Esophageal CancerPhase 2NCT00069953
Combination Chemotherapy Followed By Chemoradiotherapy, With or Without Surgery, in Treating Patients With Resectable Locally Advanced Cancer of the Esophagus or Gastroesophageal Junction
A Phase 2 study testing filgrastim, pegfilgrastim and cisplatin in people with Esophageal Cancer, run by Radiation Therapy Oncology Group at 97 sites in United States.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy such as paclitaxel, fluorouracil, and cisplatin use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 18 to 120 years
- Conditions the study is for
- Esophageal Cancer
- What is being tested?
- filgrastim, pegfilgrastim and cisplatin
- Type of treatment
- Injection or infusion, Surgery or procedure
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 43 participants
- Where
- 97 sitesUnited States
- Study dates
- Sep 2003to Dec 2016
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Are there results?
- Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 18 to 120 years
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Histologically confirmed squamous cell carcinoma or adenocarcinoma of the esophagus or gastroesophageal junction
- Primary (non-recurrent) disease
- Amenable to resection
- Stage greater than T1, N0 by endoscopic ultrasound
- Must be entirely confined to the esophagus or gastroesophageal junction and periesophageal soft tissue
- Tumor may not extend more than 2 cm into the stomach
- No multiple primary carcinomas of the esophagus
- No cervical esophageal carcinoma or tumors less than 5 cm from cricopharyngeus
- No evidence of disseminated cancer
- Suggestion of liver metastases by positron emission tomography must be proven negative by biopsy or other imaging studies
- Palpable supraclavicular nodes must be negative for cancer by biopsy
- Bronchoscopy required for lesions less than 26 cm from the incisors to exclude tracheoesophageal fistula or invasion
- No celiac adenopathy greater than 2 cm
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age
- 18 and over
Performance status
- Zubrod 0-1
Life expectancy
- Not specified
Hematopoietic
- Absolute granulocyte count at least 1,500/mm^3
- Platelet count at least 150,000/mm^3
- Hemoglobin at least 10 g/dL
Hepatic
- Not specified
Renal
- Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL AND/OR
- Creatinine clearance at least 65 mL/min
- Calcium no greater than 11 mg/dL
Cardiovascular
- No uncontrolled heart disease
- No uncontrolled hypertension
Other
- Not pregnant or nursing
- Negative pregnancy test
- Fertile patients must use effective contraception
- Able to comprehend study requirements and considered likely to comply with study parameters
- No other malignancy within the past 5 years except curable nonmelanoma skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
- No uncontrolled diabetes
- No hypersensitivity to E. coli-derived products
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy
- Not specified
Chemotherapy
- More than 5 years since prior systemic chemotherapy
Endocrine therapy
- Not specified
Radiotherapy
- No prior chest or upper abdomen radiotherapy
Surgery
- No prior esophageal or gastric surgery
Other
- No concurrent photodynamic therapy
- No other concurrent investigational agents for esophageal carcinoma
Trial locations and contacts
97 sites in 1 country.
97 sites in 1 country
United States97 sites
Akron City Hospital
Akron, Ohio, 44309-2090
Albuquerque Regional Medical Center at Lovelace Sandia Health System
Albuquerque, New Mexico, 87102
University of New Mexico Cancer Research and Treatment Center
Albuquerque, New Mexico, 87131-5636
Rose Ramer Cancer Clinic at Anderson Area Medical Center
Anderson, South Carolina, 29621
St. Joseph Mercy Cancer Center at St. Joseph Mercy Hospital
Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48106-0995
CCOP - Michigan Cancer Research Consortium
Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48106
University of Colorado Cancer Center at University of Colorado Health Sciences Center
Aurora, Colorado, 80045
Ochsner Clinic of Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, 708169990
St. Francis Hospital and Health Centers - Beech Grove Campus
Beech Grove, Indiana, 46107
SUNY Downstate Medical Center
Brooklyn, New York, 11203
Bryn Mawr Hospital
