AzTrials
AzTrials

Liver CancerPhase 2NCT00077389

Intensive Neoadjuvant Chemotherapy in Treating Young Patients Undergoing Surgical Resection for High-Risk Hepatoblastoma

A Phase 2 study testing carboplatin, cisplatin and doxorubicin hydrochloride in people with Liver Cancer, run by University of Leicester at 24 sites in 4 countries.

Unknown status

Status not confirmed. The sponsor has not verified this record for over two years, so it may be out of date.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Giving chemotherapy drugs before surgery may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages Up to 17 years
Conditions the study is for
Liver Cancer
What is being tested?
carboplatin, cisplatin and doxorubicin hydrochloride
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
57 participants
Where
24 sitesin 4 countries
Study dates
Jan 2004to not given
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Up to 17 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed hepatoblastoma
  • High-risk disease, meeting criteria for at least 1 of the following:
  • Tumor involving all 4 hepatic sections
  • Evidence of abdominal extrahepatic disease
  • Presence of metastases
  • Alpha-fetoprotein < 100 ng/mL at diagnosis
  • Must have had a prior diagnostic biopsy within the past 15 days
  • No recurrent disease

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • Under 18

Performance status

  • Not specified

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • AST and/or ALT ≤ 3 times normal

Renal

  • Glomerular filtration rate ≥ 60 mL/min

Cardiovascular

  • Shortening fraction ≥ 29% OR
  • Ejection fraction ≥ 40%

Other

  • Not pregnant
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • No pre-existing clinically relevant bilateral hearing loss
  • No other condition that would preclude study participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • No prior chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • Not specified

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • No prior therapy for hepatoblastoma

Trial locations and contacts

24 sites in 4 countries.

24 sites in 4 countries

United Kingdom21 sites
  • Royal Aberdeen Children's Hospital

    Aberdeen, Scotland, AB25 2ZG

  • Royal Belfast Hospital for Sick Children

    Belfast, Northern Ireland, BT12 6BE

  • Birmingham Children's Hospital

    Birmingham, England, B4 6NH

  • Institute of Child Health at University of Bristol

    Bristol, England, BS2 8AE

  • Addenbrooke's Hospital

    Cambridge, England, CB2 2QQ

  • Childrens Hospital for Wales

    Cardiff, Wales, CF14 4XW

  • Royal Hospital for Sick Children

    Edinburgh, Scotland, EH9 1LF

  • Royal Hospital for Sick Children

    Glasgow, Scotland, G3 8SJ

  • Leeds Cancer Centre at St. James's University Hospital

    Leeds, England, LS9 7TF

  • Leicester Royal Infirmary

    Leicester, England, LE1 5WW

  • Children's Cancer and Leukaemia Group

    Leicester, England, LE1 6TH

  • Royal Liverpool Children's Hospital, Alder Hey

    Liverpool, England, L12 2AP

  • Middlesex Hospital

    London, England, W1T 3AA

  • Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children

    London, England, WC1N 3JH

  • Royal Manchester Children's Hospital

    Manchester, England, M27 4HA

  • Sir James Spence Institute of Child Health at Royal Victoria Infirmary

    Newcastle upon Tyne, England, NE1 4LP

  • Queen's Medical Centre

    Nottingham, England, NG7 2UH

  • Oxford Radcliffe Hospital

    Oxford, England, 0X3 9DU

  • Children's Hospital - Sheffield

    Sheffield, England, S10 2TH

  • Southampton General Hospital

    Southampton, England, SO16 6YD

  • Royal Marsden - Surrey

    Sutton, England, SM2 5PT

Other trials in United Kingdom

France1 site
  • Institut Gustave Roussy

    Villejuif, F-94805

Other trials in France

Ireland1 site
  • Our Lady's Hospital for Sick Children Crumlin

    Dublin, 12

Other trials in Ireland

Netherlands1 site
  • Emma Kinderziekenhuis

    Amsterdam, NL-1100 DE

Other trials in Netherlands

About this study

Official title: Intensified Pre-Operative Chemotherapy And Radical Surgery For High Risk Hepatoblastoma

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Giving chemotherapy drugs before surgery may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well neoadjuvant chemotherapy works in treating young patients who are undergoing surgical resection for high-risk hepatoblastoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the efficacy and short-term toxicity of intensified neoadjuvant chemotherapy in children with high-risk hepatoblastoma undergoing surgical resection.
  • Increase the rate of complete surgical resection in these patients by fully implementing liver transplantation as a valid treatment option for tumor removal when partial liver resection or other surgical options remain unfeasible even after extensive preoperative chemotherapy.
  • Determine, prospectively, the role of this regimen in rendering unresectable tumors resectable in these patients.
  • Determine the accuracy of initial imaging in predicting the surgical options (after treatment with this regimen) for patients presenting with unresectable disease.

