AzTrials
AzTrials

Brain and Central Nervous System TumorsPhase 1NCT00053183

Surgery Followed by Radiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Newly Diagnosed Glioblastoma Multiforme

A Phase 1 study testing conventional surgery, brachytherapy and radiation therapy in people with Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors, run by National Cancer Institute (NCI) at 10 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Internal radiation uses radioactive material placed directly into or near a tumor to kill tumor cells. External-beam radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Combining internal radiation with external-beam radiation therapy may kill any remaining tumor cells following surgery. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors
What is being tested?
conventional surgery, brachytherapy and radiation therapy
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
Not given
Where
10 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Oct 2003to not given
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Clinically suspected supratentorial grade IV glioblastoma multiforme
  • Candidate for maximal surgical resection of tumor mass
  • Expected residual enhancing tumor must be within the expected brachytherapy treatment volume
  • Resection must not be expected to result in a new permanent neurologic deficit
  • No clearly multi-focal disease (2 or more separate foci of contrast-enhancing tumor not all within the expected brachytherapy prescription volume by MRI)
  • No enhancing tumor greater than 1 cm beyond the midline by MRI
  • No grossly or radiographically apparent leptomeningeal spread and/or ventricular invasion outside the anticipated radiation treatment volume
  • No marked edema by MRI with significant shift that is not anticipated to be corrected by resection

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • Karnofsky 60-100%

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Creatinine no greater than 1.7 mg/dL
  • BUN no greater than 2 times upper limit of normal

Cardiovascular

  • No uncontrolled hypertension
  • No unstable angina pectoris
  • No uncontrolled cardiac dysrhythmia

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • Mini mental state exam score at least 15
  • No other concurrent medical illness that would preclude study participation
  • No concurrent serious infection
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except curatively treated carcinoma in situ of the cervix or nonmelanoma skin cancer

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • No immunotherapy prior to, during, or within 90 days after brachytherapy
  • No biologic therapy with any of the following prior to, during, or within 90 days after brachytherapy :
  • Immunotoxins
  • Immunoconjugates
  • Antiangiogenesis compounds
  • Peptide receptor antagonists
  • Interferons
  • Interleukins
  • Tumor-infiltrating lymphocytes
  • Lymphokine-activated killer cells
  • Gene therapy
  • Antisense agents

Chemotherapy

  • No chemotherapy or polifeprosan 20 with carmustine implant (Gliadel wafers) prior to, during, or within 90 days after brachytherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • No hormonal therapy prior to, during, or within 90 days after brachytherapy
  • Concurrent corticosteroids to improve quality of life allowed

Radiotherapy

  • No other radiotherapy prior to, during, or within 90 days after brachytherapy

Surgery

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No radiosurgery prior to, during, or within 90 days after brachytherapy

Other

  • No other investigational agents directed at the brain tumor prior to, during, or within 90 days after brachytherapy
  • Concurrent noncytotoxic therapy to improve quality of life allowed

Trial locations and contacts

10 sites in 1 country.

10 sites in 1 country

United States10 sites
  • Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University

    Atlanta, Georgia, 30322

  • Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins

    Baltimore, Maryland, 21231

  • University of Alabama at Birmingham Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Birmingham, Alabama, 35294-3295

  • Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02114

  • Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44195

  • Josephine Ford Cancer Center at Henry Ford Hospital

    Detroit, Michigan, 48202

  • Abramson Cancer Center at University of Pennsylvania Medical Center

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19104

  • University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

    San Antonio, Texas, 78284-7811

  • H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute

    Tampa, Florida, 33612-9497

  • Comprehensive Cancer Center at Wake Forest University

    Winston-Salem, North Carolina, 27157-1082

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase I Brachytherapy Dose Escalation Using The GliaSite RTS In Newly Diagnosed Glioblastoma Multiforme In Conjunction With External Beam Radiation Therapy

RATIONALE: Internal radiation uses radioactive material placed directly into or near a tumor to kill tumor cells. External-beam radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Combining internal radiation with external-beam radiation therapy may kill any remaining tumor cells following surgery.

PURPOSE: Phase I trial to study the effectiveness of combining internal radiation therapy with external-beam radiation therapy in treating patients who have undergone surgery for glioblastoma multiforme.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the maximum tolerated dose of brachytherapy administered via GliaSite RTS™ applicator followed by external beam radiotherapy in patients with newly diagnosed glioblastoma multiforme.
  • Determine the acute and chronic toxicity of brachytherapy administered via GliaSite RTS™ in these patients.
  • Determine the survival rate of patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter, dose-escalation study of brachytherapy.

Patients undergo craniotomy for histologic confirmation of glioblastoma multiforme, surgical resection, and placement of a GliaSite RTS™ applicator that includes Iotrex™.

Beginning 3-21 days after surgery, patients undergo brachytherapy via the GliaSite RTS™ applicator. Within 30 days of brachytherapy (no more than 60 days after resection) patients undergo external beam radiotherapy 5 days a week for 6 weeks in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Cohorts of 5-10 patients receive escalating doses of brachytherapy until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which at least 2 of 5 or 3 of 10 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity.

Patients are followed at 21-35 days, every 2 months for 1 year, and then for survival.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 15-100 patients will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
conventional surgery, brachytherapy, radiation therapy
Keywords
adult glioblastoma, adult giant cell glioblastoma, adult gliosarcoma
Medical subject headings
Central Nervous System Neoplasms, Glioblastoma, Gliosarcoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted28 Jan 2003 (estimated)
  2. Study startOct 2003

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00053183
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000269300
Other IDs
NABTT-2105, JHOC-NABTT-2105
Status last verified
Jul 2004
First submitted
27 Jan 2003
Last updated
9 Feb 2009
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing conventional surgery, brachytherapy and radiation therapy in people with Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors, run by National Cancer Institute (NCI) at 10 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 9 Feb 2009. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 10 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 9 Feb 2009.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in