AzTrials
AzTrials

Persistent Corneal Epithelial DefectsPhase 2NTX-PED-001NCT01165450

Efficacy and Safety Study of Nexagon for Persistent Corneal Epithelial Defects

A Phase 2 study testing Nexagon in people with Persistent Corneal Epithelial Defects, run by University of California, San Francisco.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

The purpose of this study is to evaluate the efficacy and safety of Nexagon® in subjects with persistent corneal epithelial defects (PED) resulting from corneal epithelial debridement during diabetic vitrectomy surgery, HSV keratitis, HZV keratitis, corneal burns, post-PRK, or post-corneal transplant surgery. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
Conditions the study is for
Persistent Corneal Epithelial Defects
What is being tested?
Nexagon
Could I receive a placebo?
Yes, some participants may receive a placebo
How many people
2 participants
Where
No sites listed yet
Study dates
Nov 2011to Feb 2014
Phase
Phase 2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

  • Male and female subjects aged 18 years and over.
  • Female subjects must be a) postmenopausal, b) surgically sterilized, c) practicing abstinence, or d) using a hormonal contraceptive, intrauterine device, diaphragm with spermicide, or condom with spermicide for the duration of the study.
  • Subjects who are able to attend all follow-up visits and who are able to comply with all study procedures.
  • Subjects who are willing and able to give written informed consent to take part in the study.
  • Subjects with a PED, defined as follows: "a corneal epithelial defect persisting for at least 14 days and not longer than 28 days."
  • In the Investigator's opinion, the defect is persistent i.e., the defect has not shown improvement despite conventional treatment such as tear supplements and bandage contact lenses.
  • The original defect to the cornea must have resulted from corneal epithelial debridement during diabetic vitrectomy surgery, HSV keratitis, HZV keratitis, corneal burns, post-PRK, or post-corneal transplant surgery.

Who cannot join

  • Use of concomitant ocular medications in the screening period that are not specified in standardized PED treatment regimen
  • Likely to require the use of concomitant ocular medications that are not specified in the standardized PED treatment regime during the study follow-up period
  • Decrease or increase in the PED by more than 50% during the screening period.
  • Have an active eyelid or ocular infectious process of any sort, in the opinion of the Investigator.
  • Subjects with corneal perforation or impending corneal perforation.
  • Subjects with severe eyelid abnormalities contributory to the persistence of the PED.
Show all 12Show fewer
  • Subjects with bilateral PED, if the smaller PED has a longest diameter of > 2 mm. (Note: if bilateral PED is present and the smaller PED is < 2 mm, the subject is eligible. In this situation only the eye with the larger PED should be entered into the study).
  • Female subjects who are pregnant or breastfeeding. Female subjects who are neither postmenopausal nor surgically sterile require a negative urine pregnancy test on Day 0 (plus or minus 1 day) visit.
  • Subjects who have a history of AIDS or HIV.
  • Subjects with any other condition which, in the Investigator's opinion, would exclude the subject from participating.
  • Treatment with systemic corticosteroids (equivalent to > 10 mg/day of prednisone) or immunosuppressive or chemotherapeutic agents within 7 days prior to Day 0 (plus or minus 1 day) visit, or likely to receive one of these therapies during study participation
  • Subjects who have participated in a clinical trial within 30 days prior to Day 0 (plus or minus 1 day) visit.

About this study

Official title: Phase 2, Randomized, Double-masked, Vehicle-controlled, Dose-escalation Study Evaluating Efficacy/Safety of Nexagon in Subjects With Persistent Corneal Epithelial Defects (PED) Resulting From Corneal Epithelial Debridement During Diabetic Vitrectomy Surgery, Herpes Simples Virus (HSV) Keratitis, Herpes Zoster Virus (HZV) Keratitis, Corneal Burns, Post-photorefractive Keratectomy (Post-PRK), or Post-corneal Transplant Surgery.

The purpose of this study is to evaluate the efficacy and safety of Nexagon® in subjects with persistent corneal epithelial defects (PED) resulting from corneal epithelial debridement during diabetic vitrectomy surgery, HSV keratitis, HZV keratitis, corneal burns, post-PRK, or post-corneal transplant surgery.

Read the detailed description

The purpose of this prospective, randomized, double-masked, vehicle-controlled, dose-escalation study is to evaluate the efficacy and safety of Nexagon® in subjects with persistent corneal epithelial defects (PED) resulting from corneal epithelial debridement during diabetic vitrectomy surgery, HSV keratitis, HZV keratitis, corneal burns, post-PRK, or post-corneal transplant surgery. In general, traditional therapy of PED consists of aggressive lubrication with preservative-free artificial tears and ointments, the use of bandage soft contact lenses, pressure patching, punctal plugging, and the surgical closure of the eyelids. Unfortunately, the success rates with these conventional treatment modalities are varied, and overall, disappointingly low. As such, much research is currently being directed at finding better treatments for PED. Nexagon® is a novel therapeutic agent that has been shown to be effective in treating skin lesions, and it has been shown in animal studies and in preliminary human studies to be safe and efficacious in treating PED.

Being tested
Nexagon, Vehicle only
Keywords
persistent epithelial defect, cornea
Medical subject headings
Corneal Diseases

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • NexagonDrug

    Also called Active Ingredient: CODA001, IND: 104593, Vehicle: Poloxamer 407

    There will be 3 groups of patients with persistent epithelial defects, treated in a dose-escalation fashion from 1µg to 3µg to 10 µg. Each group will consist of 18 patients randomized to Nexagon and 6 patients randomized to placebo only.