Secondary

  • Determine the overall survival and event-free survival of patients treated with this regimen (with an acceptable overall toxicity).
  • Determine the toxicity of this regimen in these patients.
  • Determine the response rate in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine whether response to this regimen, defined by the modified RECIST criteria, can be used for better monitoring of response in these patients.
  • Determine whether a fall in alpha-fetoprotein during this neoadjuvant regimen can be used as a prognostic factor in these patients.
  • Determine, prospectively, radiological, surgical, and pathological characteristics of the tumor that might identify possible novel factors that might influence treatment choice and outcome in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is an open-label, multicenter study.

  • Intensified neoadjuvant chemotherapy: Patients receive cisplatin IV over 24 hours on days 1, 8, 15, 29, 36, 43, 57, and 64; and doxorubicin IV over 1 hour OR over 24 hours on days 8, 9, 36, 37, 57, and 58. Patients determined to have resectable disease proceed to surgery.

Patients determined to have unresectable disease after neoadjuvant chemotherapy receive additional neoadjuvant chemotherapy comprising carboplatin IV over 1 hour on days 1 and 22 and doxorubicin IV over 1 hour OR over 24 hours on days 1, 2, 3, 22, 23, and 24.

Treatment continues in the absence of unacceptable toxicity.

  • Surgery: Patients determined to have resectable disease undergo complete resection and possibly liver transplantation.
  • Adjuvant chemotherapy*: Patients who undergo complete surgical resection receive carboplatin IV over 1 hour on day 1 and doxorubicin IV over 1 hour OR over 24 hours on days 1 and 2. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks for a total of 3 courses.

NOTE: *Patients who received additional neoadjuvant chemotherapy for unresectable disease do not receive adjuvant chemotherapy.

Patients are followed every 2-3 months for 2 years, every 3 months for 1 year, and then every 6 months for 2 years.

Peer Reviewed and Funded or Endorsed by Cancer Research UK

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 23-57 patients will be accrued for this study within 2 years.

Conditions
Liver Cancer
Keywords
childhood hepatoblastoma, stage IV childhood liver cancer
Medical subject headings
Liver Neoplasms, Hepatoblastoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Rate of complete remission after completion of study therapy

Secondary outcomes (5)
  1. Complete resection rate

  2. Response rate to preoperative chemotherapy

  3. Rate of grade 2 cardiac and renal, grade 3 otological, and grade 4 nonhematological toxicity as assessed during and after completion of study therapy

  4. Overall survival

  5. Event-free survival

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted12 Feb 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startJan 2004

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
57 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00077389
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000350221
Other IDs
SIOP-SIOPEL-4, EU-20336, CCLG-LT-2004-09
Status last verified
Dec 2009
First submitted
10 Feb 2004
Last updated
24 Jun 2014
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Zsiros J, Brugieres L, Brock P, Roebuck D, Maibach R, Zimmermann A, Childs M, Pariente D, Laithier V, Otte JB, Branchereau S, Aronson D, Rangaswami A, Ronghe M, Casanova M, Sullivan M, Morland B, Czauderna P, Perilongo G; International Childhood Liver Tumours Strategy Group (SIOPEL). Dose-dense cisplatin-based chemotherapy and surgery for children with high-risk hepatoblastoma (SIOPEL-4): a prospective, single-arm, feasibility study. Lancet Oncol. 2013 Aug;14(9):834-42. doi: 10.1016/S1470-2045(13)70272-9. Epub 2013 Jul 4.

    PubMed 23831416
  • Weeda VB, Murawski M, McCabe AJ, Maibach R, Brugieres L, Roebuck D, Fabre M, Zimmermann A, Otte JB, Sullivan M, Perilongo G, Childs M, Brock P, Zsiros J, Plaschkes J, Czauderna P, Aronson DC. Fibrolamellar variant of hepatocellular carcinoma does not have a better survival than conventional hepatocellular carcinoma--results and treatment recommendations from the Childhood Liver Tumour Strategy Group (SIOPEL) experience. Eur J Cancer. 2013 Aug;49(12):2698-704. doi: 10.1016/j.ejca.2013.04.012. Epub 2013 May 15.

    PubMed 23683550

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing carboplatin, cisplatin and doxorubicin hydrochloride in people with Liver Cancer, run by University of Leicester at 24 sites in 4 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 24 Jun 2014. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 24 sites in United Kingdom, France, Ireland, Netherlands. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Rate of complete remission after completion of study therapy. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00077389, which also lists 2 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 24 Jun 2014.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in