AzTrials
AzTrials

Pancreatic CancerPhase 1/2NCT02713529

Safety and Efficacy Study of AMG 820 and Pembrolizumab Combination in Select Advanced Solid Tumor Cancer

A Phase 1/2 study testing AMG820 and pembrolizumab in people with Pancreatic Cancer and Colorectal Cancer, run by AmMax Bio, Inc. at 15 sites in 6 countries.

Completed

Finished. The study has ended and is not enrolling. Results may be posted on the official record.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

A multi-center Phase 1b/2 study testing the combination of AMG 820 and pembrolizumab in subjects with select advanced solid tumors. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 years and older
What is being tested?
AMG820 and pembrolizumab
Could I receive a placebo?
No, everyone receives an active treatment
How many people
117 participants
Where
15 sitesin 6 countries
Study dates
14 Apr 2016to 17 May 2019
Phase
Phase 1/2
Are there results?
Yes, posted in the registrySummary in the doctors' view

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 years and older
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

Who may be able to join

  • Pathologically documented, advanced colorectal, pancreatic or non-small cell lung cancer that is refractory to standard treatment, or the subjects have been intolerant to or refuse standard treatment.
  • Measurable disease per RECIST 1.1 guidelines.
  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0 - 1
  • Adequate hematologic, renal, and hepatic function determined by laboratory blood and urine tests.
  • Availability of recent tumor tissue within 3 months prior to enrollment, when feasible.

Who cannot join

  • Has known active central nervous system metastases and/or carcinomatous meningitis.
  • History of other malignancy with the past 2 years with some exceptions
  • Evidence of active non-infectious pneumonitis/interstitial lung disease
  • Evidence of other active autoimmune disease that has required prolonged systemic treatment in past 2 years.
  • Evidence of clinically significant immunosuppression such as organ or stem cell transplantation, any severe congenital or acquired cellular and/or humoral immune deficiency, concurrent opportunistic infection.
  • Receiving systemic immunostimulatory agents within 6 weeks or 5 half-lives, whichever is shorter, prior to first dose of study treatment (except ant PD-1/PD-L1 treatment if recruited into Group 4a or 4b).
Show all 13Show fewer
  • Evidence of active infection within 2 weeks prior to first dose of study treatment.
  • Prior chemotherapy, radiotherapy, biological cancer therapy or major surgery within 28 days prior to enrollment
  • Currently participating or has participated in a study (treatment period only) of an investigational agent or used an investigational device within 28 days of enrollment
  • Received live vaccine within 28 days prior to enrollment
  • Adverse event due to cancer therapy administered more than 28 days prior to enrollment that has not recovered to Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) grade 1 or better.
  • Positive for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), Hepatitis B or C
  • Women planning to become pregnant or who are lactating/breastfeeding while on study through 4 months after receiving the last dose of study drug.

Trial locations and contacts

15 sites in 6 countries.

15 sites in 6 countries

United States8 sites
  • Research Site

    Atlanta, Georgia, 30332

  • Research Site

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02114

  • Research Site

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02215

  • Research Site

    Grand Rapids, Michigan, 49546

  • Research Site

    Greenville, South Carolina, 29605

  • Research Site

    New York, New York, 10021

  • Research Site

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19111

  • South Texas Accelerated Research Therapeutics

    San Antonio, Texas, 78229

Other trials in United States

Australia2 sites
  • Research Site

    Camperdown, New South Wales, 2050

  • Research Site

    Parkville, Victoria, 3050

Other trials in Australia

Spain2 sites
  • Research Site

    Madrid, 28040

  • Research Site

    Madrid, 28050

Other trials in Spain

Belgium1 site
  • Research Site

    Wilrijk, 2610

Other trials in Belgium

Canada1 site
  • Princess Margaret Cancer Centre

    Toronto, Ontario, M5G 2M9

Other trials in Canada

Germany1 site
  • Research Site

    Heidelberg, 69120

Other trials in Germany

About this study

Official title: A Phase1b/2 Study Assessing Safety and Anti-tumor Activity of AMG 820 in Combination With Pembrolizumab in Select Advanced Solid Tumors

A multi-center Phase 1b/2 study testing the combination of AMG 820 and pembrolizumab in subjects with select advanced solid tumors.

