NeuroblastomaPhase 3NCT00417053
Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Infants With Newly Diagnosed Neuroblastoma Who Are Undergoing Surgery With or Without Autologous Bone Marrow or Peripheral Stem Cell Transplant
A Phase 3 study testing filgrastim, busulfan and carboplatin in people with Neuroblastoma, run by Children's Cancer and Leukaemia Group.
Trial summary
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more tumor cells. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages Up to 1 year
- Conditions the study is for
- Neuroblastoma
- What is being tested?
- filgrastim, busulfan and carboplatin
- Type of treatment
- Surgery or procedure
- How many people
- Not given
- Where
- No sites listed yet
- Study dates
- Start not givento not given
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages Up to 1 year
- All sexes
- No healthy volunteers
- Child
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
- Histologically confirmed neuroblastoma or ganglioblastoma
- Newly diagnosed disease
- MYCN status known
- Patients are assigned to different study treatment regimens* according to the following disease criteria:
- Regimen NB 99.1
- Localized unresectable tumor
- If open surgery is considered too hazardous due to the site of the tumor or condition of the infant, then cytological confirmation is allowed, provided adequate material is obtained for study procedures
- No MYCN amplification (i.e., < 10 copies)
- No metastatic deposits in the bone marrow
- No MIBG or technetium uptake or radiological bone lesions in the skeleton
- No liver disease by ultrasound
- Regimen NB 99.2
- Stage 4 or 4S with metastases confined to the skin, marrow, nodes, or liver
- No bone involvement by radiographs
- No pleural or lung involvement
- No CNS involvement
- No MYCN amplification (i.e., < 10 copies)
- Regimen NB 99.3
- Stage 4 disease, metastases must meet ≥ 1 of the following criteria:
- Skeletal bone metastases by plain x-ray or CT scan
- Pleural or lung metastases
- CNS involvement
- No MYCN amplification (i.e., < 10 copies)
- Regimen NB 99.4
- Stage 2-4 disease
- MYCN amplification (i.e., ≥ 10 copies) NOTE: *Patients with stage 1 or resectable stage 2 disease with no MYCN amplification ( i.e., < 10 copies) are not eligible for a study treatment regimen but may be enrolled on the study for observation only
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
- Not specified
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
- No prior therapy
About this study
Official title: European Infant Neuroblastoma Study Final Protocol
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more tumor cells. Giving combination chemotherapy before surgery may make the tumor smaller and reduce the amount of normal tissue that needs to be removed. Sometimes, after surgery, the tumor may not need more treatment until it progresses. In this case, observation may be sufficient. It is not yet known which combination chemotherapy regimen given together with surgery, with or without autologous bone marrow or peripheral stem cell transplant, is more effective in treating newly diagnosed neuroblastoma.
PURPOSE: This phase III trial is studying combination chemotherapy to see which regimen given together with surgery, with or without autologous bone marrow or peripheral stem cell transplant, works in treating infants with newly diagnosed neuroblastoma.
Read the detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
Primary
- Determine the outcome, in terms of survival and morbidity, in infants with localized, unresectable, non-MYCN-amplified neuroblastoma treated with reduced-intensity chemotherapy.
- Determine the survival of infants with stage 4S neuroblastoma, no MYCN amplification, and no bone, CNS, or pleural/lung metastases treated with short-course intensive chemotherapy.
- Determine the survival of infants with stage 4S neuroblastoma, no MYCN amplification, and bone, CNS, or pleural/lung metastases not treated with intensive high-dose chemotherapy consolidation.
- Determine the survival of infants with any stage (except stage 1) neuroblastoma and MYCN amplification treated with intensive consolidation high-dose chemotherapy followed by autologous bone marrow or stem cell support.
Secondary
- Correlate outcome with factors other than stage and MYCN status in infants with neuroblastoma.
- Define the behavior of neuroblastoma in infants treated with these regimens.
- Determine prognostic criteria in infants treated with these regimens.
- Determine whether deletion of chromosome 1p or diploidy/tetraploidy are prognostic factors in infants who do not have other adverse features, such as MYCN amplification.
OUTLINE: This is a nonrandomized, multicenter study. Patients are assigned to 1 of 4 treatment regimens according to disease criteria. Patients who are not eligible for any of these regimens (stage 1 or resectable stage 2 disease) undergo surgical resection followed by observation.
- Regimen NB 99.1 (unresectable stage 2 or 3): Patients are treated according to spinal cord involvement and presence of neurological symptoms.