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, 19010
Providence Saint Joseph Medical Center - Burbank
Burbank, California, 91505
Fairview Ridges Hospital
Burnsville, Minnesota, 55337
Mount Sinai Hospital Medical Center
Chicago, Illinois, 60608
Mercy and Unity Cancer Center at Mercy Hospital
Coon Rapids, Minnesota, 55433
Grandview Hospital
Dayton, Ohio, 45405
Good Samaritan Hospital
Dayton, Ohio, 45406
David L. Rike Cancer Center at Miami Valley Hospital
Dayton, Ohio, 45409
Samaritan North Cancer Care Center
Dayton, Ohio, 45415
Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Dayton
Dayton, Ohio, 45428
CCOP - Dayton
Dayton, Ohio, 45429
Oakwood Cancer Center at Oakwood Hospital and Medical Center
Dearborn, Michigan, 48123-2500
Delaware County Regional Cancer Center at Delaware County Memorial Hospital
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, 19026
Wendt Regional Cancer Center at Finley Hospital
Dubuque, Iowa, 52001
Fairview Southdale Hospital
Edina, Minnesota, 55435
Green Bay Oncology, Limited - Escanaba
Escanaba, Michigan, 49431
Genesys Hurley Cancer Institute
Flint, Michigan, 48503
Mercy and Unity Cancer Center at Unity Hospital
Fridley, Minnesota, 55432
Wayne Memorial Hospital, Incorporated
Goldsboro, North Carolina, 27534
Wayne Radiation Oncology
Goldsboro, North Carolina, 27534
Green Bay Oncology, Limited at St. Vincent Hospital
Green Bay, Wisconsin, 54301-3526
Green Bay Oncology, Limited at St. Mary's Hospital
Green Bay, Wisconsin, 54303
St. Mary's Hospital Medical Center - Green Bay
Green Bay, Wisconsin, 54303
St. Vincent Hospital Regional Cancer Center
Green Bay, Wisconsin, 54307-3508
Van Elslander Cancer Center at St. John Hospital and Medical Center
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, 48236
Hattiesburg Clinic, P.A.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi, 39401
Saint Rose Hospital
Hayward, California, 94545
M.D. Anderson Cancer Center at University of Texas
Houston, Texas, 77030-4009
Green Bay Oncology, Limited - Iron Mountain
Iron Mountain, Michigan, 49801
Foote Hospital
Jackson, Michigan, 49201
Charles F. Kettering Memorial Hospital
Kettering, Ohio, 45429
Gundersen Lutheran Cancer Center at Gundersen Lutheran Medical Center
La Crosse, Wisconsin, 54601
Sparrow Regional Cancer Center
Lansing, Michigan, 48909
University Medical Center of Southern Nevada
Las Vegas, Nevada, 89102
CCOP - Nevada Cancer Research Foundation
Las Vegas, Nevada, 89106
Monmouth Medical Center
Long Branch, New Jersey, 07740-6395
Bay Area Cancer Care Center at Bay Area Medical Center
Marinette, Wisconsin, 54143
Fox Chase Virtua Health Cancer Program - Marlton
Marlton, New Jersey, 08053
Baptist-South Miami Regional Cancer Program
Miami, Florida, 33176
Middletown Regional Hospital
Middletown, Ohio, 45044
Virginia Piper Cancer Institute at Abbott-Northwestern Hospital
Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55407
Providence Holy Cross Cancer Center
Mission Hills, California, 91346-9600
Cottonwood Hospital Medical Center
Murray, Utah, 84107
Hospital of Saint Raphael
New Haven, Connecticut, 06511
CCOP - Ochsner
New Orleans, Louisiana, 70121
CCOP - Bay Area Tumor Institute
Oakland, California, 94609
Summit Medical Center
Oakland, California, 94609
Green Bay Oncology, Limited - Oconto Falls
Oconto Falls, Wisconsin, 54154
McKay-Dee Hospital Center
Ogden, Utah, 84403
Gulf Coast Cancer Treatment Center
Panama City, Florida, 32405
Paoli Memorial Hospital
Paoli, Pennsylvania, 19301-1792
Kimmel Cancer Center at Thomas Jefferson University - Philadelphia
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19107-5541
Fox Chase Cancer Center
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19111-2497
Albert Einstein Cancer Center
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19141
Valley Care Medical Center
Pleasanton, California, 94588
Utah Valley Regional Medical Center - Provo
Provo, Utah, 84604
Booker Cancer Center at Riverview Medical Center
Red Bank, New Jersey, 07701
Hubert H. Humphrey Cancer Center at North Memorial Medical Center
Robbinsdale, Minnesota, 55422-2900
Rutherford Hospital
Rutherfordton, North Carolina, 28139
Seton Cancer Institute - Saginaw
Saginaw, Michigan, 48601
CCOP - Metro-Minnesota
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, 55416
Park Nicollet Health Services
