Nasolacrimal Duct ObstructionPhase 4NCT00784992
A Comparison of Endonasal Dacryocystorhinostomy With and Without Silicone Tubes
A Phase 4 study testing Endonasal dacryocystorhinostomy in people with Nasolacrimal Duct Obstruction, run by University of British Columbia at 2 sites in Canada.
Trial summary
Aim of study is to investigate whether the use of silicone tubes in endonasal DCR surgery increases the success rate and / or complication rate compared to surgery without tubes. Read more about this study
- Who is it for?
- Ages 16 years and olderHealthy volunteers can take part
- Conditions the study is for
- Nasolacrimal Duct Obstruction
- What is being tested?
- Endonasal dacryocystorhinostomy
- Type of treatment
- Surgery or procedure
- Could I receive a placebo?
- No, everyone receives an active treatment
- How many people
- 200 participants
- Where
- 2 sitesCanada
- Study dates
- Nov 2008to 2 Jun 2016
- Phase
- Phase 4
- Are there results?
- None posted in the registry
Key requirements
Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.
- Ages 16 years and older
- All sexes
- Healthy volunteers accepted
- Child, Adult, Older adult
Who may be able to join
- Adult patients (> 16 years) undergoing primary DCR for NLDO who have given fully informed consent to be in the trial
Who cannot join
- Age less than 16 years
- Previous ipsilateral DCR or nasal surgery
- Canalicular disease
Trial locations and contacts
2 sites in 1 country.
Canada2 sites
Eye Care Centre (Clinic)
Vancouver, British Columbia
VGH/UBC (Operating Rooms)
Vancouver, British Columbia
About this study
Official title: A Randomised Controlled Trial to Compare Success and Complication Rates in Endonasal Dacryocystorhinostomy Surgery With and Without Silicone Tubes
Aim of study is to investigate whether the use of silicone tubes in endonasal DCR surgery increases the success rate and / or complication rate compared to surgery without tubes.
Read the detailed description
Dacryocystorhinostomy (DCR) is the treatment of choice for epiphora due to nasolacrimal duct obstruction. A passage is created between the lacrimal sac and nasal cavity by removing the layers of bone and mucosa between them. It can be performed via an external (transcutaneous) or endonasal route with equivalent success rates.[1] In order to prevent restenosis of the ostium, silicone tubes are often used to maintain the patency of the newly-created fistula. The tubes are removed between 6 weeks and 3 months post-operatively.
Problems associated with tubes include granuloma formation with secondary infection or adhesions, canalicular lacerations, allergic reaction to the silastic, and discomfort.
There are a number of reports of DCR surgery without tubes which demonstrate an equivalent success rate compared with surgery using tubes; however, these studies have been non-randomised, retrospective reviews.[2-6] The only prospective, randomised controlled study[7] had only 42 participants and did not state at which point during the surgery the randomisation was revealed; unless the allocation occurs after the ostium has been completed there is the risk of bias since the surgeon may (consciously or inadvertently) create a larger ostium in cases where no tubes are to be used.
The purpose of this study is to perform a prospective, randomised controlled study to assess whether the use of tubes affect the long-term success of DCR.
Hypothesis Silicone tubing does not improve success rate of endonasal DCR surgery.
Justification There is a dearth of evidence in the literature from well-conducted studies on the merits of tubes versus no tubes in DCR surgery. Since there are several potential problems with tubes outlined above, and since performing surgery with tubes adds to the cost and duration of surgery, it would benefit patients and healthcare providers to know whether they increase DCR success rate.
The standard surgical technique for endonasal DCR has been described by the principle investigator.[1] The identical procedure would be performed in both groups with the exception that half the patients would have tubes inserted, and half would not.
Objectives To assess functional and anatomical success rates of endonasal DCR surgery with and without silicone tubes.
Research Method Prospective, randomised, controlled, interventional trial.
Statistical analysis The primary end point will be functional success, determined by patient-reported symptoms. This will be assessed a minimum of six months post-operatively. In patients with tubes these will be removed at 3 months post-operatively.
The operation will be considered successful if the patient is free of symptoms of a watering eye. It will be considered partially successful if the patient has noticeable improvement but still may experience tearing under certain situations. The operation will be deemed a failure if the patient continues to have symptoms that are no better or worse than pre-operatively.
