Cervical CancerPhase 3NCT00054067
Chemotherapy and Radiation Therapy With or Without Surgery in Treating Patients With Stage I Cancer of the Cervix
A Phase 3 study testing cisplatin, adjuvant therapy and conventional surgery in people with Cervical Cancer, run by Gynecologic Oncology Group at 50 sites in 2 countries.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 years and older, women only
- Conditions the study is for
- Cervical Cancer
- What is being tested?
- cisplatin, adjuvant therapy and conventional surgery
- Type of treatment
- Surgery or procedure
- How many people
- Not given
- Where
- 50 sitesin 2 countries
- Study dates
- Feb 2003to Apr 2005
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 years and older
- Women only
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Histologically confirmed stage IB2 invasive carcinoma of the uterine cervix of one of the following types:
- Squamous cell carcinoma
- Adenocarcinoma
- Adenosquamous carcinoma
- Primary, previously untreated disease
- Exophytic cervical lesions greater than 4 cm in diameter OR
- Cervical expansion to greater than 4 cm in diameter, presumed to be the result of principal involvement with cancer
- No evidence of extrauterine disease other than pelvic lymph node involvement (by clinical and radiographic examinations)
- No para-aortic lymph nodal disease (suspected on CT scan, MRI, positron-emission tomography, or lymphangiogram) unless nodes are confirmed to be pathologically negative (by CT-guided biopsy or extraperitoneal lymph node dissection)
- Eligible for radical hysterectomy and lymph node dissection
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age
- 18 and over
Performance status
- GOG 0-2
Life expectancy
- Not specified
Hematopoietic
- Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm^3
- Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3
Hepatic
- Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 times normal
- SGOT no greater than 3 times normal
- Alkaline phosphatase no greater than 3 times normal
Renal
- Creatinine no greater than 2.0 mg/dL
- No renal abnormalities requiring modification of radiation fields
Gastrointestinal
- No gastrointestinal bleeding
- No intestinal obstruction
Other
- Not pregnant
- Negative pregnancy test
- No septicemia or severe infection
- No other invasive malignancy with any evidence of disease within the past 5 years except nonmelanoma skin cancer
- No circumstances that would preclude study completion or required follow-up
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy
- Not specified
Chemotherapy
- No prior chemotherapy
Endocrine therapy
- Not specified
Radiotherapy
- No prior radiotherapy
Surgery
- See Disease Characteristics
- No prior hysterectomy (total or subtotal)
Trial locations and contacts
50 sites in 2 countries.
50 sites in 2 countries
United States49 sites
Abington Memorial Hospital
Abington, Pennsylvania, 19001-3788
CCOP - Michigan Cancer Research Consortium
Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48106
Warren Grant Magnuson Clinical Center - NCI Clinical Studies Support
Bethesda, Maryland, 20892-1182
University of Alabama at Birmingham Comprehensive Cancer Center
Birmingham, Alabama, 35294-3300
Fletcher Allen Health Care - Medical Center Campus
Burlington, Vermont, 05401
Cooper University Hospital
Camden, New Jersey, 08103-1489
Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center at University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, 27599-7295
Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Medical Center
Chicago, Illinois, 60612-3824
MBCCOP - University of Illinois at Chicago
Chicago, Illinois, 60612
University of Chicago Cancer Research Center
Chicago, Illinois, 60637-1470
Charles M. Barrett Cancer Center at University Hospital
Cincinnati, Ohio, 45267-0526
Ireland Cancer Center
Cleveland, Ohio, 44106
Ellis Fischel Cancer Center at University of Missouri - Columbia
Columbia, Missouri, 65203
Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital - Ohio State University
Columbus, Ohio, 43210-1240
CCOP - Geisinger Clinic and Medical Center
Danville, Pennsylvania, 17822-2001
CCOP - Central Illinois
Decatur, Illinois, 62794-9640
Duke Comprehensive Cancer Center
Durham, North Carolina, 27710
CCOP - Evanston
Evanston, Illinois, 60201
University of Texas Medical Branch
Galveston, Texas, 77555-0587
CCOP - Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids, Michigan, 49503
Penn State Cancer Institute at Milton S. Hershey Medical Center
Hershey, Pennsylvania, 17033-0850
University of Texas - MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, Texas, 77030-4009
Indiana University Cancer Center
Indianapolis, Indiana, 46202-5289
Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center at University of Iowa
Iowa City, Iowa, 52242-1002
University of Mississippi Medical Center
Jackson, Mississippi, 39216-4505
CCOP - Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo, Michigan, 49007-3731
CCOP - Kansas City
Kansas City, Missouri, 64131
Southeast Gynecologic Oncology Associates
Knoxville, Tennessee, 37917
Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center, UCLA
Los Angeles, California, 90095-1740
Women's Cancer Center at Community Hospital of Los Gatos
Los Gatos, California, 95032
University of Wisconsin Comprehensive Cancer Center
Madison, Wisconsin, 53792-6188
Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center at Vanderbilt Medical Center
Nashville, Tennessee, 37232-2516
Yale Comprehensive Cancer Center
New Haven, Connecticut, 06520-8028
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
New York, New York, 10021
CCOP - Christiana Care Health Services
Newark, Delaware, 19713
CCOP - Missouri Valley Cancer Consortium
Omaha, Nebraska, 68106
Chao Family Comprehensive Cancer Center at University of California Irvine Cancer Center
Orange, California, 92868
Abramson Cancer Center at University of Pennsylvania Medical Center
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19104-4283
Kimmel Cancer Center at Thomas Jefferson University - Philadelphia
