NeuroblastomaPhase 3NCT00416676
Combination Chemotherapy and Surgery With or Without Radiation Therapy in Treating Patients With Stage 2 or Stage 3 Neuroblastoma
A Phase 3 study testing carboplatin, cisplatin and cyclophosphamide in people with Neuroblastoma, run by Children's Cancer and Leukaemia Group.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as vincristine, cyclophosphamide, cisplatin, etoposide, and carboplatin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 1 year and older
- Conditions the study is for
- Neuroblastoma
- What is being tested?
- carboplatin, cisplatin and cyclophosphamide
- Type of treatment
- Surgery or procedure
- How many people
- 30 participants
- Where
- No sites listed yet
- Study dates
- Start not givento not given
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 1 year and older
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Child, Adult, Older adult
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Histologically confirmed neuroblastoma
- Stage 2B or 3 disease
- Must be able to undergo radical radiotherapy
- Radiotherapy contra-indicated if disease site is near a critical organ (e.g., mass overlying a single functioning kidney or the size of the residual tumor after chemotherapy precludes delivery of the specified radiation dose)
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
- Not specified
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
- No prior chemotherapy or radiotherapy
About this study
Official title: UKCCSG Stage IIB/3 (INSS) Neuroblastoma Pilot Study [ENSG VI (Pilot 2B/3)]
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as vincristine, cyclophosphamide, cisplatin, etoposide, and carboplatin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Giving combination chemotherapy before surgery may make the tumor smaller and reduce the amount of normal tissue that needs to be removed. Giving combination chemotherapy and radiation therapy after surgery may kill any tumor cells that remain after surgery.
PURPOSE: This phase III trial is studying how well giving combination chemotherapy and surgery with or without radiation therapy works in treating patients with stage 2 or stage 3 neuroblastoma.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Determine the acute and late toxicity of local radiotherapy when given after vincristine, cisplatin, etoposide, and cyclophosphamide (OPEC) alternating with vincristine, carboplatin, etoposide, and cyclophosphamide (OJEC) chemotherapy and surgery and followed by further chemotherapy in patients with stage 2B or 3 neuroblastoma.
- Determine the response in patients treated with alternating OPEC and OJEC chemotherapy before and after surgery.
- Determine the local control and event-free and overall survival of patients who achieve a complete response after chemotherapy and surgery alone.
- Determine the local control and event-free and overall survival of patients who do not achieve a complete response after chemotherapy and surgery and subsequently receive local radiotherapy.
- Determine clinical and biological prognostic factors for patients with stage 2B or 3 neuroblastoma when treated with this approach.
OUTLINE: This is a pilot, multicenter study.
Patients receive OPEC chemotherapy comprising vincristine IV and cyclophosphamide IV on day 1, cisplatin IV continuously over 24 hours on day 1, and etoposide IV over 4 hours on day 3 during courses 1, 3, and 5. Patients receive OJEC chemotherapy comprising vincristine IV, cyclophosphamide IV, etoposide IV over 4 hours, and carboplatin IV over 1 hour on day 1 during courses 2 and 4. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 5 courses. After 5 courses, patients with resectable disease undergo surgical resection. Patients who achieve a complete response (CR), either after surgery or after 5 courses of chemotherapy alone (where surgery is not possible), receive 2 additional courses of chemotherapy (OPEC followed by OJEC). Patients who do not achieve a CR undergo radiotherapy for 3 weeks. During the first week of radiotherapy, these patients also receive vincristine IV on day 1 and etoposide IV over 4 hours on days 1 and 2. Beginning 3 weeks after the completion of radiotherapy, these patients receive 2 additional courses of chemotherapy (OPEC followed by OJEC).
After completion of study treatment, patients are followed periodically for 3 years and then annually thereafter.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 30 patients will be accrued for this study.
- Conditions
- Neuroblastoma
- Being tested
- carboplatin, cisplatin, cyclophosphamide, etoposide, vincristine sulfate
- Keywords
- localized resectable neuroblastoma, localized unresectable neuroblastoma, regional neuroblastoma
- Medical subject headings
- Neuroblastoma
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
carboplatinDrug
cisplatinDrug
cyclophosphamideDrug
etoposideDrug
adjuvant therapyProcedure or surgery
conventional surgeryProcedure or surgery
neoadjuvant therapyProcedure or surgery
radiation therapyRadiation
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted28 Dec 2006 (estimated)
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for NeuroblastomaStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 30 participants (estimated)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Children's Cancer and Leukaemia Group
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Investigators
- Ann Barrett, Study chair, University of Glasgow
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00416676
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- CCLG-NB-1993-01
- Other IDs
- CDR0000454571, EU-20594
- Status last verified
- Dec 2006
- First submitted
- 27 Dec 2006
- Last updated
- 2 Aug 2013
- Results posted
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 2 Aug 2013. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- UKCCSG Stage IIB/3 (INSS) Neuroblastoma Pilot Study [ENSG VI (Pilot 2B/3)]
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00416676
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- CCLG-NB-1993-01
- Conditions
- Neuroblastoma
- Keywords
- localized resectable neuroblastoma, localized unresectable neuroblastoma, regional neuroblastoma
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Unknown status
- Enrolment
- 30 participants (estimated)
- Lead sponsor
- Children's Cancer and Leukaemia GroupUniversity, hospital or other
- First posted
- 28 Dec 2006 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as vincristine, cyclophosphamide, cisplatin, etoposide, and carboplatin, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to kill tumor cells. Giving combination chemotherapy before surgery may make the tumor smaller and reduce the amount of normal tissue that needs to be removed. Giving combination chemotherapy and radiation therapy after surgery may kill any tumor cells that remain after surgery.