The secondary end point will be anatomical success, as measured by patency of nasolacrimal irrigation at 6 months post-operatively. In patients with tubes these will be removed at 3 months post-operatively. The operation will be considered successful if there is free flow on irrigation with no reflux. It will be considered partially successful if the nasolacrimal duct is patent but there is more than 50% reflux as assessed by an experienced oculoplastic surgeon. It will be considered a failure if there is more than 50% reflux.
The secondary end point will be anatomical success, as measured by patency of nasolacrimal irrigation at 6 months post-operatively.
Statistical analysis planned From a previous study by the PI[1] (and also from numerous other studies in the ophthalmic literature) the baseline success rate for endonasal DCR with tubes is 90%. The current trial is a non-inferiority study, ie to demonstrate that surgery without tubes is not inferior to surgery with tubes.
In order to demonstrate non-inferiority, the recommended approach is to pre-specify a margin of non-inferiority in the protocol. After study completion, a two-sided 95% confidence interval for the true difference between the two agents will be constructed.[8]
Planned sample size A sample size of 200 (100 participants in each arm of the trial) is expected to give a 95% confidence interval of width of approximately 0.15 ie +/- 7.5% around the estimated difference in success rates.
References
- Dolman PJ. Comparison of external dacryocystorhinostomy with nonlaser endonasal dacryocystorhinostomy. Ophthalmology. 2003 Jan;110(1):78-84
- Smirnov G, Tuomilehto H, Teräsvirta M, Nuutinen J, Seppä J. Silicone tubing after endoscopic dacryocystorhinostomy: is it necessary? Am J Rhinol. 2006 Nov-Dec;20(6):600-2
- Mortimore S, Banhegy GY, Lancaster JL, Karkanevatos A. Endoscopic dacryocystorhinostomy without silicone stenting. J R Coll Surg Edinb. 1999 Dec;44(6):371-3
- Kashkouli MB, Parvaresh M, Modarreszadeh M, Hashemi M, Beigi B. Factors affecting the success of external dacryocystorhinostomy. Orbit. 2003 Dec;22(4):247-55
- Beigi B, Westlake W, Chang B, Marsh C, Jacob J, Chatfield J. Dacryocystorhinostomy in south west England. Eye. 1998;12 ( Pt 3a):358-62.
- Unlü HH, Oztürk F, Mutlu C, Ilker SS, Tarhan S. Endoscopic dacryocystorhinostomy without stents. Auris Nasus Larynx. 2000 Jan;27(1):65-71
- Smirnov G, Tuomilehto H, Teräsvirta M, Nuutinen J, Seppä J. Silicone tubing is not necessary after primary endoscopic dacryocystorhinostomy: A prospective randomized study. Am J Rhinol 22, 214-217, 2008
- http://www.emea.europa.eu/pdfs/human/ewp/215899en.pdf
- Conditions
- Nasolacrimal Duct Obstruction
- Being tested
- Endonasal dacryocystorhinostomy
- Keywords
- NLDO, DCR, silicone tubes, stent
- Medical subject headings
- Lacrimal Duct Obstruction
What participants receive
What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.
Endonasal dacryocystorhinostomyProcedure or surgery
The standard dacryocystorhinostomy operation performed in this centre uses silicone tubes to stent open the newly created ostium between the lacrimal sac and the nasal cavity. However many surgeons in other departments / countries around the world perform the surgery without tubes. No large well-conducted RCT has been published comparing success rates / complication rates for the two techniques. For this study the control group is the arm which receives tubes (our standard procedure) and the 'interventional' group is the arm not receiving tubes.
Details of the operative technique for endonasal DCR with tubes can be found in the following reference: Dolman PJ. Comparison of external dacryocystorhinostomy with nonlaser endonasal dacryocystorhinostomy. Ophthalmology. 2003 Jan;110(1):78-84. The group that will not receive tubes will undergo the same procedure except that the insertion of tubes will be omitted.
| Study group | Role | What they receive |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | No intervention | Endonasal DCR with silicone tubes (this is the control group since it is the standard procedure / gold standard, although the evidence base for the use of tubes is lacking, hence the need for this trial) |
| 2 | Active comparator | Endonasal DCR without silicone tubes (this is the 'intervention' arm) Receives: Procedure: Endonasal dacryocystorhinostomy |
What is being measured
The primary outcome is the main question the study is designed to answer.
