AzTrials
AzTrials

NeuroblastomaNCT00287950

Combination Chemotherapy, Surgery, and Radiation Therapy in Treating Infants With Neuroblastoma

A study testing carboplatin, cisplatin and cyclophosphamide in people with Neuroblastoma, run by Children's Cancer and Leukaemia Group at 22 sites in 2 countries.

Unknown status

Status not confirmed. The sponsor has not verified this record for over two years, so it may be out of date.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages Up to 1 year
Conditions the study is for
Neuroblastoma
What is being tested?
carboplatin, cisplatin and cyclophosphamide
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
120 participants
Where
22 sitesin 2 countries
Study dates
Sep 1992to not given
Phase
Interventional
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Up to 1 year
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed newly diagnosed neuroblastoma
  • Any stage disease
  • No previously treated disease
  • Must be diagnosed before the first birthday
  • Must be able to start treatment before reaching 13 months of age

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Not specified

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • Not specified

Trial locations and contacts

22 sites in 2 countries.

22 sites in 2 countries

United Kingdom21 sites
  • Royal Aberdeen Children's Hospital

    Aberdeen, Scotland, AB25 2ZG

  • Royal Belfast Hospital for Sick Children

    Belfast, Northern Ireland, BT12 6BE

  • Birmingham Children's Hospital

    Birmingham, England, B4 6NH

  • Institute of Child Health at University of Bristol

    Bristol, England, BS2 8AE

  • Addenbrooke's Hospital at Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

    Cambridge, England, CB2 2QQ

  • Childrens Hospital for Wales

    Cardiff, Wales, CF14 4XW

  • Royal Hospital for Sick Children

    Edinburgh, Scotland, EH9 1LF

  • Royal Hospital for Sick Children

    Glasgow, Scotland, G3 8SJ

  • Leeds Cancer Centre at St. James's University Hospital

    Leeds, England, LS9 7TF

  • Leicester Royal Infirmary

    Leicester, England, LE1 5WW

  • Royal Liverpool Children's Hospital, Alder Hey

    Liverpool, England, L12 2AP

  • Royal London Hospital

    London, England, E1 1BB

  • Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children NHS Trust

    London, England, WC1N 3JH

  • Meyerstein Institute of Oncology at University College of London Hospitals

    London, England, WIT 3AA

  • Central Manchester and Manchester Children's University Hospitals NHS Trust

    Manchester, England, M27 4HA

  • Sir James Spence Institute of Child Health

    Newcastle upon Tyne, England, NE1 4LP

  • Queen's Medical Centre

    Nottingham, England, NG7 2UH

  • Oxford Radcliffe Hospital

    Oxford, England, 0X3 9DU

  • Children's Hospital - Sheffield

    Sheffield, England, S10 2TH

  • Southampton General Hospital

    Southampton, England, SO16 6YD

  • Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust - Surrey

    Sutton, England, SM2 5PT

Other trials in United Kingdom

Ireland1 site
  • Our Lady's Hospital for Sick Children

    Dublin, 12

Other trials in Ireland

About this study

Official title: Protocol for Infants With Neuroblastoma Diagnosed Under the Age of One Year

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Giving combination chemotherapy before surgery may make the tumor smaller and reduce the amount of normal tissue that needs to be removed. Giving chemotherapy and radiation therapy after surgery may kill any tumor cells that remain after surgery. Sometimes, the tumor may not need any treatment until it progresses. In this case, observation may be sufficient.

PURPOSE: This clinical trial is studying how well giving combination chemotherapy together with surgery and radiation therapy works in treating infants with neuroblastoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Register all children < 12 months of age diagnosed with neuroblastoma.
  • Evaluate possible prognostic factors in these patients with particular reference to the collection of biological material.
  • Correlate outcome with factors other than stage in these patients.
  • Determine criteria to modify treatment for some children with advanced disease without impairing survival.

OUTLINE: This is a nonrandomized, multicenter study. Patients are assigned to 1 of 4 treatment groups according to disease stage.

  • Group 1 (stage 1, 2A, or 2B disease): Patients undergo surgical resection of the tumor. Patients with paraspinal tumors may receive chemotherapy* to shrink the tumor before undergoing surgery. Patients with local recurrence after surgery proceed to treatment as in group 3. Patients with metastatic recurrence after surgery proceed to treatment as in group 4.
  • Group 2 (stage 4S disease): Patients undergo observation only. Patients with hepatomegaly or progressive disease may receive chemotherapy*. Patients who do not respond to chemotherapy may undergo up to 4 courses of radiotherapy.
  • Group 3 (stage 3 disease): Patients receive OPEC chemotherapy comprising vincristine IV and cyclophosphamide IV on day 1, cisplatin IV continuously over 24 hours on day 1, and etoposide IV over 4 hours on day 3 during courses 1, 3, and 5. Patients receive OJEC chemotherapy comprising vincristine IV, cyclophosphamide IV, etoposide IV over 4 hours, and carboplatin IV over 1 hour on day 1 during courses 2, 4, and 6. Courses repeat every 3 weeks with alternating OPEC and OJEC chemotherapy for 6 courses. Patients with residual disease then receive 4 additional courses of alternating OPEC and OJEC chemotherapy. Patients whose tumor becomes resectable after either 6 or 10 courses of chemotherapy undergo surgery. Patients with residual disease after 10 courses of chemotherapy are assessed by regular scans. Patients with disease progression on scans undergo radiotherapy. Patients with ganglioneuroma or total necrosis only with no evidence of neuroblastoma after either 6 or 10 courses of chemotherapy receive no further treatment.
  • Group 4 (stage 4 disease): Patients receive alternating courses of OPEC and OJEC for 6 courses as in group 3. Patients who do not achieve metastatic complete response (CR) receive 4 additional courses of alternating OPEC and OJEC chemotherapy. Patients achieving metastatic CR after either 6 or 10 courses of chemotherapy undergo surgery to remove the tumor. Patients with macroscopic residual disease on resected specimen receive 4 additional courses of alternating OPEC and OJEC chemotherapy and then undergo biopsy. Patients with residual disease on biopsy are assessed by regular scans. Patients with disease progression on scans undergo radiotherapy. Patients with ganglioneuroma or total necrosis only after surgery with or without the 4 additional courses of chemotherapy receive no further treatment.

NOTE: * OJEC chemotherapy with a lower dose of carboplatin

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed periodically.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 120 patients will be accrued for this study.

Conditions
Neuroblastoma
Keywords
disseminated neuroblastoma, localized resectable neuroblastoma, localized unresectable neuroblastoma, regional neuroblastoma, stage 4S neuroblastoma
Medical subject headings
Neuroblastoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted7 Feb 2006 (estimated)
  2. Study startSep 1992

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase N/A
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomised
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
120 participants (estimated)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00287950
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000454726
Other IDs
CCLG-1992-05, EU-20593, CCLG-9205
Status last verified
Dec 2006
First submitted
6 Feb 2006
Last updated
17 Sep 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A study testing carboplatin, cisplatin and cyclophosphamide in people with Neuroblastoma, run by Children's Cancer and Leukaemia Group at 22 sites in 2 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 17 Sep 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 22 sites in United Kingdom, Ireland. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 17 Sep 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in