  • Vehicle onlyDrug

    Also called Poloxamer 407

    There will be 3 groups of patients with persistent epithelial defects, treated in a dose-escalation fashion from 1µg to 3µg to 10 µg. Each group will consist of 18 patients randomized to Nexagon and 6 patients randomized to placebo only.

Study groups in NCT01165450
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
NexagonActive comparatorThere will be 3 groups of patients with persistent epithelial defects, treated in a dose-escalation fashion from 1µg to 3µg to 10 µg. Each group will consist of 18 patients randomized to Nexagon and 6 patients randomized to placebo only.
Receives: Drug: Nexagon
Vehicle onlyPlacebo comparatorThere will be 3 groups of patients with persistent epithelial defects, treated in a dose-escalation fashion from 1µg to 3µg to 10 µg. Each group will consist of 18 patients randomized to Nexagon and 6 patients randomized to placebo only.
Receives: Drug: Vehicle only

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Percent Healing of the Corneal Epithelial Defect at Day 14 ± 1 in the Study Eye

    Primary efficacy measure: To determine whether topical treatment of persistent epithelial defects with Nexagon preparations yields greater healing at Day 14 ± 1, compared to vehicle alone, in individuals having had diabetic vitrectomy. Healing will be determined by comparing pseudo-area (as measured by Investigator, or designated ophthalmologist) at baseline (taken just prior to the first treatment) and Day 14 ± 1. Pseudo-area is defined by the longest diameter of the lesion multiplied by the longest perpendicular to this longest diameter.

    Measured: 14 ± 1 days

  2. Incidence of Adverse Events Following Application of the Investigational Product in All Subjects

    Primary safety measure: To determine incidence of adverse events by recording their occurrence at each study visit through Day 28 ± 2. Analysis of safety data will be performed prior to each dose-escalation. If greater than 2 serious adverse events are found that are causally related to the investigational product, the study will be halted.

    Measured: 28 ± 2 days

Secondary outcomes (5)
  1. Time to Complete Re-epithelialization of the Study Eye

    Resolution of epithelial defect is defined as the largest diameter of the epithelial defect being less than 0.5 mm, as it is difficult to distinguish a smaller defect from the small amount of fluorescing staining seen in a healed defect. Time of complete re-epithelialization will be defined as the midpoint between the last observed date with an epithelial defect and the date of the first visit with no epithelial defect, up to Day 28 ± 2.

    Measured: 28 ± 2 days

  2. Complete Healing of the Corneal Epithelial Defect at Day 14 ± 1 in the Study Eye

    To determine binary indicator of whether or not healing has occurred at 14 ± 1 days, defined as the largest diameter of the epithelial defect being smaller than 0.5 mm as determined by slit lamp examination with fluorescein staining.

    Measured: 14 ± 1 days

  3. Change in the Rate of Re-epithelialization of the Study Eye

    To determine the change in the rate of re-epithelialization of the study eye from the screening run-in period to the treatment period, if applicable.

    Time Frame: Screening period is defined as Day -7 to Day 0 ± 1. Treatment period is defined as Day 0 ± 1 through time of complete re-epithelialization. Time of complete re-epithelialization is defined as the midpoint between the last observed date with an epithelial defect and the date of the first visit with no epithelial defect, up to Day 28 ± 2.

    Measured: 35 ± 2 days

  4. Persistence of Complete Corneal Re-epithelialization in the Study Eye

    To determine whether or not complete corneal re-epithelialization was persistent, as determined by whether the healed epithelium remains intact after complete re-epithelialization is confirmed in the study eye. The measurement will be made at Day 28 ± 2.

    Measured: 28 ± 2 days

  5. Percent Reduction of Corneal Epithelial Defect at Day 28 ± 2 in the Study Eye

    To compare, in each of the two patient populations, the percent reduction in epithelial defect size at Day 28 ± 2 compared to baseline, as measured by slit lamp examination with fluorescein staining. Epithelial defect size determined by pseudo-area, defined by the longest diameter of the lesion multiplied by the longest perpendicular to this longest diameter.

    Measured: 28 ± 2 days

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted19 Jul 2010 (estimated)
  2. Study startNov 2011
  3. Primary completionFeb 2014
  4. Study completionFeb 2014

Why it stopped: Drug manufacturer could not supply study drug.

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomised
Intervention model
Parallel groups
Masking
Triple blind
Who is masked
Participant, Investigator, Outcomes assessor
Enrolment
2 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT01165450
Sponsor's protocol ID
Nex001
Other IDs
1R01FD003708-01A1
Acronym
NTX-PED-001
Status last verified
Apr 2015
First submitted
15 Jul 2010
Last updated
7 May 2015
Data monitoring committee
Yes

Publications

  • Qiu C, Coutinho P, Frank S, Franke S, Law LY, Martin P, Green CR, Becker DL. Targeting connexin43 expression accelerates the rate of wound repair. Curr Biol. 2003 Sep 30;13(19):1697-703. doi: 10.1016/j.cub.2003.09.007.

    PubMed 14521835
  • Lin JH, Weigel H, Cotrina ML, Liu S, Bueno E, Hansen AJ, Hansen TW, Goldman S, Nedergaard M. Gap-junction-mediated propagation and amplification of cell injury. Nat Neurosci. 1998 Oct;1(6):494-500. doi: 10.1038/2210.

    PubMed 10196547

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 2 study testing Nexagon in people with Persistent Corneal Epithelial Defects, run by University of California, San Francisco.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 7 inclusion and 12 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 7 May 2015. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. Some participants in this study may receive a placebo. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 20 Apr 2015). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Percent Healing of the Corneal Epithelial Defect at Day 14 ± 1 in the Study Eye (time frame: 14 ± 1 days). The study lists 2 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT01165450, which also lists 2 linked publications.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 7 May 2015.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in