AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerPhase 2NCT00080626

Neoadjuvant Docetaxel in Treating Women With Newly Diagnosed Breast Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing pegfilgrastim, docetaxel and conventional surgery in people with Breast Cancer, run by Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins at 1 site in United States.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as docetaxel, work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Giving a chemotherapy drug before surgery may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
pegfilgrastim, docetaxel and conventional surgery
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
19 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
11 Aug 2003to 1 May 2006
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed infiltrating carcinoma of the breast
  • Unresected clinical stage T1c, T2, T3, or T4 lesion, any N
  • Newly diagnosed disease
  • Diagnostic mammogram and an ultrasound of the affected breast within 3 months before study entry
  • Mammogram of the contralateral breast within 6 months before study entry
  • Clinically measurable disease
  • Hormone receptor status:
  • Immunohistochemical staining for estrogen and progesterone and HER2/neu receptors must be obtained on initial diagnostic material

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Sex

  • Female

Menopausal status

  • Not specified

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin at least 8 g/dL

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 times normal

Renal

  • Creatinine no greater than 1.5 times normal

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • No medical condition that would put the patient at unnecessary risk of potentially serious complications during study participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • No prior chemotherapy for current breast cancer

Endocrine therapy

  • At least 1 month since prior tamoxifen or raloxifene for breast cancer prevention
  • No prior endocrine therapy for current breast cancer

Radiotherapy

  • No prior radiotherapy for current breast cancer

Surgery

  • Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins

    Baltimore, Maryland, 21231-2410

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Pilot Study Assessing Patterns of Response or Resistance to Preoperative Dose Dense Docetaxel in Women With Newly Diagnosed Breast Cancer

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as docetaxel, work in different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Giving a chemotherapy drug before surgery may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well neoadjuvant docetaxel works in treating women who are undergoing surgery for breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Correlate baseline and change in apoptosis and proliferation with clinical and pathological response to neoadjuvant docetaxel followed by surgery in women with newly diagnosed breast cancer.

Secondary

  • Correlate baseline and change in fludeoxyglucose F 18 positron emission tomography uptake with clinical and pathological response in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Correlate baseline and change in gene expression profiles with clinical and pathological response in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Correlate baseline and change in tumor and serum proteomic patterns with clinical and pathological response in patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a pilot study.

  • Neoadjuvant chemotherapy: Patients receive docetaxel IV over 1 hour on day 1 and pegfilgrastim subcutaneously (SC) on day 2. Treatment repeats every 14 days for 4 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
  • Surgery: Within 2-4 weeks after the completion of 4 courses of docetaxel, patients undergo breast-conserving surgery or a mastectomy at the discretion of the treating surgeon. Patients may receive additional chemotherapy prior to surgery at the discretion of the treating physician.
  • Adjuvant chemotherapy: Patients receive adjuvant chemotherapy at the discretion of the treating physician.
  • Radiotherapy: Patients undergo radiotherapy after the completion of all chemotherapy at the discretion of the treating physician.
  • Hormonal therapy: Patients with estrogen- and/or progesterone-positive tumors receive hormonal therapy after the completion of chemotherapy and all local therapies at the discretion of the treating physician.

Patients are followed every 6 months.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 40 patients will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Keywords
stage I breast cancer, stage II breast cancer, stage IIIA breast cancer, stage IIIB breast cancer, stage IIIC breast cancer, stage IV breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • pegfilgrastimBiological

    Also called Neulasta

    6 mg injection on day 1 of each cycle

  • docetaxelDrug

    Also called Taxotere

    100 mg per meter-squared, every 14 days for 4 cycles

  • conventional surgeryProcedure or surgery

    Also called definitive surgery

    lumpectomy or mastectomy at end of treatment

  • neoadjuvant therapyProcedure or surgery

    treatment prior to definitive breast surgery

Study groups in NCT00080626
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
DocetaxelExperimentalNeoadjuvant therapy with docetaxel (IV, 100 mg/m2, every 14 days with growth factor support with pegfilgrastim) for a total of 4 cycles prior to conventional surgery for breast cancer.
Receives: Biological: pegfilgrastim; Drug: docetaxel; Procedure: conventional surgery; Procedure: neoadjuvant therapy

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Correlation between change in apoptosis and proliferation with response after definitive surgery

    Measured: Definitive surgery

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. Correlation between change in fludeoxyglucose F 18 positron emission tomography uptake with response after definitive surgery

    Measured: Definitive surgery

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted8 Apr 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study start11 Aug 2003
  3. Primary completion1 May 2006
  4. Study completion1 May 2006

Why it stopped: low accrual

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
19 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00080626
Sponsor's protocol ID
J0266
Other IDs
P50CA088843, P30CA006973, NA_00040559, JHOC-03012301, JHOC-J0266, CDR0000346460
Status last verified
Mar 2019
First submitted
7 Apr 2004
Last updated
21 Mar 2019
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing pegfilgrastim, docetaxel and conventional surgery in people with Breast Cancer, run by Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 21 Mar 2019. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study was stopped early (reason given: low accrual). Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Correlation between change in apoptosis and proliferation with response after definitive surgery (time frame: Definitive surgery). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 21 Mar 2019.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in