AzTrials
AzTrials

Head and Neck CancerPhase 1NCT00114153

Carboplatin, Capecitabine, and Radiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Stage III or Stage IV Head and Neck Cancer

A Phase 1 study testing capecitabine, carboplatin and conventional surgery in people with Head and Neck Cancer, run by University of Virginia at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as carboplatin and capecitabine, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Head and Neck Cancer
What is being tested?
capecitabine, carboplatin and conventional surgery
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
48 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Jun 2003to not given
Phase
Phase 1
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck, including 1 of the following types:
  • Oral cavity
  • Oropharynx
  • Hypopharynx
  • Clinical stage III-IVB (T2-T4, N0-N3, M0) disease
  • Measurable disease by physical exam, endoscopy, and/or CT scan or MRI
  • Residual measurable disease after fine needle aspiration, core needle biopsy, or incisional or excisional biopsy of the primary tumor
  • No evidence of distant metastases (M1)

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • Zubrod 0-1

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Absolute neutrophil count > 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count > 100,000/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin > 9 g/dL
  • No uncontrolled coagulopathy

Hepatic

  • AST < 2 times normal
  • Alkaline phosphatase < 2 times normal
  • Bilirubin normal

Renal

  • Creatinine < 2.0 mg/dL OR
  • Creatinine clearance > 50 mL/min

Cardiovascular

  • No congestive heart failure
  • No symptomatic coronary artery disease
  • No uncontrolled cardiac arrhythmias
  • No myocardial infarction within the past year
  • No other clinically significant cardiac disease

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for at least 30 days after completion of study treatment
  • Nutritional and general physical condition must be compatible with proposed study treatment
  • Mentally reliable
  • No pre-existing peripheral neuropathy > grade 1
  • No history of hypersensitivity to fluorouracil, capecitabine, or carboplatin
  • No active infection
  • No other malignancy within the past 5 years except nonmelanoma skin cancer
  • No major medical, psychiatric, or neurologic illness that would preclude study participation or giving informed consent

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • More than 5 years since prior chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • No prior radiotherapy for head and neck tumor
  • No prior radiotherapy to the region of planned study radiotherapy fields

Surgery

  • Recovered from prior surgery
  • No unhealed surgical wounds

Other

  • More than 4 weeks since prior investigational drugs
  • No concurrent warfarin, diphenylhydantoin, or fluconazole unless willing to undergo careful monitoring and appropriate dose adjustments

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • University of Virginia Cancer Center at UV Health System

    Charlottesville, Virginia, 22908

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Phase I Trial of Induction Paraplatin® and Xeloda® Followed by Concurrent Paraplatin and Xeloda With Intensity Modulated Radiotherapy for Locally Advanced Squamous Cell Carcinoma of the Head and Neck

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as carboplatin and capecitabine, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Giving chemotherapy together with radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: This phase I trial is studying the side effects and best dose of capecitabine when given together with carboplatin followed by radiation therapy in treating patients with stage III or stage IV head and neck cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) of capecitabine when administered with carboplatin as induction chemotherapy in patients with stage III-IVB squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck.
  • Determine the MTD of capecitabine when administered with concurrent carboplatin and intensity-modulated radiotherapy in these patients.
  • Determine the toxicity of this regimen in these patients.

Secondary

  • Determine, preliminarily, tumor response in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Determine the quality of life of patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a dose-escalation study of capecitabine.

  • Induction chemotherapy: Patients receive carboplatin IV on days 1, 8, 15, 22, 29, and 36 and oral capecitabine twice daily on days 1-14 and 22-35.
  • Concurrent chemoradiotherapy: Beginning 2 weeks after completion of induction chemotherapy, patients receive carboplatin and capecitabine as in induction chemotherapy. Patients also undergo intensity-modulated radiotherapy (IMRT) once daily on days 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, 22-26, and 29-33 and non-IMRT boost once daily on days 36-40 and 43-47.

Treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Within 4-8 weeks after completion of concurrent chemoradiotherapy, patients who achieve a clinical complete response or who are medically operable with resectable persistent or recurrent disease undergo neck dissection (salvage surgery).

Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of capecitabine (during both induction chemotherapy and concurrent chemoradiotherapy) until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that which 2 of 3 or 2 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity.

Quality of life is assessed at baseline, after completion of induction chemotherapy, and then at 1 week and 3, 6, and 12 months after completion of concurrent chemoradiotherapy.

After completion of study therapy, patients are followed monthly for 3 months and then every 3 months for 1 year.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 6-48 patients will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
capecitabine, carboplatin, conventional surgery, radiation therapy
Keywords
stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the hypopharynx, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the lip and oral cavity, stage III squamous cell carcinoma of the oropharynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the hypopharynx, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the lip and oral cavity, stage IV squamous cell carcinoma of the oropharynx
Medical subject headings
Head and Neck Neoplasms, Squamous Cell Carcinoma of Head and Neck

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted14 Jun 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startJun 2003

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Enrolment
48 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00114153
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000432949
Other IDs
UVACC-HIC-10519, UVACC-27402, BMS-UVACC-HIC-10519
Status last verified
Apr 2007
First submitted
13 Jun 2005
Last updated
26 Nov 2009
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Thomas CY, Read P, Petroni G, Reibel J, Levine PA. Phase I study of capecitabine, carboplatin and intensity-modulated radiation therapy for head and neck cancer. Anticancer Res. 2009 Jul;29(7):2869-73.

    PubMed 19596976

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1 study testing capecitabine, carboplatin and conventional surgery in people with Head and Neck Cancer, run by University of Virginia at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 26 Nov 2009. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00114153, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 26 Nov 2009.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in