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, 55416
United Hospital
Saint Paul, Minnesota, 55102
Cancer Research UK Medical Oncology Unit at Churchill Hospital & Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine - Oxford
Salem, Ohio, 44460
Utah Cancer Specialists at UCS Cancer Center
Salt Lake City, Utah, 84106
Huntsman Cancer Institute at University of Utah
Salt Lake City, Utah, 84112
LDS Hospital
Salt Lake City, Utah, 84143
J.C. Robinson, M.D. Regional Cancer Center
San Pablo, California, 94806
Curtis & Elizabeth Anderson Cancer Institute at Memorial Health University Medical Center
Savannah, Georgia, 31403-3089
CCOP - Upstate Carolina
Spartanburg, South Carolina, 29303
Gibbs Regional Cancer Center at Spartanburg Regional Medical Center
Spartanburg, South Carolina, 29303
CCOP - Cancer Research for the Ozarks
Springfield, Missouri, 65802
St. John's Regional Health Center
Springfield, Missouri, 65804
Hulston Cancer Center at Cox Medical Center South
Springfield, Missouri, 65807
Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish Hospital
St Louis, Missouri, 63110
Dixie Regional Medical Center - East Campus
St. George, Utah, 84770
Green Bay Oncology, Limited - Sturgeon Bay
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, 54235
Community Regional Cancer Center at Community Medical Center
Toms River, New Jersey, 08755
UVMC Cancer Care Center at Upper Valley Medical Center
Troy, Ohio, 45373-1300
Ridgeview Medical Center
Waconia, Minnesota, 55387
St. John Macomb Hospital
Warren, Michigan, 48093
Schiffler Cancer Center at Wheeling Hospital
Wheeling, West Virginia, 26003
Wilmed Radiation Oncology Services
Wilson, North Carolina, 27893
Cancer Treatment Center
Wooster, Ohio, 44691
CCOP - MainLine Health
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania, 19096
Lankenau Cancer Center at Lankenau Hospital
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania, 19096
Ruth G. McMillan Cancer Center at Greene Memorial Hospital
Xenia, Ohio, 45385
About this study
Official title: A Phase II Study Of Paclitaxel-Based Chemoradiotherapy Regimen With Selective Surgical Salvage For Resectable Locoregionally Advanced Carcinoma Of The Esophagus
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy such as paclitaxel, fluorouracil, and cisplatin use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining chemotherapy with radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells
PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well combination chemotherapy followed by chemoradiotherapy, with or without surgery, works in treating patients with resectable locally advanced cancer of the esophagus or gastroesophageal junction.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Determine the feasibility of treatment with paclitaxel, cisplatin, and fluorouracil followed by chemoradiotherapy and possible surgical salvage in patients with resectable locally advanced carcinoma of the esophagus or gastroesophageal junction.
- Determine the overall and disease-free survival of patients treated with this regimen.
- Determine the treatment-related toxicity of this regimen in these patients.
- Determine the tolerance to surgical salvage in patients treated with this regimen.
- Determine the morbidity and mortality of surgical salvage in patients treated with this regimen.
OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.
- Induction therapy: Patients receive fluorouracil (5-FU) IV continuously over 96 hours beginning on days 1 and 29; cisplatin IV over 1 hour on days 1-5 and 29-33; paclitaxel IV over 2 hours on days 1 and 29; and pegfilgrastim subcutaneously (SC) on days 6 and 34 OR filgrastim (G-CSF) SC on days 6-15 and 34-42. Treatment continues in the absence of unacceptable toxicity.
- Chemoradiotherapy: Patients receive cisplatin IV over 1 hour on days 57-61 and 5-FU IV continuously on days 57-61, 64-68, 71-75, 78-82, 85-89, and 92-96. Patients concurrently undergo external beam radiotherapy on days 57-61, 64-68, 71-75, 78-82, 85-89, and 92-96.
Patients with residual or recurrent esophageal disease 4-6 weeks after completion of chemoradiotherapy may undergo salvage esophagectomy.
Patients are followed periodically.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 42 patients will be accrued for this study within 18 months.
