AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerNCT00235235

A Correlative Study for Predicting Response and Toxicity in Patients Receiving Chemotherapy for Breast Cancer

An observational study of Breast Cancer, run by Hoosier Cancer Research Network at 11 sites in 2 countries.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

The proposed trial provides a unique opportunity in that it combines genomic, proteomic, and pharmacogenomic assessments in patients receiving the most commonly used chemotherapies for advanced breast cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older, women only
Conditions the study is for
Breast Cancer
What is being tested?
Biopsy, Serum Collection and Urine Collection
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
80 participants
Where
11 sitesin 2 countries
Study dates
Sep 2005to Dec 2010
Phase
Observational
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Study population: Study limited to patients with breast cancer.

Who may be able to join

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the breast with locally advanced or metastatic disease.
  • Disease amenable to pre-treatment core or incisional biopsy with adequate tissue for histology and genomic/proteomic analysis.
  • Measurable disease as assessed within 21 days prior to being registered for protocol therapy by RECIST.
  • Planned chemotherapy with one of the following regimens:
  • Doxorubicin 60 mg/m2 + Cyclophosphamide 600 mg/m2 day 1 of every 21-day cycle
  • Capecitabine 1000 mg/m2 BID days 1-14 of every 21-day cycle
  • Vinorelbine 25 mg/m2 days 1, 8, 15 of every 28-day cycle
  • Gemcitabine 1000 mg/m2 days 1, 8, 15 of every 28-day cycle

Who cannot join

  • No serious uncontrolled medical or surgical condition that the investigator feels might compromise study participation.
  • Negative pregnancy test obtained within 7 days prior to being registered for protocol therapy for women of child bearing potential.
  • Unwillingness to use adequate contraception (or practicing complete abstinence). Subjects should be advised that adequate contraception (or complete abstinence) must be continued while on treatment and for a period of 3 months after the final dose of chemotherapy.
  • No breast-feeding.

Trial locations and contacts

11 sites in 2 countries.

11 sites in 2 countries

United States10 sites
  • Cancer Care Center of Southern Indiana

    Bloomington, Indiana, 47403

  • Fort Wayne Oncology & Hematology, Inc

    Fort Wayne, Indiana, 46815

  • Center for Cancer Care at Goshen Health System

    Goshen, Indiana, 46527

  • Baylor College of Medicine - Methodist Breast Center

    Houston, Texas, 77030

  • Indiana University Cancer Center

    Indianapolis, Indiana, 46202

  • Mary Lou Mayer, M.D.

    Indianapolis, Indiana, 46227

  • Community Regional Cancer Center

    Indianapolis, Indiana, 46256

  • Arnett Cancer Care

    Lafayette, Indiana, 47904

  • Horizon Oncology Center

    Lafayette, Indiana, 47905

  • Northern Indiana Cancer Research Consortium

    South Bend, Indiana, 46601

Other trials in United States

Peru1 site
  • Instituto de Enfermedades Neoplasticas (INEN)

    Lima

Other trials in Peru

About this study

Official title: Predicting Response and Toxicity in Patients Receiving Chemotherapy for Breast Cancer: A Multicenter Genomic, Proteomic and Pharmacogenomic Correlative Study: Hoosier Oncology Group COE-01

The proposed trial provides a unique opportunity in that it combines genomic, proteomic, and pharmacogenomic assessments in patients receiving the most commonly used chemotherapies for advanced breast cancer. To date no other trial has analyzed gene and protein expression at the same time points in the same patient, combined with clinical outcome. Similar to previous attempts to predict response based on expression of a single gene or protein, the researchers expect that neither genomic or proteomic profiling alone will be sufficient to optimize therapy. Rather, the researchers expect an iterative process that combines information gleaned from both platforms, modified to avoid toxicity based on pharmacogenomics.

Read the detailed description

OUTLINE: This is a 4 arm, multi-center study.