- Group I (no evidence of spinal cord involvement):
- CO therapy: Patients receive cyclophosphamide IV on days 1-5 and vincristine IV on day 1. Treatment repeats every 14 days for up to 4 courses in the absence of disease progression. Resectability is assessed after every 2 courses of chemotherapy; if tumor is resectable, then patients undergo surgery followed by observation only. If, after 4 courses of CO, the tumor is still not resectable or disease has progressed, then patients proceed to VP-CARBO therapy.
- VP-CARBO therapy: Patients receive carboplatin IV over 1 hour and etoposide phosphate IV over 2 hours on days 1-3. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 2 courses. If the tumor is then deemed resectable, the patient undergoes surgery. If the tumor is not resectable or disease has progressed, then patients proceed to CADO therapy.
- CADO therapy: Patients receive cyclophosphamide IV over 1 hour on days 1-5, doxorubicin hydrochloride IV over 6 hours on days 4 and 5, and vincristine IV on days 1 and 5. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 2 courses. Patients then proceed to resection or biopsy.
- Group II (dumbbell tumors, spinal cord compression symptoms or life-threatening symptoms [e.g., respiratory obstruction]): Patients receive 2 courses of VP-CARBO therapy. Patients who achieve a response proceed to surgery or biopsy if the extraspinal portion is resectable. Patients with nonresponding disease or an unresectable extraspinal portion of the tumor receive 2 courses of CADO therapy and then undergo surgery or biopsy. Patients with dumbbell tumors but no spinal cord compression symptoms are treated as in group I.
- Regimen NB 99.2 (stage 4S or stage 4 without bone, pleura/lung, or CNS metastases and no MYCN amplification): Patients who do not have severe or life-threatening symptoms are observed for spontaneous regression of disease. Patients with severe symptoms receive 1 course of VP-CARBO therapy. Patients with a Philadelphia score ≥ 2 (or ≥ 1 for neonates [< 1 month old]) receive a second course of VP-CARBO therapy. If disease does not respond to 2 courses of VP-CARBO therapy, patients receive up to 4 courses of CADO therapy. Treatment ceases after response is obtained. Surgery is allowed but not required.
- Regimen NB 99.3 (skeletal bone, pleural, and/or CNS metastases, no MYCN amplification): Patients receive 2 courses of VP-CARBO therapy. Patients with responding disease receive 2 more courses and then proceed to surgery (if possible). Patients with disease progression or no response after the first 2 courses of VP-CARBO therapy and patients who do not experience metastatic complete response (CR) after 4 courses of VP-CARBO therapy receive up to 4 courses of CADO therapy. Patients proceed to surgery, if possible, after 2-4 courses of CADO therapy.
- Regimen NB 99.4 (stages 2-4 disease with MYCN amplification): Patients receive 2 courses of VP-CARBO therapy followed by 2 courses of CADO therapy and then surgery (if not already performed). Patients receive filgrastim (G-CSF) subcutaneously for 5 days between the second course of CADO therapy and surgery. Patients also undergo collection of their bone marrow or peripheral blood stem cells (PBSC). Patients who undergo surgery receive 1 course of VP-CARBO therapy followed by 1 course of CADO therapy postsurgery. At least 3 weeks after the third course of CADO therapy, patients receive high-dose chemotherapy comprising busulfan every 6 hours on days -7 to -3 and melphalan IV on day -2 followed by autologous bone marrow or PBSC infusion on day 0. At least 2 months later, patients undergo radiotherapy to the primary tumor site, even if complete surgical resection has been accomplished. Patients with stage 4 disease who do not achieve metastatic CR after chemotherapy (before surgery) go off study.
After completion of study treatment, patients are followed periodically.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 330 patients will be accrued for this study.
