AzTrials
AzTrials

Pancreatic CancerPhase 3NCT00014651

Vapreotide in Treating Patients Undergoing Elective Pancreatic Resection

A Phase 3 study testing vapreotide and conventional surgery in people with Pancreatic Cancer and Perioperative/Postoperative Complications, run by Mayo Clinic at 18 sites in United States.

Terminated

Stopped early. The study ended before it was planned to and will not resume.

Official record
Search all trials

Trial summary

RATIONALE: Drugs such as vapreotide may prevent complications following pancreatic resection. It is not yet known if vapreotide is more effective than no further therapy in preventing side effects of pancreatic resection. Read more about this study

Who is it for?
Ages 18 to 90 years
What is being tested?
vapreotide and conventional surgery
Type of treatment
Surgery or procedure
How many people
Not given
Where
18 sitesUnited States
Study dates
Mar 2001to Apr 2002
Phase
Phase 3
Are there results?
None posted in the registry

Key requirements

Who can take part, as listed by the sponsor. Only the study team can confirm whether you are eligible, so take this list to your doctor.

  • Ages 18 to 90 years
  • All sexes
  • No healthy volunteers
  • Adult, Older adult

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Planned elective pancreatic resection due to presumed pancreatic tumor (either proximal or distal pancreatic lesion) or presumed neoplasm of the ampullary or periampullary region Require peri-anastomotic drain(s) near the pancreaticoenterostomy or near the pancreatic stump closure The following are excluded: Emergency surgery of the pancreas (acute pancreatitis, pancreatic trauma) Known chronic pancreatitis (pancreatic cancer with duct obstructive chronic pancreatitis allowed) Need for total pancreatectomy Need for pancreatic transplantation Need for elective pancreatic-cyst anastomosis Need for pancreatic duct drainage operation without resection (pancreatic stents allowed if performed with partial pancreatic resection) Enucleation of a pancreatic neoplasm

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 to 90 Performance status: Not specified Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Not specified Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than 2.0 mg/dL Renal: Creatinine no greater than 2 times upper limit of normal Other: Not pregnant or nursing Negative pregnancy test Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: No neoadjuvant or postoperative adjuvant chemotherapy from 2 weeks before to 2 weeks after surgery Endocrine therapy: At least 4 weeks since prior somatostatin or somatostatin analogue No other concurrent somatostatin or somatostatin analogues Radiotherapy: No neoadjuvant or postoperative adjuvant radiotherapy from 2 weeks before to 2 weeks after surgery Surgery: See Disease Characteristics Other: No concurrent pancreatic enzyme inhibitors (e.g., antiproteases) No concurrent immunosuppressive agents

Trial locations and contacts

18 sites in 1 country.

18 sites in 1 country

United States18 sites
  • Taubman Health Care Center

    Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48109

  • Johns Hopkins Oncology Center

    Baltimore, Maryland, 21231

  • University of Alabama Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Birmingham, Alabama, 35294

  • Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02114

  • Brigham and Women's Hospital

    Boston, Massachusetts, 02115

  • Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Medical Center

    Chicago, Illinois, 60612

  • University of Chicago Cancer Research Center

    Chicago, Illinois, 60637

  • Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute

    Detroit, Michigan, 48201

  • Duke Comprehensive Cancer Center

    Durham, North Carolina, 27710

  • University of Texas Medical Branch

    Galveston, Texas, 77555-1329

  • University of Texas - MD Anderson Cancer Center

    Houston, Texas, 77030-4009

  • Loyola University Medical Center

    Maywood, Illinois, 60153

  • Medical College of Wisconsin

    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, 53226

  • NYU School of Medicine's Kaplan Comprehensive Cancer Center

    New York, New York, 10016

  • University of Pennsylvania Cancer Center

    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19104

  • Mayo Clinic Cancer Center

    Rochester, Minnesota, 55905

  • Virginia Mason Medical Center

    Seattle, Washington, 98111

  • Moffett Cancer Center (South)