Read the detailed description

Phase 1b is AMG 820 dose determining and aimed at assessing the safety and tolerability of the selected starting dose of AMG 820 in combination with pembrolizumab. Phase 2 of the study will further evaluate safety and tolerability and additionally test whether AMG 820 can enhance the anti-tumor activity observed historically with pembrolizumab alone and/or overcome lack of response to pembrolizumab monotherapy in subjects with select solid tumors.

Being tested
AMG820 and pembrolizumab
Keywords
Solid Tumor, Pancreatic Cancer, Colorectal Cancer, Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Medical subject headings
Pancreatic Neoplasms, Colorectal Neoplasms, Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

  • AMG820 and pembrolizumabBiological

    Treatment with AMG820 and pembrolizumab

Study groups in NCT02713529
Study groupRoleWhat they receive
AMG820 and pembrolizumabExperimentalTreatment with AMG820 and pembrolizumab
Receives: Biological: AMG820 and pembrolizumab

What is being measured

The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.

  1. Participants With Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLT)

    DLTs were evaluated by the Dose Level Review Team (DLRT). A DLT was defined as any grade >=3 adverse event occurring during a DLT time window (21 day period from the initial administration of AMG 820 and pembrolizumab in combination), and if judged by the investigator to be related to the administration of AMG 820 and/or pembrolizumab.

    Measured: The DLT evaluation period was Day 1 to Day 21

  2. Participants With Treatment -Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

    TEAEs include any adverse event starting on or after the first dose of AMG 820 or pembrolizumab. Relation to study drugs was determined by the investigator. Adverse events (AEs) were graded by the investigator according to National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE), version 4.0, where Grade 1 = mild AE, Grade 2 = moderate AE, Grade 3 = severe AE, Grade 4 = life-threatening AE, and Grade 5 = death due to AE. Errors in the case report form design resulted in investigators misunderstanding the CTCAE definition for severity grade 5. Therefore data are not reported for severity grade 5. Readers are referred to the 'Fatal TEAE' line in the table below for counts of participants who died during the TEAE timeframe.

    Measured: Day 1 up to 207 days for Part 1 and Day 1 up to 572 days for Part 2

  3. Participants With Treatment -Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) Related to AMG 820 Treatment

    TEAEs include any adverse event starting on or after the first dose of AMG 820 or pembrolizumab. Relation to study drugs was determined by the investigator. Adverse events (AEs) were graded by the investigator according to National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE), version 4.0, where Grade 1 = mild AE, Grade 2 = moderate AE, Grade 3 = severe AE, Grade 4 = life-threatening AE, and Grade 5 = death due to AE. Errors in the case report form design resulted in investigators misunderstanding the CTCAE definition for severity grade 5. Therefore data are not reported for severity grade 5. Readers are referred to the 'Fatal TEAE' line in the table below for counts of participants who died during the TEAE timeframe.

    Measured: Day 1 up to 207 days for Part 1; Day 1 up to 572 days for Part 2

  4. Participants With Treatment -Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) Related to Pembrolizumab Treatment

    TEAEs include any adverse event starting on or after the first dose of AMG 820 or pembrolizumab. Relation to study drugs was determined by the investigator. Adverse events (AEs) were graded by the investigator according to National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE), version 4.0, where Grade 1 = mild AE, Grade 2 = moderate AE, Grade 3 = severe AE, Grade 4 = life-threatening AE, and Grade 5 = death due to AE. Errors in the case report form design resulted in investigators misunderstanding the CTCAE definition for severity grade 5. Therefore data are not reported for severity grade 5. Readers are referred to the 'Fatal TEAE' line in the table below for counts of participants who died during the TEAE timeframe.

    Measured: Day 1 up to 207 days for Part 1 and Day 1 up to 572 days for Part 2

  5. Objective Response Rate (ORR) Per Immune-Related Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (irRECIST)

    ORR was defined as the percentage of participants with a best overall response of complete response or partial response assessed by the investigator using immune-related Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (irRECIST). Response was based on the size of tumors assessed by computed tomography (CT) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). During treatment radiographic imaging was performed at Week 10 and repeated at least every 10 weeks until disease progression.