The primary end point will be functional success, determined by patient-reported symptoms. This will be assessed a minimum of six months post-operatively. In patients with tubes these will be removed at 3 months post-operatively.
Measured: 6 months
Secondary outcomes (1)
The secondary end point will be anatomical success, as measured by patency of nasolacrimal irrigation at 6 months post-operatively. In patients with tubes these will be removed at 3 months post-operatively.
Measured: 6 months
Timeline
From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.
- First posted5 Nov 2008 (estimated)
- Study startNov 2008
- Primary completion2 Jun 2016
- Study completion2 Jun 2016
Resources
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govThe registry entry this page is built from, with its full change history.
- Other trials for Nasolacrimal Duct ObstructionStudies of the same condition, open and under way.
- More trials run by University of British ColumbiaThe sponsor's other registered studies.
- What the trial phases meanHow a treatment moves from first tests in people to approval.
More details
For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.
Study design
- Study type
- Interventional
- Phase
- Phase 4
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Enrolment
- 200 participants (actual)
Sponsor and investigators
- Lead sponsor
- University of British Columbia
- Sponsor type
- University, hospital or other
- Responsible party
- Sponsor
- Investigators
- Peter Dolman, MD, Principal investigator, University of British Columbia
IDs, dates and publications
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00784992
- Sponsor's protocol ID
- H08-02025
- Status last verified
- Mar 2017
- First submitted
- 4 Nov 2008
- Last updated
- 3 Mar 2017
- Results posted
- No
- Data monitoring committee
- No
Study at a glance
From the registry record, last updated by the sponsor on 3 Mar 2017. Recruitment status is as the sponsor reported it: confirm with the study team.
- Official title
- A Randomised Controlled Trial to Compare Success and Complication Rates in Endonasal Dacryocystorhinostomy Surgery With and Without Silicone Tubes
- ClinicalTrials.gov ID
- NCT00784992
- Acronym / sponsor ID
- H08-02025
- Conditions
- Nasolacrimal Duct Obstruction
- Keywords
- NLDO, DCR, silicone tubes, stent
- Phase
- Phase 4
- Study type
- Interventional
- Recruitment status
- Completed
- Enrolment
- 200 participants (actual)
- Lead sponsor
- University of British ColumbiaUniversity, hospital or other
- Study start
- Nov 2008
- Primary completion
- 2 Jun 2016 (actual)
- Study completion
- 2 Jun 2016 (actual)
- First posted
- 5 Nov 2008 (estimated)
- Results
- Not posted in the source record
Clinical summary
The research question as the sponsor registered it. This describes what the study plans to test, not what it found.
Aim of study is to investigate whether the use of silicone tubes in endonasal DCR surgery increases the success rate and / or complication rate compared to surgery without tubes.
Detailed description
Dacryocystorhinostomy (DCR) is the treatment of choice for epiphora due to nasolacrimal duct obstruction. A passage is created between the lacrimal sac and nasal cavity by removing the layers of bone and mucosa between them. It can be performed via an external (transcutaneous) or endonasal route with equivalent success rates.[1] In order to prevent restenosis of the ostium, silicone tubes are often used to maintain the patency of the newly-created fistula. The tubes are removed between 6 weeks and 3 months post-operatively.
Problems associated with tubes include granuloma formation with secondary infection or adhesions, canalicular lacerations, allergic reaction to the silastic, and discomfort.
There are a number of reports of DCR surgery without tubes which demonstrate an equivalent success rate compared with surgery using tubes; however, these studies have been non-randomised, retrospective reviews.[2-6] The only prospective, randomised controlled study[7] had only 42 participants and did not state at which point during the surgery the randomisation was revealed; unless the allocation occurs after the ostium has been completed there is the risk of bias since the surgeon may (consciously or inadvertently) create a larger ostium in cases where no tubes are to be used.
The purpose of this study is to perform a prospective, randomised controlled study to assess whether the use of tubes affect the long-term success of DCR.
Hypothesis Silicone tubing does not improve success rate of endonasal DCR surgery.
Justification There is a dearth of evidence in the literature from well-conducted studies on the merits of tubes versus no tubes in DCR surgery. Since there are several potential problems with tubes outlined above, and since performing surgery with tubes adds to the cost and duration of surgery, it would benefit patients and healthcare providers to know whether they increase DCR success rate.