- Conditions
- Neuroblastoma
- Being tested
- filgrastim, busulfan, carboplatin, cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin hydrochloride
- Keywords
- disseminated neuroblastoma, localized resectable neuroblastoma, localized unresectable neuroblastoma, regional neuroblastoma, stage 4S neuroblastoma
- Medical subject headings
- Neuroblastoma
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
filgrastimBiological
busulfanDrug
carboplatinDrug
cyclophosphamideDrug
etoposide phosphateDrug
melphalanDrug
autologous bone marrow transplantationProcedure or surgery
bone marrow ablation with stem cell supportProcedure or surgery
conventional surgeryProcedure or surgery
peripheral blood stem cell transplantationProcedure or surgery
radiation therapyRadiation
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted28 Dec 2006 (estimated)
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for NeuroblastomaStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Non-randomised
- Masking
- None (open label)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- Children's Cancer and Leukaemia Group
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Investigators
- Mary P. Gerrard, MBChB, FRCP, FRCPCH, Study chair, Children's Hospital - Sheffield
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00417053
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- CCLG-NB-1999-03
- Other IDs
- CDR0000454507, EU-20597
- Status last verified
- Dec 2006
- First submitted
- 27 Dec 2006
- Last updated
- 2 Aug 2013
- Results posted
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 2 Aug 2013. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- European Infant Neuroblastoma Study Final Protocol
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00417053
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- CCLG-NB-1999-03
- Conditions
- Neuroblastoma
- Keywords
- disseminated neuroblastoma, localized resectable neuroblastoma, localized unresectable neuroblastoma, regional neuroblastoma, stage 4S neuroblastoma
- Phase
- Phase 3
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Unknown status
- Lead sponsor
- Children's Cancer and Leukaemia GroupUniversity, hospital or other
- First posted
- 28 Dec 2006 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more tumor cells. Giving combination chemotherapy before surgery may make the tumor smaller and reduce the amount of normal tissue that needs to be removed. Sometimes, after surgery, the tumor may not need more treatment until it progresses. In this case, observation may be sufficient. It is not yet known which combination chemotherapy regimen given together with surgery, with or without autologous bone marrow or peripheral stem cell transplant, is more effective in treating newly diagnosed neuroblastoma.
PURPOSE: This phase III trial is studying combination chemotherapy to see which regimen given together with surgery, with or without autologous bone marrow or peripheral stem cell transplant, works in treating infants with newly diagnosed neuroblastoma.
Detailed description
OBJECTIVES:
Primary
- Determine the outcome, in terms of survival and morbidity, in infants with localized, unresectable, non-MYCN-amplified neuroblastoma treated with reduced-intensity chemotherapy.
- Determine the survival of infants with stage 4S neuroblastoma, no MYCN amplification, and no bone, CNS, or pleural/lung metastases treated with short-course intensive chemotherapy.
- Determine the survival of infants with stage 4S neuroblastoma, no MYCN amplification, and bone, CNS, or pleural/lung metastases not treated with intensive high-dose chemotherapy consolidation.
- Determine the survival of infants with any stage (except stage 1) neuroblastoma and MYCN amplification treated with intensive consolidation high-dose chemotherapy followed by autologous bone marrow or stem cell support.
Secondary
- Correlate outcome with factors other than stage and MYCN status in infants with neuroblastoma.
- Define the behavior of neuroblastoma in infants treated with these regimens.
- Determine prognostic criteria in infants treated with these regimens.
- Determine whether deletion of chromosome 1p or diploidy/tetraploidy are prognostic factors in infants who do not have other adverse features, such as MYCN amplification.
OUTLINE: This is a nonrandomized, multicenter study. Patients are assigned to 1 of 4 treatment regimens according to disease criteria. Patients who are not eligible for any of these regimens (stage 1 or resectable stage 2 disease) undergo surgical resection followed by observation.
- Regimen NB 99.1 (unresectable stage 2 or 3): Patients are treated according to spinal cord involvement and presence of neurological symptoms.
- Group I (no evidence of spinal cord involvement):
- CO therapy: Patients receive cyclophosphamide IV on days 1-5 and vincristine IV on day 1. Treatment repeats every 14 days for up to 4 courses in the absence of disease progression. Resectability is assessed after every 2 courses of chemotherapy; if tumor is resectable, then patients undergo surgery followed by observation only. If, after 4 courses of CO, the tumor is still not resectable or disease has progressed, then patients proceed to VP-CARBO therapy.
- VP-CARBO therapy: Patients receive carboplatin IV over 1 hour and etoposide phosphate IV over 2 hours on days 1-3. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 2 courses. If the tumor is then deemed resectable, the patient undergoes surgery. If the tumor is not resectable or disease has progressed, then patients proceed to CADO therapy.
- CADO therapy: Patients receive cyclophosphamide IV over 1 hour on days 1-5, doxorubicin hydrochloride IV over 6 hours on days 4 and 5, and vincristine IV on days 1 and 5. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 2 courses. Patients then proceed to resection or biopsy.
- Group II (dumbbell tumors, spinal cord compression symptoms or life-threatening symptoms [e.g., respiratory obstruction]): Patients receive 2 courses of VP-CARBO therapy. Patients who achieve a response proceed to surgery or biopsy if the extraspinal portion is resectable. Patients with nonresponding disease or an unresectable extraspinal portion of the tumor receive 2 courses of CADO therapy and then undergo surgery or biopsy. Patients with dumbbell tumors but no spinal cord compression symptoms are treated as in group I.
