study. J Clin Oncol. 2019 Dec 1;37(34):3283-3290. doi: 10.1200/JCO.19.00701. Epub 2019 Sep 23.

    PubMed 31545689

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing carboplatin, etoposide and ifosfamide in people with Brain Tumor and Central Nervous System Tumors, run by Children's Oncology Group at 106 sites in 5 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 14 Feb 2018. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 106 sites in United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Switzerland. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 27 Feb 2014). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Response to Induction Chemotherapy (time frame: 18 weeks). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00047320, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 14 Feb 2018.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in