AzTrials
AzTrials

Localized Resectable Adult Primary Liver CancerPhase 3NCT00238160

Surgery With or Without Hepatic Arterial Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Liver Cancer

A Phase 3 study testing cisplatin, fluorouracil and adjuvant therapy in people with Localized Resectable Adult Primary Liver Cancer and Stage III Childhood Liver Cancer, run by Kyoto University at 4 sites in Japan.

Withdrawn

Withdrawn. The study stopped before anyone enrolled.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as fluorouracil and cisplatin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving drugs directly into the arteries around the tumor may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Any age
What is being tested?
cisplatin, fluorouracil and adjuvant therapy
How many people
0 participants
Where
4 sitesJapan
Study dates
Start not givento not given
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Any age
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child, Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) with portal vein tumor thrombus
  • Tumor thrombus in the main trunk or first branch of the portal vein
  • No apparent distant metastases on chest CT scan and bone scintigraphy within the past 6 weeks
  • No pleural effusion or ascites

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • Not specified

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-1

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Neutrophil count > 1,000/mm^3
  • Platelet count > 50,000/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin > 8 g/dL

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin < 2 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • ALT and AST < 4 times ULN

Renal

  • Creatinine normal

Cardiovascular

  • No severe heart disease
  • No cardiac effusion

Other

  • No other malignant disease
  • No high risk for esophageal varices rupture
  • No allergy to fluorouracil or cisplatin

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • No prior hepatic arterial chemotherapy
  • No prior systemic chemotherapy for HCC

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • Not specified

Surgery

  • Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

4 sites in 1 country.

Japan4 sites
  • Kyoto Prefectural University of Medicine

    Kyoto, 602-8566

  • Kyoto City Hospital

    Kyoto, 604-8845

  • Kyoto University Hospital

    Kyoto, 606-8501

  • Kyoto-Katsura Hospital

    Kyoto, 615-8256

Other trials in Japan

About this study

Official title: Phase III Randomized Study of Surgical Resection With Versus Without Postoperative Hepatic Arterial Chemotherapy in Patients With Hepatocellular Carcinoma and Portal Vein Tumor Thrombus

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as fluorouracil and cisplatin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving drugs directly into the arteries around the tumor may kill more tumor cells. Giving chemotherapy after surgery may kill any remaining tumor cells. It is not yet known whether surgery and hepatic arterial chemotherapy are more effective than surgery alone in treating patients with liver cancer that has spread to the portal vein.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying surgery and hepatic arterial chemotherapy to see how well they work compared to surgery alone in treating patients with liver cancer that has spread to the portal vein.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare the efficacy of surgical resection with vs without postoperative hepatic arterial chemotherapy in patients with hepatocellular carcinoma and portal vein tumor thrombus.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to grade of portal invasion and Child-Pugh classification. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients undergo macroscopic curative resection. Within 28 days after surgery, patients without post-surgery complications undergo hepatic arterial infusion comprising fluorouracil and cisplatin on days 1-5, 8-12, and 15-19. Treatment continues for 6 months.
  • Arm II: Patients undergo macroscopic curative resection.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 100 patients (50 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study.

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted13 Oct 2005 (estimated)

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Enrolment
0 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00238160
Sponsor's protocol ID
KYUH-UHA-HCC02-01
Other IDs
CDR0000363800
Status last verified
Jul 2006
First submitted
12 Oct 2005
Last updated
30 May 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing cisplatin, fluorouracil and adjuvant therapy in people with Localized Resectable Adult Primary Liver Cancer and Stage III Childhood Liver Cancer, run by Kyoto University at 4 sites in Japan.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: withdrawn, as of the sponsor's last update on 30 May 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 4 sites in Japan. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study was withdrawn before enrolling participants, so there are no results.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 30 May 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in