    Complete response (iCR): Disappearance of all lesions (whether measurable or not and whether baseline or new) and confirmation by a repeat, consecutive assessment no less than 4 weeks from the date first documented was required. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to <10 mm.

    Partial response (iPR): Decrease in tumor burden ≥ 30% relative to baseline. Confirmation by a consecutive assessment at least 4 weeks after first documentation required.

    Measured: Baseline: Day -28; Treatment: up to Month 13.7

Secondary outcomes (13)
  1. Time to Response (TTR) Per Immune-Related Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (irRECIST) For Participants Who Responded

    Time to response was defined as the time from first dose of AMG 820 until first documented complete or partial response per irRECIST divided by 365.25 days/12.

    Measured: Day 1 up to Month 16 (max time to censoring)

  2. Time to Progression (TTP) for Participants Who Had Progressive Disease

    Time to progression was defined as the time from first dose of AMG 820 until first documented progressive disease per irRECIST divided by 365.25 days/12.

    Measured: Day 1 up to 14.4 months (max time to censoring)

  3. Kaplan-Meier Estimates for Overall Survival (OS) at Month 6 and Month 12

    Overall survival time was calculated as the number of days from the first administration of AMG 820 to date of death or censoring divided by (365.25/12). Data are reported as the percentage of participants who were alive at Month 6 and Month 12.

    Measured: Day 1 up to Month 6 or Month 12

  4. Kaplan-Meier Estimates for Progression-Free Survival (PFS) as Per irRECIST at Month 6 and Month 12

    Progression-free survival time was calculated as the number of days from the first administration of AMG 820 to date of progressive disease or death or censoring divided by (365.25/12). Data are reported as the percentage of participants who were alive and progression-free at Month 6 and Month 12.

    Measured: Day 1 up to Month 6 or Month 12

  5. AMG 820 Pharmacokinetic Parameter by Dose Group: Time of Maximum Observed Concentration (Tmax) During Treatment Cycles 1 + 2

    Measured: Cycle 1, Study Day 1: pre-infusion, at end of infusion, hours 1, 6 and 24 post infusion, Days 5, 8 and 15. Cycle 2, Study Day 22: pre-infusion, at end of infusion, hours 1, 6, 24 post infusion, Days 26, 29 and 36

  6. AMG 820 Pharmacokinetic Parameter by Dose Group: Maximum Observed Drug Concentration (Cmax) During Treatment Cycles 1 + 2

    Measured: Cycle 1, Study Day 1: pre-infusion, at end of infusion, hours 1, 6 and 24 post infusion, Days 5, 8 and 15. Cycle 2, Study Day 22: pre-infusion, at end of infusion, hours 1, 6, 24 post infusion, Days 26, 29 and 36

  7. AMG 820 Pharmacokinetic Parameter by Dose Group: Area Under the Curve Last (AUClast) During Treatment Cycles 1 + 2

    AUClast is the area under the serum concentration-time curve from time zero to time of last quantifiable concentration.

    Measured: Cycle 1, Study Day 1: pre-infusion, at end of infusion, hours 1, 6 and 24 post infusion, Days 5, 8 and 15. Cycle 2, Study Day 22: pre-infusion, at end of infusion, hours 1, 6, 24 post infusion, Days 26, 29 and 36

  8. AMG 820 Pharmacokinetic Parameter by Dose Group: Area Under the Curve Over the Dose Interval (AUCtau) During Treatment Cycles 1 + 2

    AUCtau is the area under the serum concentration-time curve over the dose interval tau, with tau equal to 21 days.

    Measured: Cycle 1, Study Day 1: pre-infusion, at end of infusion, hours 1, 6 and 24 post infusion, Days 5, 8 and 15. Cycle 2, Study Day 22: pre-infusion, at end of infusion, hours 1, 6, 24 post infusion, Days 26, 29 and 36

  9. AMG 820 Pharmacokinetic Parameter by Dose Group: Minimum Observed Drug Concentration (Cmin) During Treatment Cycles 1 + 2

    Measured: Cycle 1, Study Day 1: pre-infusion, at end of infusion, hours 1, 6 and 24 post infusion, Days 5, 8 and 15. Cycle 2, Study Day 22: pre-infusion, at end of infusion, hours 1, 6, 24 post infusion, Days 26, 29 and 36