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19107
CCOP - Western Regional, Arizona
Phoenix, Arizona, 85006-2726
Magee-Womens Hospital
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 15213-3180
CCOP - Columbia River Oncology Program
Portland, Oregon, 97225
CCOP - Metro-Minnesota
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, 55416
Saint Joseph Regional Medical Center
South Bend, Indiana, 46617
CCOP - Cancer Research for the Ozarks
Springfield, Missouri, 65807
Long Island Cancer Center at Stony Brook University Hospital
Stony Brook, New York, 11790-7775
CCOP - Scott and White Hospital
Temple, Texas, 76508
CCOP - Carle Cancer Center
Urbana, Illinois, 61801
Walter Reed Army Medical Center
Washington D.C., District of Columbia, 20307-5001
About this study
Official title: Treatment of Patients With Stage IB2 Carcinoma of the Cervix: A Randomized Comparison of Radical Hysterectomy and Tailored Chemo-Radiation Versus Primary Chemo-Radiation
RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. It is not yet known which regimen of radiation therapy combined with chemotherapy, with or without surgery, is more effective in treating early cancer of the cervix.
PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of surgery followed by different regimens of radiation therapy and chemotherapy with that of chemotherapy and radiation therapy alone in treating patients who have stage I cancer of the cervix.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Compare progression-free survival and survival of patients with stage IB2 carcinoma of the cervix after radical hysterectomy with tailored chemoradiotherapy vs primary chemoradiotherapy.
- Compare the toxicity of these regimens in these patients.
- Compare the health-related quality of life of patients treated with these regimens.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.
- Arm I: (Surgery followed by chemoradiotherapy): Patients undergo exploratory laparotomy followed by radical hysterectomy and bilateral pelvic and para-aortic lymphadenectomy. Depending on the findings at surgery, the radical hysterectomy and lymphadenectomy are either completed or aborted.
- Aborted hysterectomy: Patients with aborted hysterectomy are assigned to 1 of 3 groups, depending on the findings at surgery.
- Group 1: Within 4 weeks of surgery, patients undergo pelvic radiotherapy 5 times weekly for 4-6 weeks and intracavitary irradiation during or after external radiotherapy. Patients also receive concurrent cisplatin IV over 1 hour once weekly for a total of 5-6 doses.
- Group 2: Patients receive radiotherapy and cisplatin as in group 1 with additional extended field radiotherapy.
- Group 3: Patients receive further treatment at the discretion of the investigator.
- Completed hysterectomy: Patients completing the radical hysterectomy are assigned to 1 of 3 groups, depending on the findings at surgery.
- Group A: Patients receive treatment as in group 1 above without intracavity irradiation.
- Group B: Patients receive treatment as in group 2 above without intracavity irradiation.
- Group C: Patients receive no further treatment.
- Arm II (Primary chemoradiotherapy): Patients undergo pelvic radiotherapy 5 times weekly for 4-6 weeks and intracavity irradiation during or after external radiotherapy. Patients also receive concurrent cisplatin IV over 1 hour once weekly for a total of 6 doses.
Quality of life is assessed at baseline, during week 5 of therapy, and then at 3, 6, and 12 months.
Patients are followed every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 3 years, and then annually thereafter.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 740 patients (370 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 7.5 years.
- Conditions
- Cervical Cancer
- Being tested
- cisplatin, adjuvant therapy, conventional surgery, brachytherapy, radiation therapy
- Keywords
- cervical adenocarcinoma, cervical adenosquamous cell carcinoma, cervical squamous cell carcinoma, stage IB cervical cancer
- Medical subject headings
- Uterine Cervical Neoplasms
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
cisplatinDrug
adjuvant therapyProcedure or surgery
conventional surgeryProcedure or surgery
brachytherapyRadiation
radiation therapyRadiation
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted6 Feb 2003 (estimated)
- Study startFeb 2003
- Primary completionApr 2005
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for Cervical CancerStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Gynecologic Oncology Group
- Sponsor type
- Research network
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Investigators
- D. Scott McMeekin, MD, Study chair, Oklahoma University Cancer Institute
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00054067
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- CDR0000269821
- Other IDs
- GOG-0201
- Status last verified
- Apr 2013
- First submitted
- 5 Feb 2003
- Last updated
- 11 Apr 2013
- Results posted
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 11 Apr 2013. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- Treatment of Patients With Stage IB2 Carcinoma of the Cervix: A Randomized Comparison of Radical Hysterectomy and Tailored Chemo-Radiation Versus Primary Chemo-Radiation
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00054067
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- CDR0000269821
- Conditions
- Cervical Cancer
- Keywords
- cervical adenocarcinoma, cervical adenosquamous cell carcinoma, cervical squamous cell carcinoma, stage IB cervical cancer
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Terminated
- Lead sponsor
- Gynecologic Oncology GroupResearch network
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI)
- Study start
- Feb 2003
- Primary completion
- Apr 2005 (actual)
- First posted
- 6 Feb 2003 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. It is not yet known which regimen of radiation therapy combined with chemotherapy, with or without surgery, is more effective in treating early cancer of the cervix.
PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of surgery followed by different regimens of radiation therapy and chemotherapy with that of chemotherapy and radiation therapy alone in treating patients who have stage I cancer of the cervix.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Compare progression-free survival and survival of patients with stage IB2 carcinoma of the cervix after radical hysterectomy with tailored chemoradiotherapy vs primary chemoradiotherapy.
- Compare the toxicity of these regimens in these patients.
- Compare the health-related quality of life of patients treated with these regimens.
OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.
- Arm I: (Surgery followed by chemoradiotherapy): Patients undergo exploratory laparotomy followed by radical hysterectomy and bilateral pelvic and para-aortic lymphadenectomy. Depending on the findings at surgery, the radical hysterectomy and lymphadenectomy are either completed or aborted.
- Aborted hysterectomy: Patients with aborted hysterectomy are assigned to 1 of 3 groups, depending on the findings at surgery.
- Group 1: Within 4 weeks of surgery, patients undergo pelvic radiotherapy 5 times weekly for 4-6 weeks and intracavitary irradiation during or after external radiotherapy. Patients also receive concurrent cisplatin IV over 1 hour once weekly for a total of 5-6 doses.
- Group 2: Patients receive radiotherapy and cisplatin as in group 1 with additional extended field radiotherapy.
- Group 3: Patients receive further treatment at the discretion of the investigator.
- Completed hysterectomy: Patients completing the radical hysterectomy are assigned to 1 of 3 groups, depending on the findings at surgery.
- Group A: Patients receive treatment as in group 1 above without intracavity irradiation.
- Group B: Patients receive treatment as in group 2 above without intracavity irradiation.
- Group C: Patients receive no further treatment.
- Arm II (Primary chemoradiotherapy): Patients undergo pelvic radiotherapy 5 times weekly for 4-6 weeks and intracavity irradiation during or after external radiotherapy. Patients also receive concurrent cisplatin IV over 1 hour once weekly for a total of 6 doses.
Quality of life is assessed at baseline, during week 5 of therapy, and then at 3, 6, and 12 months.
Patients are followed every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 3 years, and then annually thereafter.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 740 patients (370 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study within 7.5 years.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 years and older
- Sex
- Female only
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| cisplatin | Drug | – |
| adjuvant therapy | Procedure or surgery | – |
| conventional surgery | Procedure or surgery | – |
| brachytherapy | Radiation | – |
| radiation therapy | Radiation | – |
Primary outcome
Not reported in the source record.
Results and safety
The study was stopped early. Results are not available in the source record.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 11 Apr 2013.
Related trials for Cervical Cancer
RecruitingPhase 1/2
Study of INBRX-106 and INBRX-106 in Combination With Pembrolizumab (Keytruda®) in Subjects With Locally Advanced or Metastatic Solid Tumors (Hexavalent OX40 Agonist)
Solid Tumor, Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
RecruitingObservational study
Proton Re-irradiation in Patients With Recurrent or Second Primary Head and Neck Cancer , a Multicentre Phase II Single Arm Trial
Head & Neck Cancer
RecruitingPhase 2/3
Multicenter Validation Trial of [18F]AlF-FAPI-74 for PET Imaging of Cancer-associated Fibroblasts Through Fibroblast Activation Protein Inhibitors (FAPI) in Different Tumor Types
Oesophageal Cancer, Gastric Cancer
RecruitingPhase 2
Proton Spatially Fractionated Radiotherapy or Photon Stereotactic Body Radiotherapy in Combination With Pembrolizumab Before Surgery for the Treatment of Locally Advanced and Radiation-Naive Locoregionally Recurrent Oral Cavity Cancer, OSPRI Trial
Locally Advanced Oral Cavity Squamous Cell Carcinoma, Locally Recurrent Oral Cavity Squamous Cell Carcinoma
RecruitingPhase 4
Lidocaine Infiltration and Neuroimmunomodulation in Head and Neck Cancer Surgery
Head and Neck Cancer (H&N)
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
D. Scott McMeekin, MD study chair
Oklahoma University Cancer Institute
50 sites in 2 countries: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 3 study testing cisplatin, adjuvant therapy and conventional surgery in people with Cervical Cancer, run by Gynecologic Oncology Group at 50 sites in 2 countries.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 11 Apr 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 50 sites in United States, Japan. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study was stopped early. Results are not available in the source record.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 11 Apr 2013.