- Conditions
- Esophageal Cancer
- Being tested
- filgrastim, pegfilgrastim, cisplatin, fluorouracil, paclitaxel
- Keywords
- adenocarcinoma of the esophagus, squamous cell carcinoma of the esophagus, stage II esophageal cancer, stage III esophageal cancer
- Medical subject headings
- Esophageal Neoplasms, Adenocarcinoma Of Esophagus, Esophageal Squamous Cell Carcinoma
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
filgrastimBiological
Also called G-CSF
During induction therapy, patients ≤ 70 kg will receive 300 μg OR patients >70 kg will receive 480 μg subcutaneously on days 6-15 and 34-42.
pegfilgrastimBiological
Also called PEG-G-CSF
During induction therapy, patients receive 6 mg subcutaneously on days 6 and 34.
cisplatinDrug
During induction therapy, patients receive 15 mg/m^2/day by IV over 1 hour on days 1-5 and 29-33. During radiotherapy, patients receive 15 mg/m^2/day by IV over 1 hour beginning on days 57-61.
fluorouracilDrug
Also called 5-FU
During induction therapy, patients receive 650 mg/m^2/day by IV continuously over 96 hours beginning on days 1 and 29. During radiotherapy, patients receive 300 mg/m^2/day by IV continuously over 96 hours beginning on day 57 for 5 cycles.
paclitaxelDrug
During induction therapy, patients receive 200 mg/m^2/day by IV over 2 hours on days 1 and 29.
conventional surgeryProcedure or surgery
Patients with residual or recurrent esophageal disease 4-6 weeks after completion of chemoradiotherapy may undergo salvage esophagectomy.
radiation therapyRadiation
External beam radiotherapy with megavoltage linear accelerators (> 6 MV) will be used to deliver multiple (> 2) field techniques. Patients will be treated 5 days/week at 1.8 Gy/day for 28 days for a total dose of 50.4 Gy.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| ChemoRT and selective surgery | Experimental | Induction therapy of fluorouracil, cisplatin, paclitaxel, and pegfilgrastim OR filgrastim, then chemoradiotherapy of concurrent cisplatin and fluorouracil with external beam radiotherapy (RT), followed by selective salvage therapy. Receives: Biological: filgrastim; Biological: pegfilgrastim; Drug: cisplatin; Drug: fluorouracil; Drug: paclitaxel; Procedure: conventional surgery; Radiation: radiation therapy |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
Overall Survival (1-year Rate Reported)
One-year survival estimate is reported. Survival time is defined as time from registration to date of death from any cause and is estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method. Patients last known to be alive are censored at date of last contact. This analysis was planned to occur when all patients had been potentially followed for 1 year. On the basis of a 1-year survival rate of 60% from the Radiation Therapy Oncology Group (RTOG) esophageal database, 38 analyzable patients with a 1-year survival rate of 77.5% or better was needed for this trial to be deemed promising enough for development of a Phase III protocol (type I error of 0.05 and type II error of 0.20).
Measured: From registration to date of death or last follow-up. Analysis occurs after all patients have been potentially followed for 1 year.
Secondary outcomes (2)
Frequency of Major (Grade 4) Acute Treatment-related Toxicities
Measured: From start of chemotherapy to surgery or 2 months after chemoradiation (for patients not undergoing surgery).
Frequency of Patients With Persistent or Recurrent Disease Eligible for Surgical Salvage Resection
Measured: Analysis occurs with the primary outcome measure.
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted7 Oct 2003 (estimated)
- Study startSep 2003
- Primary completionMar 2007
- Study completionDec 2016
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, outcome measures and adverse events reported by the sponsor.
- Publications (1)Papers the sponsor has linked to this study.
- Other trials for Esophageal CancerStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 43 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Radiation Therapy Oncology Group
- Sponsor type
- Research network
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI), NRG Oncology
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Stephen G. Swisher, MD, Study chair, M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00069953
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- RTOG-0246
- Other IDs
- CDR0000306455
- Status last verified
- Dec 2016
- First submitted
- 3 Oct 2003
- Last updated
- 17 Feb 2017
- Results posted
- Yes, on ClinicalTrials.gov
- Data monitoring committee
- Yes
Publications
Swisher SG, Winter KA, Komaki RU, Ajani JA, Wu TT, Hofstetter WL, Konski AA, Willett CG. A Phase II study of a paclitaxel-based chemoradiation regimen with selective surgical salvage for resectable locoregionally advanced esophageal cancer: initial reporting of RTOG 0246. Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys. 2012 Apr 1;82(5):1967-72. doi: 10.1016/j.ijrobp.2011.01.043. Epub 2011 Apr 18.
