AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerNCT00126464

Fulvestrant or Tamoxifen in Treating Postmenopausal Women Who Are Undergoing Surgery for Ductal Carcinoma in Situ of the Breast

A study testing fulvestrant, tamoxifen citrate and conventional surgery in people with Breast Cancer, run by Cedars-Sinai Medical Center at 1 site in United States.

Unknown status

Status not confirmed. The sponsor has not verified this record for over two years, so it may be out of date.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Estrogen can cause the growth of breast cancer cells. Hormone therapy using fulvestrant or tamoxifen may fight breast cancer by blocking the use of estrogen by the tumor cells. Giving fulvestrant or tamoxifen before surgery may be an effective treatment for breast cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
fulvestrant, tamoxifen citrate and conventional surgery
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
100 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Nov 2004to not given
Phase
Interventional
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS) of the breast
  • T0 disease
  • Newly diagnosed disease by minimally invasive biopsy (e.g., a vacuum-assisted large core tool [mammotome] or an equivalent method)
  • Biopsy tissue available for molecular marker analysis
  • Baseline mammography performed within the past 8 weeks
  • Hormone receptor status:
  • Not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • Postmenopausal

Sex

  • Female

Menopausal status

  • Postmenopausal, as defined by 1 of the following:
  • Age ≥ 60
  • Age ≥ 45 AND amenorrheic for > 1 year with uterus intact
  • Underwent bilateral oophorectomy
  • Follicle-stimulating hormone and estradiol levels in postmenopausal range

Performance status

  • SWOG 0-1

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Absolute granulocyte count ≥ 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin ≥ 8.0 g/dL

Hepatic

  • SGOT and/or SGPT ≤ 2.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Alkaline phosphatase ≤ 2.5 times ULN
  • Bilirubin ≤ 2.0 times ULN

Renal

  • Creatinine ≤ 2.0 mg/dL

Cardiovascular

  • No history of deep vein thrombosis

Pulmonary

  • No history of pulmonary embolism

Other

  • Negative pregnancy test (if clinically indicated)
  • No peripheral neuropathy > grade 1
  • No underlying medical, psychiatric, or social condition that would preclude study participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy

  • More than 6 months since prior hormonal therapy, including any of the following:
  • Antiestrogens
  • Estrogen
  • Selective estrogen-receptor modulators
  • Progestins
  • Aromatase inhibitors

Radiotherapy

  • Not specified

Surgery

  • Not specified

Other

  • No prior therapy for DCIS

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Samuel Oschin Comprehensive Cancer Institute at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

    Los Angeles, California, 90048

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: A Pilot Clinical Trial to Evaluate the Biological Activity of Fulvestrant (Faslodex) in Breast Ductal Carcinoma (DCIS)

RATIONALE: Estrogen can cause the growth of breast cancer cells. Hormone therapy using fulvestrant or tamoxifen may fight breast cancer by blocking the use of estrogen by the tumor cells. Giving fulvestrant or tamoxifen before surgery may be an effective treatment for breast cancer.

PURPOSE: This randomized clinical trial is studying how well giving fulvestrant or tamoxifen works in treating postmenopausal women who are undergoing surgery for ductal carcinoma in situ of the breast.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine, preliminarily, the efficacy of neoadjuvant fulvestrant, in terms of molecular changes in markers of the estrogen pathway, cell proliferation and apoptosis, and the epidermal growth factor pathway, in postmenopausal women with newly diagnosed ductal carcinoma in situ of the breast.

Secondary

  • Determine the toxicity profile of fulvestrant in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, placebo-controlled, pilot, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to 1 of 4 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients receive oral placebo once daily on days 1-21.
  • Arm II: Patients receive oral tamoxifen once daily on days 1-21.
  • Arm III: Patients receive fulvestrant intramuscularly (IM) on day 1.
  • Arm IV: Patients receive fulvestrant IM as in arm III but at a higher dose. In all arms, treatment continues in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. All patients undergo surgical resection of the tumor on approximately day 21.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 100 patients (25 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
fulvestrant, tamoxifen citrate, conventional surgery, neoadjuvant therapy
Keywords
ductal breast carcinoma in situ, breast cancer in situ
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Intraductal, Noninfiltrating, Breast Carcinoma In Situ

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Molecular markers of the estrogen pathway as measured by immunohistochemistry at 3 weeks

Secondary outcomes (1)
  1. Mammographic breast density as measured by the Madena method at 3 weeks

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted4 Aug 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 2004

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase N/A
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Enrolment
100 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00126464
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000430705
Other IDs
CSMC-00000244, CSMC-4415/CR00000244, ZENECA-CSMC-00000244, CSMC-1B-03-7
Status last verified
Jul 2006
First submitted
2 Aug 2005
Last updated
6 Nov 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A study testing fulvestrant, tamoxifen citrate and conventional surgery in people with Breast Cancer, run by Cedars-Sinai Medical Center at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 6 Nov 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Molecular markers of the estrogen pathway as measured by immunohistochemistry at 3 weeks. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 6 Nov 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in