AzTrials
AzTrials

Lung CancerPhase 2NCT00248495

Pemetrexed Disodium and Cisplatin in Treating Patients Who Are Undergoing Surgery for Stage I, Stage II, or Stage III Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

A Phase 2 study testing cisplatin, pemetrexed disodium and adjuvant therapy in people with Lung Cancer, run by Roswell Park Cancer Institute at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as pemetrexed disodium and cisplatin work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years
Conditions the study is for
Lung Cancer
What is being tested?
cisplatin, pemetrexed disodium and adjuvant therapy
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
38 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
8 Jun 2005to 5 Apr 2017
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Microscopically confirmed non-small cell lung cancer
  • Stage IB (T2, N0, M0), IIA (T1, N1, M0), IIB (T2, N1, M0 or T3, N0, M0), or IIIA (T1-3, N1-2, M0) disease
  • Satellite lesions in one lobe (T4) (stage IIIB) allowed
  • Meets 1 of the following criteria:
  • Measurable disease, defined as ≥ 1 unidimensionally measurable lesion ≥ 10 mm in the longest diameter
  • Evaluable disease, defined as lesions on chest CT scan that are not measurable (e.g., ill-defined masses or mediastinal or hilar adenopathy)
  • No metastatic disease except peribronchial/hilar lymph nodes (N1) or ipsilateral/subcarinal mediastinal lymph nodes (N2)
  • No N3 lymph nodes (e.g., contralateral mediastinal/hilar or supraclavicular/scalene) by CT scan or positron emission tomography (PET) scan AND mediastinoscopy
  • No T4 primary tumor (e.g., mediastinal invasion)
  • No malignant pleural effusion
  • Nonmalignant effusions (i.e., negative cytology, non-bloody, and transudate) allowed
  • Effusions visible only by CT scan and not large enough for safe thoracentesis allowed
  • No exudative effusion, defined by 1 of the following criteria:
  • Pleural fluid protein:serum protein ratio > 0.5
  • Pleural fluid lactic dehydrogenase (LDH):serum LDH ratio ≥ 0.6
  • Pleural fluid LDH > 200 IU/L
  • No more than 1 area of fludeoxyglucose (FDG) uptake outside the area of the primary lung tumor OR evidence of malignant pleural disease as evidenced by pleural nodules by PET scan
  • Single areas of FDG uptake will be further evaluated (e.g., by biopsy) for metastatic disease

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-1

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • WBC ≥ 3,000/mm^3
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm^3
  • Hemoglobin ≥ 9 g/dL

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin ≤ 1.5 mg/dL
  • SGOT or SGPT ≤ 1.5 times upper limit of normal

Renal

  • Creatinine clearance ≥ 45 mL/min

Other

  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for 3 months after completion of study treatment
  • No other active malignancy within the past 2 years except nonmelanoma skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
  • No psychological, familial, sociological, or geographical situation that would preclude study compliance

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • No prior chemotherapy for lung cancer

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • No prior radiotherapy for lung cancer

Surgery

  • No prior surgery for lung cancer
  • At least 12 weeks since prior major surgery to the chest and abdomen

Other

  • No concurrent aspirin or other nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs for ≥ 2 days before (5 days for drugs with a long half-life [e.g., naproxen, piraoxicam, difunisal, nabumetone, rofecoxib, or celecoxib] or 8 days for long acting agents), during, and for 2 days after completion of each pemetrexed disodium administration
  • No concurrent participation in another study involving chemotherapy or radiotherapy

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • Roswell Park Cancer Institute

    Buffalo, New York, 14263-0001

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Molecular and Genetic Changes in Patients With Resectable Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC) Following Neoadjuvant Chemotherapy With Cisplatin and Alimta - Phase II Study

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as pemetrexed disodium and cisplatin work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) and giving them before and after surgery may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: This phase II trial is studying how well giving pemetrexed disodium and cisplatin before and after surgery works in treating patients with stage I, stage II, or stage III non-small cell lung cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the pathologic complete response in patients with stage IB-IIIB non-small cell lung cancer treated with neoadjuvant chemotherapy comprising pemetrexed disodium and cisplatin followed by surgery and adjuvant pemetrexed disodium and cisplatin.

