AzTrials
AzTrials

Adult Acute Lymphocytic LeukemiaPhase 4NCT00198978

German Multicenter Trial for Treatment of Elderly Patients With Newly Diagnosed Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia

A Phase 4 study testing Cyclophosphamide, Dexamethasone / Prednisolone and Cytarabine in people with Adult Acute Lymphocytic Leukemia, run by Goethe University at 1 site in Germany.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

The study evaluates the efficacy and tolerability of a dose-reduced chemotherapy for the treatment of elderly patients with acute lymphoblastic leukemia. In patients with expression of CD20 on leukemic cells the efficacy and tolerability of additional application of Rituximab together with chemotherapy is evaluated. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 55 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Adult Acute Lymphocytic Leukemia
What is being tested?
Cyclophosphamide, Dexamethasone / Prednisolone and Cytarabine
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
377 participants
Where
1 siteGermany
Study dates
Jan 2003to Jun 2014
Phase
Phase 4
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 55 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

  • Diagnosis of acute lymphoblastic leukemia (pro B, pre B, c-ALL or T-ALL), proved by morphology and immunophenotyping
  • Age > 55 yrs (no upper age limit)
  • Written informed consent

Who cannot join

  • Severe leukemia associated complications, not controllable before therapy onset e.g.
  • life threatening infections as sepsis, pneumonia, hypoxia, shock, life threatening bleeding)
  • Severe comorbidity e.g.
  • decompensated renal failure if not caused by leukemia with Creatinine > 2x ULN
  • heart failure (NYHA II/IV), instable Angina, significant coronary stenosis
  • hepatic insufficiency e.g. liver cirrhosis or chronic active hepatitis with bilirubin > 1,5 x ULN and/or ASA, ALA, AP > 2,5 ULN
Show all 15Show fewer
  • decompensated metabolic disturbances (e.g. not controllable diabetes)
  • severe obstructive or restrictive pulmonary disease with hypoxaemia
  • Severe psychiatric illness or other circumstances which may compromise cooperation of the patient
  • Active second neoplasia
  • HIV infection
  • Severely reduced general condition
  • Cytostatic pre-treatment of ALL
  • Chemotherapy treatment of any other malignancy during the last 5 years
  • Participation in other clinical trials interfering with the study therapy

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

Germany1 site
  • University of Frankfurt, Medical Dept. II

    Frankfurt, 60590

Other trials in Germany

About this study

Official title: Multicenter Study To Optimize Treatment in Elderly Patients (> 55 Years, No Upper Age Limit) With Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia (GMALL Elderly 1/2003)(Amend 2)

The study evaluates the efficacy and tolerability of a dose-reduced chemotherapy for the treatment of elderly patients with acute lymphoblastic leukemia. In patients with expression of CD20 on leukemic cells the efficacy and tolerability of additional application of Rituximab together with chemotherapy is evaluated.

Being tested
Cyclophosphamide, Dexamethasone / Prednisolone, Cytarabine, Idarubicin, Granulocyte-Colony-Stimulating Factor
Keywords
ALL, Treatment, Elderly, De novo
Medical subject headings
Precursor Cell Lymphoblastic Leukemia-Lymphoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00198978
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Interventional armExperimentalNot described
Receives: Drug: Cyclophosphamide; Drug: Dexamethasone / Prednisolone; Drug: Cytarabine; Drug: Idarubicin; Drug: Granulocyte-Colony-Stimulating Factor; Drug: Mercaptopurine; Drug: Methotrexate; Drug: Rituximab; Drug: HDARAC; Drug: Vincristine; Drug: Depocyte; Drug: Asparaginase

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Remission rate (cytologic, molecular)

    Measured: After induction; approximately 6 wks (exact time frame not specified)

  2. Toxicity (CTC)

    Measured: After each cycle; time-frame not specified

  3. Survival time, Duration of Remission

    Measured: at 3 and 5 years

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted20 Sep 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startJan 2003
  3. Primary completionJun 2011
  4. Study completionJun 2014

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 4
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
377 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00198978
Sponsor's protocol ID
GMALL02
Status last verified
Mar 2023
First submitted
12 Sep 2005
Last updated
20 Mar 2023
Results posted
No

Publications

  • Topp MS, Gokbuget N, Zugmaier G, Degenhard E, Goebeler ME, Klinger M, Neumann SA, Horst HA, Raff T, Viardot A, Stelljes M, Schaich M, Kohne-Volland R, Bruggemann M, Ottmann OG, Burmeister T, Baeuerle PA, Nagorsen D, Schmidt M, Einsele H, Riethmuller G, Kneba M, Hoelzer D, Kufer P, Bargou RC. Long-term follow-up of hematologic relapse-free survival in a phase 2 study of blinatumomab in patients with MRD in B-lineage ALL. Blood. 2012 Dec 20;120(26):5185-7. doi: 10.1182/blood-2012-07-441030. Epub 2012 Sep 28.

    PubMed 23024237

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 4 study testing Cyclophosphamide, Dexamethasone / Prednisolone and Cytarabine in people with Adult Acute Lymphocytic Leukemia, run by Goethe University at 1 site in Germany.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 3 inclusion and 15 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 20 Mar 2023. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in Germany. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 4 studies take place after a treatment is approved, to learn more about its long-term benefits and risks in everyday use.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Remission rate (cytologic, molecular) (time frame: After induction; approximately 6 wks (exact time frame not specified)). The study lists 3 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT00198978, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 20 Mar 2023.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in