PURPOSE: This phase III trial is studying how well giving combination chemotherapy and surgery with or without radiation therapy works in treating patients with stage 2 or stage 3 neuroblastoma.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
- Determine the acute and late toxicity of local radiotherapy when given after vincristine, cisplatin, etoposide, and cyclophosphamide (OPEC) alternating with vincristine, carboplatin, etoposide, and cyclophosphamide (OJEC) chemotherapy and surgery and followed by further chemotherapy in patients with stage 2B or 3 neuroblastoma.
- Determine the response in patients treated with alternating OPEC and OJEC chemotherapy before and after surgery.
- Determine the local control and event-free and overall survival of patients who achieve a complete response after chemotherapy and surgery alone.
- Determine the local control and event-free and overall survival of patients who do not achieve a complete response after chemotherapy and surgery and subsequently receive local radiotherapy.
- Determine clinical and biological prognostic factors for patients with stage 2B or 3 neuroblastoma when treated with this approach.
OUTLINE: This is a pilot, multicenter study.
Patients receive OPEC chemotherapy comprising vincristine IV and cyclophosphamide IV on day 1, cisplatin IV continuously over 24 hours on day 1, and etoposide IV over 4 hours on day 3 during courses 1, 3, and 5. Patients receive OJEC chemotherapy comprising vincristine IV, cyclophosphamide IV, etoposide IV over 4 hours, and carboplatin IV over 1 hour on day 1 during courses 2 and 4. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 5 courses. After 5 courses, patients with resectable disease undergo surgical resection. Patients who achieve a complete response (CR), either after surgery or after 5 courses of chemotherapy alone (where surgery is not possible), receive 2 additional courses of chemotherapy (OPEC followed by OJEC). Patients who do not achieve a CR undergo radiotherapy for 3 weeks. During the first week of radiotherapy, these patients also receive vincristine IV on day 1 and etoposide IV over 4 hours on days 1 and 2. Beginning 3 weeks after the completion of radiotherapy, these patients receive 2 additional courses of chemotherapy (OPEC followed by OJEC).
After completion of study treatment, patients are followed periodically for 3 years and then annually thereafter.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 30 patients will be accrued for this study.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Masking
- None (open label)
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 1 year and older
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Child, Adult, Older adult
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| carboplatin | Drug | – |
| cisplatin | Drug | – |
| cyclophosphamide | Drug | – |
| etoposide | Drug | – |
| vincristine sulfate | Drug | – |
| adjuvant therapy | Procedure or surgery | – |
| conventional surgery | Procedure or surgery | – |
| neoadjuvant therapy | Procedure or surgery | – |
| radiation therapy | Radiation | – |
Primary outcome
Not reported in the source record.
Results and safety
Results are not available in the source record.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 2 Aug 2013.
Related trials for Neuroblastoma
RecruitingPhase 1/2
Testing the Addition of Iberdomide to Therapy in People With Neuroblastoma That Has Come Back, Not Responded to Treatment, or Gotten Worse
Recurrent Ganglioneuroblastoma, Recurrent Neuroblastoma
Active, not recruitingObservational study
Genomic Structural Variation in Cancer Susceptibility
Breast Cancer, Colon Cancer
RecruitingPhase 2
Enasidenib in IDH2-Mutated Malignant Sinonasal and Skull Base Tumors
Metastatic Chondrosarcoma, Locally Advanced Chondrosarcoma
RecruitingObservational study
Prospective Comprehensive Molecular Analysis of Endocrine Neoplasms
Endocrine Tumors, Thyroid Neoplasms
RecruitingPhase 1
PEACH TRIAL- Precision Medicine and Adoptive Cellular Therapy
Neuroblastoma, Diffuse Intrinsic Pontine Glioma
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Ann Barrett study chair
University of Glasgow
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 3 study testing carboplatin, cisplatin and cyclophosphamide in people with Neuroblastoma, run by Children's Cancer and Leukaemia Group.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 2 Aug 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
Results are not available in the source record.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 2 Aug 2013.