AzTrials
AzTrials

Brain and Central Nervous System TumorsPhase 3NCT00118222

High Light and Low Light Dose PDT in Glioma

A Phase 3 study testing porfimer sodium, adjuvant therapy and conventional surgery in people with Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors, run by Case Comprehensive Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Photodynamic therapy uses a drug, such as porfimer sodium, that becomes active when it is exposed to a certain kind of light. When the drug is active, tumor cells are killed. Giving photodynamic therapy after surgery may kill any remaining tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors
What is being tested?
porfimer sodium, adjuvant therapy and conventional surgery
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
1 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Mar 2005to Mar 2006
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed malignant supratentorial astrocytoma, glioblastoma, or mixed oligo-astrocytoma
  • Grade 3 or 4 tumor, defined as presence of ≥ 2 of the following features:
  • Nuclear atypia
  • Mitosis
  • Endothelial proliferation
  • Necrosis
  • Recurrent disease
  • Failed prior surgery and radiotherapy
  • Tumor suitable for radical resection by imaging studies

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • Karnofsky 60-100%

Life expectancy

  • At least 3 months

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • Not specified

Renal

  • Not specified

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • Willing to avoid direct sun-light exposure for 6 weeks after photodynamic therapy

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics

Surgery

  • See Disease Characteristics

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Ireland Cancer Center at University Hospitals Case Medical Center, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Cleveland, Ohio, 44106-5000

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Randomized Prospective Two Arm Clinical Trial of High Light Dose And Low Light Dose PDT in the Treatment of Recurrent Malignant Supratentorial Gliomas Using Porfimer Sodium [Photofrin]

RATIONALE: Photodynamic therapy uses a drug, such as porfimer sodium, that becomes active when it is exposed to a certain kind of light. When the drug is active, tumor cells are killed. Giving photodynamic therapy after surgery may kill any remaining tumor cells.

PURPOSE: This randomized clinical trial is studying two different light doses of photodynamic therapy using porfimer sodium to compare how well they work in treating patients who are undergoing surgery for recurrent malignant astrocytoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare survival of patients undergoing surgical resection for recurrent high-grade malignant supratentorial astrocytoma treated with intraoperative high vs low light dose photodynamic therapy using porfimer sodium.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to participating center. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

All patients receive porfimer sodium IV. One day later, patients undergo craniotomy and tumor resection.

  • Arm I: During surgery, patients receive low light dose photodynamic therapy.
  • Arm II: During surgery, patients receive high light dose photodynamic therapy. After completion of study treatment, patients are followed at 1 day, 6 weeks, and 3 months and then every 3 months for up to 2 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Approximately 120 patients will be accrued for this study within 4-5 years.

Being tested
porfimer sodium, adjuvant therapy, conventional surgery
Keywords
adult mixed glioma, adult anaplastic astrocytoma, recurrent adult brain tumor, adult giant cell glioblastoma, adult gliosarcoma
Medical subject headings
Central Nervous System Neoplasms, Glioma, Astrocytoma, Brain Neoplasms, Glioblastoma, Gliosarcoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • porfimer sodiumDrug

    Also called dihematoporphyrin ether, Photofrin II, Porfimer

    All patients receive porfimer sodium IV.

  • adjuvant therapyProcedure or surgery

    Also called dihematoporphyrin ether, Photofrin II, Porfimer

    All patients receive porfimer sodium IV.

  • conventional surgeryProcedure or surgery

    All patients receive porfimer sodium IV. One day later, patients undergo craniotomy and tumor resection.

Study groups in NCT00118222
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Low light dose during surgeryActive comparatorArm I: During surgery, patients receive low light dose photodynamic therapy.
Receives: Drug: porfimer sodium; Procedure: adjuvant therapy; Procedure: conventional surgery
High light dose during surgeryActive comparatorArm II: During surgery, patients receive high light dose photodynamic therapy.
Receives: Drug: porfimer sodium; Procedure: adjuvant therapy; Procedure: conventional surgery

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Time to progression and survival measured

    Measured: at 4-6 weeks post-operatively and then every 3-4 months thereafter

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted11 Jul 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startMar 2005
  3. Primary completionMar 2006
  4. Study completionMar 2006

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
1 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00118222
Sponsor's protocol ID
CWRU4303
Other IDs
P30CA043703, CASE-4303, CWRU-00003937, CWRU-4303
Status last verified
Jun 2010
First submitted
8 Jul 2005
Last updated
11 Jun 2010
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing porfimer sodium, adjuvant therapy and conventional surgery in people with Brain and Central Nervous System Tumors, run by Case Comprehensive Cancer Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 11 Jun 2010. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Time to progression and survival measured (time frame: at 4-6 weeks post-operatively and then every 3-4 months thereafter). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 11 Jun 2010.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in