PubMed 21507583
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 17 Feb 2017. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- A Phase II Study Of Paclitaxel-Based Chemoradiotherapy Regimen With Selective Surgical Salvage For Resectable Locoregionally Advanced Carcinoma Of The Esophagus
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00069953
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- RTOG-0246
- Conditions
- Esophageal Cancer
- Keywords
- adenocarcinoma of the esophagus, squamous cell carcinoma of the esophagus, stage II esophageal cancer, stage III esophageal cancer
- Phase
- Phase 2
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 43 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- Radiation Therapy Oncology GroupResearch network
- Collaborators
- National Cancer Institute (NCI), NRG Oncology
- Study start
- Sep 2003
- Primary completion
- Mar 2007 (actual)
- Study completion
- Dec 2016 (actual)
- First posted
- 7 Oct 2003 (estimated)
- Results
- Posted 20 Oct 2014
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy such as paclitaxel, fluorouracil, and cisplatin use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining chemotherapy with radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells
PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well combination chemotherapy followed by chemoradiotherapy, with or without surgery, works in treating patients with resectable locally advanced cancer of the esophagus or gastroesophageal junction.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Determine the feasibility of treatment with paclitaxel, cisplatin, and fluorouracil followed by chemoradiotherapy and possible surgical salvage in patients with resectable locally advanced carcinoma of the esophagus or gastroesophageal junction.
- Determine the overall and disease-free survival of patients treated with this regimen.
- Determine the treatment-related toxicity of this regimen in these patients.
- Determine the tolerance to surgical salvage in patients treated with this regimen.
- Determine the morbidity and mortality of surgical salvage in patients treated with this regimen.
OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.
- Induction therapy: Patients receive fluorouracil (5-FU) IV continuously over 96 hours beginning on days 1 and 29; cisplatin IV over 1 hour on days 1-5 and 29-33; paclitaxel IV over 2 hours on days 1 and 29; and pegfilgrastim subcutaneously (SC) on days 6 and 34 OR filgrastim (G-CSF) SC on days 6-15 and 34-42. Treatment continues in the absence of unacceptable toxicity.
- Chemoradiotherapy: Patients receive cisplatin IV over 1 hour on days 57-61 and 5-FU IV continuously on days 57-61, 64-68, 71-75, 78-82, 85-89, and 92-96. Patients concurrently undergo external beam radiotherapy on days 57-61, 64-68, 71-75, 78-82, 85-89, and 92-96.
Patients with residual or recurrent esophageal disease 4-6 weeks after completion of chemoradiotherapy may undergo salvage esophagectomy.
Patients are followed periodically.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 42 patients will be accrued for this study within 18 months.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Not applicable
- Intervention model
- Single group
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Number of arms
- 1
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| ChemoRT and selective surgery | Experimental | Biological: filgrastim, Biological: pegfilgrastim, Drug: cisplatin, Drug: fluorouracil, Drug: paclitaxel, Procedure: conventional surgery, Radiation: radiation therapyInduction therapy of fluorouracil, cisplatin, paclitaxel, and pegfilgrastim OR filgrastim, then chemoradiotherapy of concurrent cisplatin and fluorouracil with external beam radiotherapy (RT), followed by selective salvage therapy. |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 18 to 120 years
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| filgrastimAlso: G-CSFDuring induction therapy, patients ≤ 70 kg will receive 300 μg OR patients >70 kg will receive 480 μg subcutaneously on days 6-15 and 34-42. | Biological | ChemoRT and selective surgery |
| pegfilgrastimAlso: PEG-G-CSFDuring induction therapy, patients receive 6 mg subcutaneously on days 6 and 34. | Biological | ChemoRT and selective surgery |
| cisplatinDuring induction therapy, patients receive 15 mg/m^2/day by IV over 1 hour on days 1-5 and 29-33. During radiotherapy, patients receive 15 mg/m^2/day by IV over 1 hour beginning on days 57-61. | Drug | ChemoRT and selective surgery |
| fluorouracilAlso: 5-FUDuring induction therapy, patients receive 650 mg/m^2/day by IV continuously over 96 hours beginning on days 1 and 29. During radiotherapy, patients receive 300 mg/m^2/day by IV continuously over 96 hours beginning on day 57 for 5 cycles. | Drug | ChemoRT and selective surgery |
| paclitaxelDuring induction therapy, patients receive 200 mg/m^2/day by IV over 2 hours on days 1 and 29. | Drug | ChemoRT and selective surgery |
| conventional surgeryPatients with residual or recurrent esophageal disease 4-6 weeks after completion of chemoradiotherapy may undergo salvage esophagectomy. | Procedure or surgery | ChemoRT and selective surgery |
| radiation therapyExternal beam radiotherapy with megavoltage linear accelerators (> 6 MV) will be used to deliver multiple (> 2) field techniques. Patients will be treated 5 days/week at 1.8 Gy/day for 28 days for a total dose of 50.4 Gy. | Radiation | ChemoRT and selective surgery |
Primary outcome
Overall Survival (1-year Rate Reported)
Time frame: From registration to date of death or last follow-up. Analysis occurs after all patients have been potentially followed for 1 year.
