AzTrials
AzTrials

Bone InfectionPhase 4OVIVANCT00974493

Oral Versus Intravenous Antibiotics for Bone and Joint Infections (OVIVA B&J)

A Phase 4 study testing Antibiotics in people with Bone Infection and Joint Infection, run by Oxford University Hospitals NHS Trust at 2 sites in United Kingdom.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

The study will compare the outcomes of treating bone and joint infections with 6 weeks of intravenous antibiotics with 6 weeks of oral antibiotic treatment. The trial is of antibiotic "strategy" rather than of individual antibiotics. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Bone Infection, Joint Infection
What is being tested?
Antibiotics
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
1,054 participants
Where
2 sitesUnited Kingdom
Study dates
Jun 2010to 28 Feb 2017
Phase
Phase 4
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

  • Is willing and able to give informed consent for participation in the study. Has a bone and joint infection one of the following categories;
  • Native osteomyelitis.
  • Native joint septic arthritis.
  • Diabetic foot infection with osteomyelitis.
  • Prosthetic joint associated infection.
  • Discitis/ spinal osteomyelitis/ epidural abscess
Show all 9Show fewer
  • Has had at least 48 hours, but not more than 7 days, of IV antibiotic therapy already given after definitive surgical management.
  • Has a clinical diagnosis of bacterial infection (caused by any organism excepting mycobacteria).
  • Is clinically stable in the opinion of the study clinicians, has no further interventions to treat acute infection required or planned.

Who cannot join

  • Has Staph aureus bacteraemia.
  • Has suspected bacterial endocarditis.
  • Has suspected mediastinal infection.
  • Has suspected central nervous system infection.

Trial locations and contacts

2 sites in 1 country.

United Kingdom2 sites
  • Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre

    Oxford, Oxfordshire, OX3 7LD

  • Oxford Radcliffe Hospitals Trust

    Oxford, Oxfordshire, OX3 9DU

Other trials in United Kingdom

About this study

Official title: Randomized Open Label Study of Oral Versus Intravenous Antibiotic Treatment for Bone and Joint Infections Requiring Prolonged Antibiotic Treatment: Multi-centre Study

The study will compare the outcomes of treating bone and joint infections with 6 weeks of intravenous antibiotics with 6 weeks of oral antibiotic treatment. The trial is of antibiotic "strategy" rather than of individual antibiotics. The study will be open label, but the primary outcome will be proven failure of infection treatment, determined by pre-established objective criteria for treatment failure. The null hypothesis tested is that there will be no difference in treatment failure rates.

Read the detailed description

A long course of antibiotic therapy given by a "drip" (i.e. intravenous) is recommended treatment for many serious bacterial infections. It is costly and inconvenient for the patient to remain hospitalised for therapy, so outpatient antibiotic therapy (OPAT) programmes have been established in many countries to deliver intravenous antibiotics safely and conveniently. The majority of patients referred to OPAT programmes have bone and joint infections. However, there is no clear evidence that bone and joint infection really require long courses of intravenous antibiotics rather than oral antibiotics.

We will compare the outcome of treatment with intravenous versus oral antibiotic therapy for patients with bone and joint infection. The choice of antibiotic is complex, and antibiotics that are suitable oral choices are often not suitable intravenous choices and vice versa. Subjects will therefore be randomized to an oral or intravenous "strategy," rather than to individual antibiotics. Outcomes will be determined by pre-established objective criteria for treatment failure.

We have conducted a pilot study in one centre (Oxford), recruiting approximately 200 patients, and are now expanding to include multi-centre recruitment in the UK, aiming to recruit 1050 patients.

Being tested
Antibiotics
Keywords
oral, intravenous, antibiotics, bone, joint, infection
Medical subject headings
Infections

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • AntibioticsDrug

    Also called Individual antibiotics not specified by protocol

    The trial protocol does not specify individual antibiotics, as the trial question is one of strategy (i.e. oral vs intravenous route) rather than individual antibiotics.

    Within allocated strategy (i.e. oral or intravenous) antibiotics will be selected by a clinician with reference to the subject's clinical condition, microbiological data and local guidelines.

Study groups in NCT00974493
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
Oral antibioticsActive comparatorNot described
Receives: Drug: Antibiotics
Intravenous antibioticsActive comparatorNot described
Receives: Drug: Antibiotics

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. The Frequency of Definite Failure of Infection Treatment.

    Number of participants with definite failure of infection treatment defined by microbiological, histological and clinical criteria and assessed by an independent blinded endpoint committee

    Measured: 1 year

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted10 Sep 2009 (estimated)
  2. Study startJun 2010
  3. Primary completionMar 2013
  4. Study completion28 Feb 2017

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 4
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
1,054 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00974493
Sponsor's protocol ID
OVIVA
Acronym
OVIVA
Status last verified
Jun 2020
First submitted
4 Sep 2009
Last updated
5 Jun 2020
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 4 study testing Antibiotics in people with Bone Infection and Joint Infection, run by Oxford University Hospitals NHS Trust at 2 sites in United Kingdom.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 9 inclusion and 4 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 5 Jun 2020. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 2 sites in United Kingdom. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 4 studies take place after a treatment is approved, to learn more about its long-term benefits and risks in everyday use.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 5 Jun 2020). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

The Frequency of Definite Failure of Infection Treatment. (time frame: 1 year). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 5 Jun 2020.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in