AzTrials
AzTrials

Breast CancerNCT00859157

Pain After Tumescent Mastectomy or Standard Mastectomy in Women With Stage I, Stage II, or Stage III Breast Cancer

An observational study of Breast Cancer and Pain, run by University of California, Davis at 1 site in United States.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: New surgery techniques may lessen pain after breast surgery. It is not yet known whether tumescent mastectomy or standard mastectomy results in less pain in women with breast cancer. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 120 years, women only
What is being tested?
therapeutic conventional surgery
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
74 participants
Where
1 siteUnited States
Study dates
Oct 2008to Jan 2014
Phase
Observational
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 120 years
  • Women only
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Study population: Adult (age 18 or more) women with histologic diagnosis of stage 0, I, II, III breast cancer undergoing mastectomy.

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed diagnosis of 1 of the following:
  • Invasive (ductal or lobular) breast cancer
  • In situ (ductal) breast cancer
  • Stage 0-III disease
  • Localized disease
  • Candidate for curative mastectomy and selected mastectomy or modified radical mastectomy for surgical option of treatment at the University of California Davis Medical Center
  • Hormone receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Menopausal status not specified
  • WBC ≥ 1,500/mm^3
  • Platelet count ≥ 90,000/mm^3
  • PT/PTT ≤ upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Creatinine ≤ 1.5 times ULN
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • No NYHA cardiac disease class III-IV
  • Cancer survivors must have undergone potentially curative therapy for all prior malignancies with no evidence of prior malignancy within the last 5 years, except for effectively treated basal cell or squamous cell carcinoma of the skin, carcinoma in situ of the cervix treated by surgery alone, or lobular carcinoma in situ of the breast treated by surgery alone
  • Body Mass Index ≤ 40

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • No prior major breast surgery, including breast augmentation or reduction surgery
  • No preoperative chemotherapy or radiotherapy
  • No concurrent immediate breast reconstruction
  • No concurrent bilateral mastectomy
  • No concurrent narcotic pain medication

Trial locations and contacts

1 site in 1 country.

United States1 site
  • University of California Davis Cancer Center

    Sacramento, California, 95817

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Tumescent Mastectomy: A Prospective Comparison to Standard Mastectomy Technique

RATIONALE: New surgery techniques may lessen pain after breast surgery. It is not yet known whether tumescent mastectomy or standard mastectomy results in less pain in women with breast cancer.

PURPOSE: This clinical trial is studying pain after tumescent mastectomy compared with pain after standard mastectomy in women with stage I, stage II, or stage III breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • To compare post-operative pain after tumescent vs standard mastectomy in women with stage I-III breast cancer.

Secondary

  • To compare the total time of operation from incision to completion of wound closure.
  • To compare the time of operation from first incision to completion of skin flaps.
  • To compare the total estimated blood loss.
  • To compare the number of days the Jackson-Pratt drain is left in place under skin flaps with wound drainage > 30 mL/24 hours.
  • To compare the incidence of wound complications such as skin necrosis, hematoma, cellulitis, abscess, and seroma between groups.

OUTLINE: Patients are grouped according to which surgeon provided their evaluation and treatment recommendations.

  • Group 1: Patients undergo standard mastectomy.
  • Group 2: Patients undergo tumescent mastectomy. All patients receive standardized post-operative pain management comprising morphine sulfate for analgesia or an equivalent dose of hydromorphone hydrochloride for 24 hours following surgery. Patients then receive 1-2 oral acetaminophen/oxycodone hydrochloride combination tablets (or a comparable amount of another narcotic/acetaminophen combination) every 6 hours as needed. Pain is assessed using the Short-form McGill Pain Questionnaire (SF-MPQ).
Keywords
perioperative/postoperative complications, pain, ductal breast carcinoma in situ, invasive ductal breast carcinoma, invasive lobular breast carcinoma, stage IA breast cancer, stage IB breast cancer, stage II breast cancer, stage IIIA breast cancer, stage IIIB breast cancer
Medical subject headings
Breast Neoplasms, Pain, Postoperative Complications, Carcinoma, Intraductal, Noninfiltrating, Carcinoma, Ductal, Breast, Carcinoma, Lobular

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Study groups in NCT00859157
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Group 1Patients undergo standard mastectomy.
Receives: Procedure: therapeutic conventional surgery
Group 2Patients undergo tumescent mastectomy.
Receives: Procedure: therapeutic conventional surgery

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Post-operative pain at 1 and at 7-10 days after mastectomy

    Measured: 7-10 days

Secondary outcomes (6)
  1. Number of acetaminophen/oxycodone tablets taken

    Measured: 7-10 days after surgery

  2. Total time of operation from breast incision to completion of wound closure

    Measured: Day of surgery

  3. Time of operation from first incision to completion of both superior and inferior skin flaps

    Measured: Day of surgery

  4. Estimated blood loss

    Measured: Day of surgery

  5. Number of days the Jackson-Pratt drain is left in place with wound drainage > 30 mL/24 hours

    Measured: 7-10 days after surgery

  6. Wound complications (skin necrosis, hematoma, cellulitis, abscess, and seroma) occurring up to and 10 days post-operatively

    Measured: Up to 10 days after surgery

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted10 Mar 2009 (estimated)
  2. Study startOct 2008
  3. Primary completionJan 2014
  4. Study completionJan 2014

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Observational
Observational model
Case-control
Time perspective
Prospective
Enrolment
74 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00859157
Sponsor's protocol ID
246600
Other IDs
UCD-CCSO001, 200816282, CDR0000633754
Status last verified
Jun 2017
First submitted
7 Mar 2009
Last updated
21 Jun 2017
Results posted
No
Data monitoring committee
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

An observational study of Breast Cancer and Pain, run by University of California, Davis at 1 site in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 21 Jun 2017. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 1 site in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

Are results available for this study?

The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Post-operative pain at 1 and at 7-10 days after mastectomy (time frame: 7-10 days). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 21 Jun 2017.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in