Sample Collection:

  • Core Biopsy
  • Serum
  • Urine

Treatment Regimens (Investigator/Patient Discretion):

  • Arm A: Doxorubicin 60 mg/m2 + Cyclophosphamide 600 mg/m2 day 1 of every 21-day cycle
  • Arm B: Capecitabine 1000 mg/m2 BID days 1-14 of every 21-day cycle
  • Arm C: Vinorelbine 25 mg/m2 days 1, 8, 15 of every 28-day cycle
  • Arm D: Gemcitabine 1000 mg/m2 days 1, 8, 15 of every 28-day cycle

Performance status \& Organ Function:

Performance status and organ function appropriate for chemotherapy in the opinion of the treating investigator according to Good Clinical Practice (GCP).

Life Expectancy: Not specified

Hematopoietic: Not specified

Hepatic: Not specified

Renal: Not specified

Cardiovascular: Not specified

Pulmonary: Not specified

Conditions
Breast Cancer
Being tested
Biopsy, Serum Collection, Urine Collection, Doxorubicin, Cyclophosphamide
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • BiopsyProcedure or surgery

    core biopsy

  • Serum CollectionProcedure or surgery

    serum collection

  • Urine CollectionProcedure or surgery

    urine collection

  • DoxorubicinDrug

    Doxorubicin 60 mg/m2 day 1 of every 21-day cycle

  • CyclophosphamideDrug

    Cyclophosphamide 600 mg/m2 day 1 of every 21-day cycle

  • CapecitabineDrug

    Capecitabine 1000 mg/m2 bid days 1-14 of every 21-day cycle

  • VinorelbineDrug

    Vinorelbine 25mg/m2 days 1, 8, 15 of every 28-day cycle

  • GemcitabineDrug

    Gemcitabine 1000mg/m2 days 1, 8, 15 of every 28-day cycle

Study groups in NCT00235235
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
ADoxorubicin 60 mg/m2 + Cyclophosphamide 600 mg/m2 day 2 of every 21-day cycle
Receives: Procedure: Biopsy; Procedure: Serum Collection; Procedure: Urine Collection; Drug: Doxorubicin; Drug: Cyclophosphamide
BCapecitabine 1000mg/m2 bid days 1-14 of every 21-day cycle
Receives: Procedure: Biopsy; Procedure: Serum Collection; Procedure: Urine Collection; Drug: Capecitabine
CVinorelbine 25 mg/m2 days 1, 8, 15 of every 28-day cycle
Receives: Procedure: Biopsy; Procedure: Serum Collection; Procedure: Urine Collection; Drug: Vinorelbine
DGemcitabine 1000mg/m2 days 1, 8, 15 of every 28-day cycle
Receives: Procedure: Biopsy; Procedure: Serum Collection; Procedure: Urine Collection; Drug: Gemcitabine

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. To correlate tumor gene expression (genomic profile) with response to commonly used chemotherapies in patients with advanced breast cancer

    Measured: 36 months

Secondary outcomes (4)
  1. To correlate serum and tumor proteomic profiles with response to commonly used chemotherapies.

    Measured: 36 months

  2. To compare serum and tissue proteomic analyses.

    Measured: 36 months

  3. To compare genomic and proteomic profiles.

    Measured: 36 months

  4. To correlate toxicity and/or response with drug-specific pharmacogenomic parameters.

    Measured: 36 months

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted10 Oct 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study startSep 2005
  3. Primary completionDec 2010
  4. Study completionDec 2010

Why it stopped: Funding terminated

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Observational
Time perspective
Prospective
Enrolment
80 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00235235
Sponsor's protocol ID
HOG COE-01
Other IDs
Department of Defense BC030400
Status last verified
Dec 2015
First submitted
6 Oct 2005
Last updated
9 Dec 2015
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

An observational study of Breast Cancer, run by Hoosier Cancer Research Network at 11 sites in 2 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 8 inclusion and 4 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 9 Dec 2015. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 11 sites in United States, Peru. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

The study was stopped early (reason given: Funding terminated). Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

To correlate tumor gene expression (genomic profile) with response to commonly used chemotherapies in patients with advanced breast cancer (time frame: 36 months). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 9 Dec 2015.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in