The standard surgical technique for endonasal DCR has been described by the principle investigator.[1] The identical procedure would be performed in both groups with the exception that half the patients would have tubes inserted, and half would not.
Objectives To assess functional and anatomical success rates of endonasal DCR surgery with and without silicone tubes.
Research Method Prospective, randomised, controlled, interventional trial.
Statistical analysis The primary end point will be functional success, determined by patient-reported symptoms. This will be assessed a minimum of six months post-operatively. In patients with tubes these will be removed at 3 months post-operatively.
The operation will be considered successful if the patient is free of symptoms of a watering eye. It will be considered partially successful if the patient has noticeable improvement but still may experience tearing under certain situations. The operation will be deemed a failure if the patient continues to have symptoms that are no better or worse than pre-operatively.
The secondary end point will be anatomical success, as measured by patency of nasolacrimal irrigation at 6 months post-operatively. In patients with tubes these will be removed at 3 months post-operatively. The operation will be considered successful if there is free flow on irrigation with no reflux. It will be considered partially successful if the nasolacrimal duct is patent but there is more than 50% reflux as assessed by an experienced oculoplastic surgeon. It will be considered a failure if there is more than 50% reflux.
The secondary end point will be anatomical success, as measured by patency of nasolacrimal irrigation at 6 months post-operatively.
Statistical analysis planned From a previous study by the PI[1] (and also from numerous other studies in the ophthalmic literature) the baseline success rate for endonasal DCR with tubes is 90%. The current trial is a non-inferiority study, ie to demonstrate that surgery without tubes is not inferior to surgery with tubes.
In order to demonstrate non-inferiority, the recommended approach is to pre-specify a margin of non-inferiority in the protocol. After study completion, a two-sided 95% confidence interval for the true difference between the two agents will be constructed.[8]
Planned sample size A sample size of 200 (100 participants in each arm of the trial) is expected to give a 95% confidence interval of width of approximately 0.15 ie +/- 7.5% around the estimated difference in success rates.
References
- Dolman PJ. Comparison of external dacryocystorhinostomy with nonlaser endonasal dacryocystorhinostomy. Ophthalmology. 2003 Jan;110(1):78-84
- Smirnov G, Tuomilehto H, Teräsvirta M, Nuutinen J, Seppä J. Silicone tubing after endoscopic dacryocystorhinostomy: is it necessary? Am J Rhinol. 2006 Nov-Dec;20(6):600-2
- Mortimore S, Banhegy GY, Lancaster JL, Karkanevatos A. Endoscopic dacryocystorhinostomy without silicone stenting. J R Coll Surg Edinb. 1999 Dec;44(6):371-3
- Kashkouli MB, Parvaresh M, Modarreszadeh M, Hashemi M, Beigi B. Factors affecting the success of external dacryocystorhinostomy. Orbit. 2003 Dec;22(4):247-55
- Beigi B, Westlake W, Chang B, Marsh C, Jacob J, Chatfield J. Dacryocystorhinostomy in south west England. Eye. 1998;12 ( Pt 3a):358-62.
- Unlü HH, Oztürk F, Mutlu C, Ilker SS, Tarhan S. Endoscopic dacryocystorhinostomy without stents. Auris Nasus Larynx. 2000 Jan;27(1):65-71
- Smirnov G, Tuomilehto H, Teräsvirta M, Nuutinen J, Seppä J. Silicone tubing is not necessary after primary endoscopic dacryocystorhinostomy: A prospective randomized study. Am J Rhinol 22, 214-217, 2008
- http://www.emea.europa.eu/pdfs/human/ewp/215899en.pdf
Study design
- Primary purpose
- Treatment
- Allocation
- Randomised
- Intervention model
- Parallel groups
- Masking
- None (open label)
- Number of arms
- 2
| Arm | Type | Receives |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | No intervention | –Endonasal DCR with silicone tubes (this is the control group since it is the standard procedure / gold standard, although the evidence base for the use of tubes is lacking, hence the need for this trial) |
| 2 | Active comparator | Procedure: Endonasal dacryocystorhinostomyEndonasal DCR without silicone tubes (this is the 'intervention' arm) |
Who may qualify
- Ages
- 16 years and older
- Sex
- All
- Healthy volunteers
- Accepted
- Age groups
- Child, Adult, Older adult
Key inclusion criteria (1 listed)
- Adult patients (> 16 years) undergoing primary DCR for NLDO who have given fully informed consent to be in the trial
Key exclusion criteria (3 listed)
- Age less than 16 years
- Previous ipsilateral DCR or nasal surgery
- Canalicular disease
Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening; this overview does not establish that a patient qualifies. Full inclusion and exclusion criteria.