- Regimen NB 99.2 (stage 4S or stage 4 without bone, pleura/lung, or CNS metastases and no MYCN amplification): Patients who do not have severe or life-threatening symptoms are observed for spontaneous regression of disease. Patients with severe symptoms receive 1 course of VP-CARBO therapy. Patients with a Philadelphia score ≥ 2 (or ≥ 1 for neonates [< 1 month old]) receive a second course of VP-CARBO therapy. If disease does not respond to 2 courses of VP-CARBO therapy, patients receive up to 4 courses of CADO therapy. Treatment ceases after response is obtained. Surgery is allowed but not required.
- Regimen NB 99.3 (skeletal bone, pleural, and/or CNS metastases, no MYCN amplification): Patients receive 2 courses of VP-CARBO therapy. Patients with responding disease receive 2 more courses and then proceed to surgery (if possible). Patients with disease progression or no response after the first 2 courses of VP-CARBO therapy and patients who do not experience metastatic complete response (CR) after 4 courses of VP-CARBO therapy receive up to 4 courses of CADO therapy. Patients proceed to surgery, if possible, after 2-4 courses of CADO therapy.
- Regimen NB 99.4 (stages 2-4 disease with MYCN amplification): Patients receive 2 courses of VP-CARBO therapy followed by 2 courses of CADO therapy and then surgery (if not already performed). Patients receive filgrastim (G-CSF) subcutaneously for 5 days between the second course of CADO therapy and surgery. Patients also undergo collection of their bone marrow or peripheral blood stem cells (PBSC). Patients who undergo surgery receive 1 course of VP-CARBO therapy followed by 1 course of CADO therapy postsurgery. At least 3 weeks after the third course of CADO therapy, patients receive high-dose chemotherapy comprising busulfan every 6 hours on days -7 to -3 and melphalan IV on day -2 followed by autologous bone marrow or PBSC infusion on day 0. At least 2 months later, patients undergo radiotherapy to the primary tumor site, even if complete surgical resection has been accomplished. Patients with stage 4 disease who do not achieve metastatic CR after chemotherapy (before surgery) go off study.
After completion of study treatment, patients are followed periodically.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 330 patients will be accrued for this study.
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Non-randomised
- Masking
- None (open label)
Who may qualify
- Ages
- Up to 1 year
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Not accepted
- Age groups
- Child
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| filgrastim | Biological | – |
| busulfan | Drug | – |
| carboplatin | Drug | – |
| cyclophosphamide | Drug | – |
| doxorubicin hydrochloride | Drug | – |
| etoposide phosphate | Drug | – |
| melphalan | Drug | – |
| vincristine sulfate | Drug | – |
| autologous bone marrow transplantation | Procedure or surgery | – |
| bone marrow ablation with stem cell support | Procedure or surgery | – |
| conventional surgery | Procedure or surgery | – |
| peripheral blood stem cell transplantation | Procedure or surgery | – |
| radiation therapy | Radiation | – |
Primary outcome
Not reported in the source record.
Results and safety
Results are not available in the source record.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 2 Aug 2013.
Related trials for Neuroblastoma
RecruitingPhase 1/2
Testing the Addition of Iberdomide to Therapy in People With Neuroblastoma That Has Come Back, Not Responded to Treatment, or Gotten Worse
Recurrent Ganglioneuroblastoma, Recurrent Neuroblastoma
Active, not recruitingObservational study
Genomic Structural Variation in Cancer Susceptibility
Breast Cancer, Colon Cancer
RecruitingPhase 2
Enasidenib in IDH2-Mutated Malignant Sinonasal and Skull Base Tumors
Metastatic Chondrosarcoma, Locally Advanced Chondrosarcoma
RecruitingObservational study
Prospective Comprehensive Molecular Analysis of Endocrine Neoplasms
Endocrine Tumors, Thyroid Neoplasms
RecruitingPhase 1
PEACH TRIAL- Precision Medicine and Adoptive Cellular Therapy
Neuroblastoma, Diffuse Intrinsic Pontine Glioma
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Mary P. Gerrard, MBChB, FRCP, FRCPCH study chair
Children's Hospital - Sheffield
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 3 study testing filgrastim, busulfan and carboplatin in people with Neuroblastoma, run by Children's Cancer and Leukaemia Group.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: status not confirmed, as of the sponsor's last update on 2 Aug 2013. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
Results are not available in the source record.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 2 Aug 2013.