AzTrials
AzTrials

Prostate CancerPhase 2NCT00078910

Neoadjuvant Exisulind in Treating Patients Who Are Undergoing Radical Prostatectomy for Stage II or Stage III Prostate Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing exisulind, conventional surgery and neoadjuvant therapy in people with Prostate Cancer, run by National Cancer Institute (NCI) at 3 sites in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as exisulind, work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Giving a chemotherapy drug before surgery may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 40 years and older, men only
Conditions the study is for
Prostate Cancer
What is being tested?
exisulind, conventional surgery and neoadjuvant therapy
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
130 participants
Where
3 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Aug 2003to Sep 2006
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 40 years and older
  • Men only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the prostate
  • Clinical stage T1c-3b, N0-X, M0
  • Gleason score ≥ 6
  • Planning to undergo pelvic lymphadenectomy and radical prostatectomy at Mayo Clinic Rochester
  • Interval from biopsy to prostatectomy is at least 4, but no more than 14, weeks
  • Selected patients of Dr. R. P. Myers who are undergoing prostatectomy during the enrollment period will be assigned to the control group* NOTE: *Additional historical controls may be selected from Dr. Myers' patients who underwent prostatectomy within the past 4 years

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 40 and over

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-1

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • ALT normal (10-45 U/L)
  • AST normal (12-31 U/L)
  • Alkaline phosphatase normal (119-309 U/L)
  • Bilirubin normal (0.1-1.0 mg/dL)
  • No history of hepatitis, cirrhosis, or other hepatic dysfunction

Renal

  • Creatinine < 1.5 mg/dL

Other

  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No hypersensitivity to sulindac (treatment group)

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • No concurrent immunotherapy

Chemotherapy

  • No other concurrent chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • No prior ablation (treatment group)
  • No prior hormone replacement or antiandrogen therapy (e.g., testosterone, diethylstilbestrol, leuprolide, goserelin, flutamide, bicalutamide, finasteride, nilutamide, or megestrol)
  • No concurrent antiandrogen therapy, luteinizing hormone-releasing hormone agonists, finasteride, or diethylstilbestrol

Radiotherapy

  • No prior pelvic radiotherapy
  • No concurrent radiotherapy

Surgery

  • See Disease Characteristics

Other

  • No prior treatment for prostate cancer before prostatectomy (control group)
  • No concurrent cyclooxygenase-2 inhibitors
  • No concurrent sulindac
  • No concurrent nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs except low-dose (no more than 325 mg/day) aspirin for cardiovascular prophylaxis

Trial locations and contacts

3 sites in 1 country.

United States3 sites
  • Mayo Clinic - Jacksonville

    Jacksonville, Florida, 32224

  • Mayo Clinic Cancer Center

    Rochester, Minnesota, 55905

  • Mayo Clinic Scottsdale

    Scottsdale, Arizona, 85259-5499

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Prospective Phase II Study of Preoperative, Controlled Exisulind Therapy Initiated Prior to Radical Prostatectomy: Effect on Apoptosis

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as exisulind, work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Giving a chemotherapy drug before surgery may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well neoadjuvant exisulind works in treating patients who are undergoing radical prostatectomy for stage II or stage III prostate cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Compare the effect of neoadjuvant exisulind vs no neoadjuvant treatment on apoptosis in patients with stage II or III prostate cancer undergoing radical prostatectomy.

Secondary

  • Determine the effect of this drug (preoperatively) on surrogate endpoint biomarkers (i.e., prostate-specific antigen, high-grade prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia, MIB-1, and DNA ploidy) in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a nonrandomized, controlled study. Patients are assigned to 1 of 2 groups based on the treating physician.

  • Control group: Patients undergo radical prostatectomy only.
  • Treatment group: Patients receive oral exisulind once daily for 4 weeks. Patients then undergo radical prostatectomy.

Patients are followed at 1 month.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 130 patients (65 per group) will be accrued for this study within approximately 10-12 months.

Conditions
Prostate Cancer
Keywords
adenocarcinoma of the prostate, stage IIB prostate cancer, stage IIA prostate cancer, stage III prostate cancer
Medical subject headings
Prostatic Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Apoptosis 4 weeks after completion of study as assessed by marker analysis (bcl-2, Bax, Par-4, M30, TUNEL assay, PTEN)

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. Modulation of other surrogate endpoint biomarkers (prostate-specific antigen high-grade prostatic intraepithelial neoplasia, MIB-1, and DNA ploidy)

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted9 Mar 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startAug 2003
  3. Study completionSep 2006

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomised
Enrolment
130 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00078910
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000353196
Other IDs
MAYO-229701
Status last verified
Sep 2006
First submitted
8 Mar 2004
Last updated
24 Jun 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing exisulind, conventional surgery and neoadjuvant therapy in people with Prostate Cancer, run by National Cancer Institute (NCI) at 3 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 24 Jun 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 3 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Apoptosis 4 weeks after completion of study as assessed by marker analysis (bcl-2, Bax, Par-4, M30, TUNEL assay, PTEN). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 24 Jun 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in