Secondary

  • Determine the adverse events of this regimen in these patients.
  • Determine the overall and disease-free survival of patients treated with this regimen.
  • Correlate response with the presence or absence of ERCC1 and DHFR, thymidylate synthase, DPD, and GARFT in patients treated with this regimen.
  • Correlate the fragile site on chromosome 12 within the SMRT gene with metastasis after definitive treatment with this regimen in these patients.

OUTLINE:

  • Neoadjuvant chemotherapy: Patients receive pemetrexed disodium IV over 10 minutes followed by cisplatin IV over approximately 1 hour on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 3 courses. Patients are then evaluated for disease resectability. Patients with no evidence of disease progression proceed to thoracotomy within the next 28-48 days.
  • Thoracotomy: Patients found to have unresectable disease during thoracotomy receive further treatment off study. Patients with resectable disease undergo complete surgical resection of the tumor. Forty to eighty days later, patients proceed to adjuvant chemotherapy.
  • Adjuvant chemotherapy: Patients receive pemetrexed disodium and cisplatin as before for 2 courses.

Patients with progressive disease after completion of neoadjuvant chemotherapy are followed every 6 months. All other patients are followed every 3 months for 2 years, every 6 months for 3 years, and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 38 patients will be accrued for this study over 6.5 years.

Conditions
Lung Cancer
Keywords
stage IIIA non-small cell lung cancer, stage IIIB non-small cell lung cancer, stage II non-small cell lung cancer, stage I non-small cell lung cancer
Medical subject headings
Lung Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00248495
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Neoadjuvant chemotherapyExperimentalPatients receive pemetrexed disodium IV over 10 minutes followed by cisplatin IV over approximately 1 hour on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 3 courses
Receives: Drug: cisplatin; Drug: pemetrexed disodium; Procedure: adjuvant therapy; Procedure: conventional surgery; Procedure: neoadjuvant therapy

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Pathologically Complete Response

    Pathologic Complete Response is defined by a surgical pathology specimen, which is free of all gross and microscopic evidence of viable tumor.

    Measured: 1 year

Secondary outcomes (5)
  1. Number of Participants With Adverse Events

    Frequency of Adverse Events, Graded According to NCI CTCAE v3.0. Please refer to the adverse event reporting for more detail.

    Measured: 1 year

  2. Overall Survival

    Overall survival was defined as time from date of treatment initiation until date of death due to any cause.

    Measured: Every 6 months until the time of death up to 126 months

  3. Disease Free Survival

    Progressive disease is defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions or the appearance of new lesions. Disease Free Survival was defined as time from date of treatment initiation until date of first documented progression or date of death from any cause, whichever came first.

    Measured: At least every 3 months after the completion of adjuvant therapy for two years and thereafter every 6 months for 3 years and then yearly up to 126 months

  4. Correlation Between Response and Markers Such as Presence or Absence of ERCC1 and DHFR, TS, DPD and GARFT

    Measured: 1 year

  5. Percent Change in SUV Level Between Pre and Post Chemotherapy

    Percent change of PET/SUV levels between baseline and post-chemotherapy.

    Measured: Baseline and post-chemotherapy

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted4 Nov 2005 (estimated)
  2. Study start8 Jun 2005
  3. Primary completion29 Apr 2011
  4. Study completion5 Apr 2017

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
38 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00248495
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000441025
Other IDs
RPCI I-31104
Status last verified
Jun 2017
First submitted
3 Nov 2005
Last updated
12 Jul 2017
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing cisplatin, pemetrexed disodium and adjuvant therapy in people with Lung Cancer, run by Roswell Park Cancer Institute at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 12 Jul 2017. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 19 May 2017). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Pathologically Complete Response (time frame: 1 year). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 12 Jul 2017.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in