Interventions
| Intervention | Type | Arms |
|---|---|---|
| Endonasal dacryocystorhinostomyThe standard dacryocystorhinostomy operation performed in this centre uses silicone tubes to stent open the newly created ostium between the lacrimal sac and the nasal cavity. However many surgeons in other departments / countries around the world perform the surgery without tubes. No large well-conducted RCT has been published comparing success rates / complication rates for the two techniques. For this study the control group is the arm which receives tubes (our standard procedure) and the 'interventional' group is the arm not receiving tubes. Details of the operative technique for endonasal DCR with tubes can be found in the following reference: Dolman PJ. Comparison of external dacryocystorhinostomy with nonlaser endonasal dacryocystorhinostomy. Ophthalmology. 2003 Jan;110(1):78-84. The group that will not receive tubes will undergo the same procedure except that the insertion of tubes will be omitted. | Procedure or surgery | 2 |
Primary outcome
The primary end point will be functional success, determined by patient-reported symptoms. This will be assessed a minimum of six months post-operatively. In patients with tubes these will be removed at 3 months post-operatively.
Time frame: 6 months
1 secondary outcome
The secondary end point will be anatomical success, as measured by patency of nasolacrimal irrigation at 6 months post-operatively. In patients with tubes these will be removed at 3 months post-operatively.
Time frame: 6 months
Results and safety
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
Research links
- Official record on ClinicalTrials.govLast updated by the sponsor 3 Mar 2017.
Related trials for Nasolacrimal Duct Obstruction
RecruitingPhase 3
Artificial Tears to Prevent Nasolacrimal Duct Obstruction in Patients Treated With Radioactive Iodine for Thyroid Cancer
Nasolacrimal Duct Obstruction, Thyroid Cancer
Active, not recruitingPhase 4
Efficacy and Safety of Piclosept in the Complex Treatment of Neonatal Dacryocystitis
Neonatal Dacryocystitis, Congenital Nasolacrimal Duct Obstruction
Not yet recruiting
Outcomes of Stentless Dacryocystorhinostomy in Primary Acquired Nasolacrimal Duct Obstruction.
Nasolacrimal Duct Obstruction, Epiphora
Not yet recruiting
Outcomes of Early Lacrimal Probing Versus Lacrimal Sac Massage in Infants With Congenital Nasolacrimal Duct Obstruction
Lacrimal Duct Obstruction
Recruiting
Comparative Outcomes of Four Versus Two Balloon Inflation Points in Dacryoplasty for Primary Acquired Nasolacrimal Duct Obstruction
Primary Acquired Nasolacrimal Duct Obstruction
Referral and contact
AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals. Contact the study team or a site listed below; they decide who can take part. This study is not recruiting at the moment.
Peter Dolman, MD principal investigator
University of British Columbia
2 sites in 1 country: see every site and its status.
Questions about this trial
What is this clinical trial studying?
A Phase 4 study testing Endonasal dacryocystorhinostomy in people with Nasolacrimal Duct Obstruction, run by University of British Columbia at 2 sites in Canada.
The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.
Who may be eligible to take part?
The sponsor lists 1 inclusion and 3 exclusion criteria. Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.
Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?
The record says: finished, as of the sponsor's last update on 3 Mar 2017. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.
Where is the study taking place?
The record lists 2 sites in Canada. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.
What are the possible benefits and risks?
They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.
What does this phase mean?
Phase 4 studies take place after a treatment is approved, to learn more about its long-term benefits and risks in everyday use.
Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.
Are results available for this study?
The study is completed, but results are not available in the source record. That does not mean the treatment did or did not work.
How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?
The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.
What does the primary outcome measure?
The primary end point will be functional success, determined by patient-reported symptoms. This will be assessed a minimum of six months post-operatively. In patients with tubes these will be removed at 3 months post-operatively. (time frame: 6 months). It is what the study was designed to measure, not a finding.
Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?
No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.
How often is this information updated?
AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 3 Mar 2017.