  10. AMG 820 Pharmacokinetic Parameter by Dose Group: Terminal Elimination Half-life (t1/2z) During Treatment Cycles 1 + 2

    Measured: Cycle 1, Study Day 1: pre-infusion, at end of infusion, hours 1, 6 and 24 post infusion, Days 5, 8 and 15. Cycle 2, Study Day 22: pre-infusion, at end of infusion, hours 1, 6, 24 post infusion, Days 26, 29 and 36

  11. AMG 820 Pharmacokinetic Parameter by Dose Group: Volume of Distribution (Vz) During Treatment Cycles 1 + 2

    Volume of distribution observed at terminal phase after intravenous dosing.

    Measured: Cycle 1, Study Day 1: pre-infusion, at end of infusion, hours 1, 6 and 24 post infusion, Days 5, 8 and 15. Cycle 2, Study Day 22: pre-infusion, at end of infusion, hours 1, 6, 24 post infusion, Days 26, 29 and 36

  12. AMG 820 Pharmacokinetic Parameter by Dose Group: Drug Clearance (CL) During Treatment Cycles 1 + 2

    Drug clearance observed after intravenous dosing.

    Measured: Cycle 1, Study Day 1: pre-infusion, at end of infusion, hours 1, 6 and 24 post infusion, Days 5, 8 and 15. Cycle 2, Study Day 22: pre-infusion, at end of infusion, hours 1, 6, 24 post infusion, Days 26, 29 and 36

  13. AMG 820 Pharmacokinetic Parameter by Dose Group: Accumulation Ratio (AR)

    Accumulation ratio is AUCtau following administration in Cycle 2 / AUCtau after administration in Cycle 1

    Measured: Cycle 1, Study Day 1: pre-infusion, at end of infusion, hours 1, 6 and 24 post infusion, Days 5, 8 and 15. Cycle 2, Study Day 22: pre-infusion, at end of infusion, hours 1, 6, 24 post infusion, Days 26, 29 and 36

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted18 Mar 2016 (estimated)
  2. Study start14 Apr 2016
  3. Primary completion2 Jan 2019
  4. Study completion17 May 2019

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 1/2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrolment
117 participants (actual)
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT02713529
Sponsor's protocol ID
20150195
Other IDs
MASTERKEY, 2016-001080-36, KEYNOTE-347, 2016
Status last verified
Jan 2023
First submitted
3 Mar 2016
Last updated
20 Jan 2023
Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
Individual data sharing
Yes: De-identified individual patient data for variables necessary to address the specific research question in an approved data sharing request

Publications

  • Razak AR, Cleary JM, Moreno V, Boyer M, Calvo Aller E, Edenfield W, Tie J, Harvey RD, Rutten A, Shah MA, Olszanski AJ, Jager D, Lakhani N, Ryan DP, Rasmussen E, Juan G, Wong H, Soman N, Smit MD, Nagorsen D, Papadopoulos KP. Safety and efficacy of AMG 820, an anti-colony-stimulating factor 1 receptor antibody, in combination with pembrolizumab in adults with advanced solid tumors. J Immunother Cancer. 2020 Oct;8(2):e001006. doi: 10.1136/jitc-2020-001006.

    PubMed 33046621

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 1/2 study testing AMG820 and pembrolizumab in people with Pancreatic Cancer and Colorectal Cancer, run by AmMax Bio, Inc. at 15 sites in 6 countries.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

The sponsor lists 5 inclusion and 13 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 20 Jan 2023. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 15 sites in United States, Australia, Spain, Belgium, Canada and 1 more country. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this combined phase mean?

Phase 1 studies test a treatment in a small group of people for the first time or in a new way, mainly to check safety and find the right dose.

Phase 2 studies give the treatment to a larger group to see whether it has the intended effect and to keep checking safety.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

Yes. Results are posted in the registry (first posted 1 Jun 2020). A summary is in the For doctors view, and the full results are on ClinicalTrials.gov.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

What does the primary outcome measure?

Participants With Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLT) (time frame: The DLT evaluation period was Day 1 to Day 21). The study lists 5 primary outcomes in all. It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.

Where can I read the original study information?

On the ClinicalTrials.gov record for NCT02713529, which also lists 1 linked publication.

Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 20 Jan 2023.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in