AzTrials
AzTrials

RetinoblastomaNCT00360750

Chemotherapy With or Without Radiation Therapy or Observation in Treating Young Patients With Advanced Retinoblastoma Who Have Undergone Surgery to Remove the Eye

A study testing carboplatin, cytarabine and etoposide in people with Retinoblastoma, run by Children's Cancer and Leukaemia Group at 13 sites in United Kingdom.

Unknown status

Status not confirmed. The sponsor has not verified this record for over two years, so it may be out of date.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as carboplatin, vincristine, etoposide, and cytarabine, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages Up to 15 years
Conditions the study is for
Retinoblastoma
What is being tested?
carboplatin, cytarabine and etoposide
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
Not given
Where
13 sitesUnited Kingdom
Study dates
Sep 2005to Jul 2010
Phase
Interventional
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages Up to 15 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Child

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed unilateral retinoblastoma
  • Prior primary enucleation required
  • No metastatic spread

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Not specified

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior chemotherapy
  • No concurrent steroids as antiemetic agents

Trial locations and contacts

13 sites in 1 country.

13 sites in 1 country

United Kingdom13 sites
  • Royal Belfast Hospital for Sick Children

    Belfast, Northern Ireland, BT12 6BE

  • Birmingham Children's Hospital

    Birmingham, England, B4 6NH

  • Institute of Child Health at University of Bristol

    Bristol, England, BS2 8AE

  • Addenbrooke's Hospital

    Cambridge, England, CB2 2QQ

  • Royal Hospital for Sick Children

    Edinburgh, Scotland, EH9 1LF

  • Royal Hospital for Sick Children

    Glasgow, Scotland, G3 8SJ

  • Leeds Cancer Centre at St. James's University Hospital

    Leeds, England, LS9 7TF

  • Leicester Royal Infirmary

    Leicester, England, LE1 5WW

  • Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children

    London, England, WC1N 3JH

  • Royal Manchester Children's Hospital

    Manchester, England, M27 4HA

  • Queen's Medical Centre

    Nottingham, England, NG7 2UH

  • Children's Hospital - Sheffield

    Sheffield, England, S10 2TH

  • Southampton General Hospital

    Southampton, England, SO16 6YD

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: A Data Collection Study to Compare the Outcome for Children With Advanced Unilateral Retinoblastoma Treated With or Without Post-Enucleation Chemotherapy ± Radiotherapy on RB 2005 11 With Historical Controls Receiving no Additional Therapy

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as carboplatin, vincristine, etoposide, and cytarabine, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Giving chemotherapy with or without radiation therapy after surgery may kill any tumor cells that remain after surgery. Sometimes, after surgery, the tumor does not need more treatment until it progresses. In this case, observation may be sufficient.

PURPOSE: This clinical trial is studying how well chemotherapy with or without radiation therapy or observation works in treating young patients with advanced retinoblastoma who have undergone surgery to remove the eye.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare outcome data in children with advanced unilateral retinoblastoma with historical controls in order to determine whether post-enucleation chemotherapy with or without radiotherapy improves outcome.
  • Determine the disease-free and overall survival of children with unilateral retinoblastoma with no adverse histological features who undergo observation after enucleation.
  • Determine the toxicity of these regimens in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a nonrandomized study. Patients are assigned to 1 of 3 treatment groups according to histological features.

  • Group 1 (no adverse histological features): Patients are observed and monitored for the development of orbital recurrence and metastatic disease.
  • Group 2a (deep choroidal invasion and/or retrolaminar invasion of the optic nerve and disease in the anterior chamber): Patients receive carboplatin IV over 1 hour, vincristine IV, and etoposide IV over 4 hours on day 1, and, if necessary, intrathecal cytarabine on day 2. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 4 courses.
  • Group 2b (invasion of the cut end of the optic nerve): Patients receive carboplatin IV over 1 hour, vincristine IV, and etoposide IV over 4 hours on day 1, and, if necessary, intrathecal cytarabine on day 2. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 6 courses. Patients also undergo orbital radiotherapy 5 days a week for 4 weeks.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed periodically for up to 10 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: Not specified

Conditions
Retinoblastoma
Being tested
carboplatin, cytarabine, etoposide, vincristine sulfate, clinical observation
Keywords
intraocular retinoblastoma, extraocular retinoblastoma
Medical subject headings
Retinoblastoma

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Outcome data compared to historical controls

  2. Disease-free and overall survival in children undergoing observation after enucleation

  3. Toxicity

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted7 Aug 2006 (estimated)
  2. Study startSep 2005
  3. Primary completionJul 2010 (estimated)

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase N/A
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomised
Masking
None (open label)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00360750
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000481598
Other IDs
CCLG-RB-2005-11, EU-20616, EUDRACT-2004-001367-21
Status last verified
Jun 2009
First submitted
3 Aug 2006
Last updated
17 Sep 2013
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A study testing carboplatin, cytarabine and etoposide in people with Retinoblastoma, run by Children's Cancer and Leukaemia Group at 13 sites in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 17 Sep 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 13 sites in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Outcome data compared to historical controls. The study lists 3 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 17 Sep 2013.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in