AzTrials
AzTrials

Gastric CancerPhase 3NCT00182611

S-1 and Cisplatin in Treating Patients Who Are Undergoing Surgery for Stage III Stomach Cancer

A Phase 3 study testing cisplatin, tegafur-gimeracil-oteracil potassium and adjuvant therapy in people with Gastric Cancer, run by Kyoto University at 6 sites in Japan.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as S-1 and cisplatin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 20 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Gastric Cancer
What is being tested?
cisplatin, tegafur-gimeracil-oteracil potassium and adjuvant therapy
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
100 participants
Where
6 sitesJapan
Study dates
Apr 2004to Nov 2008
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 20 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed gastric adenocarcinoma, including type II or type III adenocarcinoma of the esophagogastric junction
  • Stage III disease
  • T3 or T4 and/or N2
  • No stage IV disease
  • Helical CT scan and laparoscopic staging required
  • Potentially resectable disease

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 20 and over

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-1

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • WBC ≥ 4,000/mm³, but < 12,000/mm³
  • Granulocyte count ≥ 2,000/mm³
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm³
  • Hemoglobin ≥ 9.0 g/dL

Hepatic

  • AST and ALT ≤ 2.5 times upper limit of normal
  • Bilirubin ≤ 1.5 mg/dL

Renal

  • Creatinine clearance ≥ 50 mL/min

Pulmonary

  • Arterial oxygen pressure (PaO_2) ≥ 70 mm Hg on room air

Other

  • Able to take oral medications

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • No prior chemotherapy for gastric cancer

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • No prior radiotherapy for gastric cancer

Surgery

  • No prior surgery for gastric cancer

Other

  • No other prior therapy for gastric cancer

Trial locations and contacts

6 sites in 1 country.

6 sites in 1 country

Japan6 sites
  • Fukui Red Cross Hospital

    Fukui-shi, Fukui, 918-8501

  • Shimane Prefectural Central Hospital

    Izumo-shi, Shimane, 693-0068

  • Kyoto University Hospital

    Kyoto, Kyoto, 606-8507

  • National Hospital Organization - Kyoto Medical Center

    Kyoto, Kyoto, 612-0861

  • Kitano Hospital

    Osaka, Osaka, 530-8480

  • Yamato Municipal Hospital

    Yamatotakada, Nara, 635-8501

Other trials in Japan

About this study

Official title: Phase III Clinical Study of Preoperative S-1/CDDP Combination Chemotherapy in Patients With Potentially Resectable Stage III Advanced Gastric Cancer

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as S-1 and cisplatin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more tumor cells. Giving chemotherapy before surgery may shrink the tumor so that it can be removed. It is not yet known whether giving S-1 together with cisplatin before surgery is more effective than surgery followed by S-1 in treating stomach cancer.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying how well giving S-1 together with cisplatin before surgery works compared to surgery followed by S-1 in treating patients with stage III stomach cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Compare the overall survival of patients with potentially resectable stage III gastric cancer treated with neoadjuvant S-1 and cisplatin followed by gastrectomy and adjuvant S-1 vs no neoadjuvant chemotherapy before gastrectomy and adjuvant S-1.

Secondary

  • Compare the progression-free survival of patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare the curative resection rates in patients treated with these regimens.
  • Compare the safety of these regimens, in terms of postoperative complications, adverse events, and treatment- or surgery-related mortality rate, in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to disease stage (T3 vs T4) and ECOG performance status (0 vs 1). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I (control): Patients undergo gastrectomy with D2+ lymph node dissection. Patients then receive adjuvant oral S-1.
  • Arm II (neoadjuvant therapy): Patients receive neoadjuvant oral S-1 on days 1-21 and cisplatin IV over 2 hours on day 8. Treatment repeats every 35 days for 2 courses in the absence of disease progression. Patients then undergo surgery and receive adjuvant S-1 as in arm I.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 100 patients (50 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Gastric Cancer
Being tested
cisplatin, tegafur-gimeracil-oteracil potassium, adjuvant therapy, conventional surgery, neoadjuvant therapy
Keywords
stage III gastric cancer, adenocarcinoma of the stomach
Medical subject headings
Stomach Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Overall survival

Secondary outcomes (7)
  1. Progression-free survival (PFS)

  2. Postoperative PFS

  3. Surgical/pathological curative resection

  4. Death related to treatment

  5. Death related to operation

  6. Postoperative complications

  7. Adverse events

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted16 Sep 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startApr 2004
  3. Primary completionSep 2008
  4. Study completionNov 2008

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Enrolment
100 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00182611
Sponsor's protocol ID
KYUH-UHA-GC04-03
Other IDs
CDR0000426403
Status last verified
Nov 2008
First submitted
15 Sep 2005
Last updated
26 Jun 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing cisplatin, tegafur-gimeracil-oteracil potassium and adjuvant therapy in people with Gastric Cancer, run by Kyoto University at 6 sites in Japan.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 26 Jun 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 6 sites in Japan. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Overall survival. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 26 Jun 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in