AzTrials
AzTrials

Pancreatic CancerPhase 1NCT00077519

Tipifarnib and Radiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Unresectable Locally Advanced Pancreatic Cancer

A Phase 1 study testing tipifarnib and radiation therapy in people with Pancreatic Cancer, run by Abramson Cancer Center at Penn Medicine at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Tipifarnib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking the enzymes necessary for their growth and may make them more sensitive to radiation therapy. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Giving tipifarnib together with radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years
Conditions the study is for
Pancreatic Cancer
What is being tested?
tipifarnib and radiation therapy
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
18 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Jan 2004to 31 Dec 2019
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed pancreatic cancer
  • Locally advanced disease
  • Unresectable disease requiring radiotherapy

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3

Hepatic

  • AST or ALT < grade 2 elevation
  • Bilirubin ≤ 2.0 mg/dL* NOTE: *Prior biliary stent procedure to normalize bilirubin levels allowed

Renal

  • Creatinine ≤ 1.5 times normal

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • HIV negative
  • No peripheral neuropathy ≥ grade 2
  • No known allergy to imidazole drugs, including any of the following:
  • Clotrimazole
  • Ketoconazole
  • Miconazole
  • Econazole
  • Fenticonazole
  • Isoconazole
  • Sulconazole
  • Tioconazole
  • Terconazole

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • At least 4 weeks since prior experimental or standard chemotherapy and recovered
  • No concurrent experimental chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • No prior upper abdominal radiotherapy

Surgery

  • Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19104-4283

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Phase I Trial of the Farnesyltransferase Inhibitor, R115777 (NSC# 702818) and Radiotherapy in Patients With Locally Advanced Pancreatic Cancer

RATIONALE: Tipifarnib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking the enzymes necessary for their growth and may make them more sensitive to radiation therapy. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Giving tipifarnib together with radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: This phase I trial is studying the side effects and best dose of tipifarnib when given together with radiation therapy in treating patients with unresectable locally advanced pancreatic cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the maximum tolerated dose and dose-limiting toxic effects of tipifarnib when administered with radiotherapy in patients with unresectable locally advanced pancreatic cancer.

Secondary

  • Determine the 3-month clinical response in patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter, dose-escalation study of tipifarnib.

Patients receive oral tipifarnib once or twice daily on weeks 1-8. Patients also undergo concurrent radiotherapy daily, 5 days a week, on weeks 2-8.

Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of tipifarnib until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 2 of 3 or 2 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity.

Patients are followed at 1, 3, and 6 months.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 8-18 patients will be accrued for this study within 12-15 months.

Being tested
tipifarnib, radiation therapy
Keywords
stage II pancreatic cancer, stage III pancreatic cancer, recurrent pancreatic cancer
Medical subject headings
Pancreatic Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • tipifarnibDrug

  • radiation therapyRadiation

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted12 Feb 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startJan 2004
  3. Primary completion31 Dec 2019
  4. Study completion31 Dec 2019

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Enrolment
18 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00077519
Sponsor's protocol ID
UPCC 20203
Other IDs
CDR0000352182, NCI-6407
Status last verified
Apr 2020
First submitted
10 Feb 2004
Last updated
15 Apr 2020
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing tipifarnib and radiation therapy in people with Pancreatic Cancer, run by Abramson Cancer Center at Penn Medicine at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 15 Apr 2020. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 15 Apr 2020.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in