One-year survival estimate is reported. Survival time is defined as time from registration to date of death from any cause and is estimated by the Kaplan-Meier method. Patients last known to be alive are censored at date of last contact. This analysis was planned to occur when all patients had been potentially followed for 1 year. On the basis of a 1-year survival rate of 60% from the Radiation Therapy Oncology Group (RTOG) esophageal database, 38 analyzable patients with a 1-year survival rate of 77.5% or better was needed for this trial to be deemed promising enough for development of a Phase III protocol (type I error of 0.05 and type II error of 0.20).
2 secondary outcomes
Frequency of Major (Grade 4) Acute Treatment-related Toxicities
Time frame: From start of chemotherapy to surgery or 2 months after chemoradiation (for patients not undergoing surgery).
Frequency of Patients With Persistent or Recurrent Disease Eligible for Surgical Salvage Resection
Time frame: Analysis occurs with the primary outcome measure.
Results and safety
Loading the posted results from ClinicalTrials.gov…
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 17 Feb 2017.
- Posted resultsParticipant flow, baseline, all outcome measures and adverse events.
- Results publication: PubMed 21507583Swisher SG, Winter KA, Komaki RU, Ajani JA, Wu TT, Hofstetter WL, Konski AA, Willett CG. A Phase II study of a paclitaxel-based chemoradiation regimen with selective surgical salvage for resectable locoregionally advanced esophageal cancer: initial reporting of RTOG 0246. Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys. 2012 Apr 1;82(5):1967-72. doi: 10.1016/j.ijrobp.2011.01.043. Epub 2011 Apr 18.
Related trials for Esophageal Cancer
RecruitingPhase 2/3
Multicenter Validation Trial of [18F]AlF-FAPI-74 for PET Imaging of Cancer-associated Fibroblasts Through Fibroblast Activation Protein Inhibitors (FAPI) in Different Tumor Types
Oesophageal Cancer, Gastric Cancer
RecruitingObservational study
Multicenter Prospective Cohort on Esophageal Endoscopic Submucosal Dissection
Superficial Esophageal Cancer, Oesophageal Adenocarcinoma
Recruiting
The Vanguard Study: Testing a New Way to Screen for Cancer
Bladder Carcinoma, Breast Carcinoma
RecruitingPhase 2
At-Home Cancer Directed Therapy Versus in Clinic for the Treatment of Patients With Advanced Cancer
Advanced Anal Carcinoma, Advanced Biliary Tract Carcinoma
RecruitingPhase 1
A Study to Learn About the Study Medicine Called PF-08046876 in People With Advanced Solid Tumors
Advanced/Metastatic Solid Tumors, Bladder Cancer
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Stephen G. Swisher, MD study chair
M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
97 sites in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 2 study testing filgrastim, pegfilgrastim and cisplatin in people with Esophageal Cancer, run by Radiation Therapy Oncology Group at 97 sites in United States.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 17 Feb 2017. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 97 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 20 Oct 2014). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
Overall Survival (1-year Rate Reported) (time frame: From registration to date of death or last follow-up. Analysis occurs after all patients have been potentially followed for 1 year.). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00069953, which also lists 1 linked publication.
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 17 Feb 2017.