    Tampa, Florida, 33601

Other trials in United States

About this study

Official title: Vapreotide in Pancreas Surgery: A Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled, Randomized Study of Vapreotide to Prevent Post-Surgical Complications in Patients Undergoing Elective Pancreatic Resection Grant Application Title: Vapreotide to Prevent Complications of Pancreatic Resection

RATIONALE: Drugs such as vapreotide may prevent complications following pancreatic resection. It is not yet known if vapreotide is more effective than no further therapy in preventing side effects of pancreatic resection.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying vapreotide to see how well it works compared to a placebo in preventing complications in patients undergoing surgery for pancreatic cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Compare the efficacy of vapreotide versus placebo in reducing postoperative pancreatic complications in patients undergoing elective pancreatic resection. II. Compare the postoperative complications occurring within 45 days after surgery unrelated to the pancreas, days of hospitalization and survival at 45 days after surgery, number of rehospitalizations, and number of postoperative blood units or packed red blood cells administered in patients treated with these regimens.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to one of two treatment arms. Arm I: Patients undergo surgical resection on day 1 and receive vapreotide subcutaneously twice daily on days 1-7. Arm II: Patients undergo surgical resection and receive a placebo as in arm I. Patients are followed at days 28 and 45.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 580 patients (290 per arm) will be accrued for this study.

Being tested
vapreotide, conventional surgery
Keywords
perioperative/postoperative complications, stage I pancreatic cancer
Medical subject headings
Pancreatic Neoplasms, Postoperative Complications

What participants receive

What participants receive. In a randomised study each person is assigned to one group by chance.

Timeline

From the start of the study to its completion; the mark is today. Estimated dates are the sponsor’s plan.

  1. First posted5 May 2004 (estimated)
  2. Study startMar 2001
  3. Primary completionMar 2001
  4. Study completionApr 2002

Why it stopped: Teminated by the DSMB because there are no differences between the control group and the Vapreotide group

Resources

More details

For doctors and researchers: how the study is designed, who runs it, and its registry IDs.

Study design
Study type
Interventional
Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Supportive care
IDs, dates and publications
ClinicalTrials.gov ID
NCT00014651
Sponsor's protocol ID
CDR0000068584
Other IDs
P30CA015083, MAYO-IRB-B-234-00, MAYO-FDR001827, NCI-G01-1938
Status last verified
Aug 2010
First submitted
10 Apr 2001
Last updated
10 Aug 2010
Results posted
No

Questions about this trial

What is this clinical trial studying?

A Phase 3 study testing vapreotide and conventional surgery in people with Pancreatic Cancer and Perioperative/Postoperative Complications, run by Mayo Clinic at 18 sites in United States.

The full registered description is in the About this study section and the official record.

Who may be eligible to take part?

Eligibility is decided by the study team after screening, so read the full criteria and contact a listed site.

Is this clinical trial currently recruiting?

The record says: stopped early, as of the sponsor's last update on 10 Aug 2010. Status can change between updates, so confirm with the study contact before making plans.

Where is the study taking place?

The record lists 18 sites in United States. Whether a site is taking part right now should be confirmed with that site. See every site.

What are the possible benefits and risks?

They depend on the study and the treatment, and no study can promise a benefit. The study team explains the known risks during informed consent, before anyone joins; the record itself does not list them.

What does this phase mean?

Phase 3 studies compare the treatment with the current standard treatment or a placebo in a large group, to confirm how well it works and watch for side effects.

Not every study follows the same path, and some studies (observational studies, device studies) have no phase.

Are results available for this study?

The study was stopped early (reason given: Teminated by the DSMB because there are no differences between the control group and the Vapreotide group). Results are not available in the source record.

How can a doctor refer a patient or contact the research team?

The record lists no contact. The official record names the sponsor, who can be asked directly. AzTrials does not enrol participants or take referrals.

Where can I read the original study information?
Does a listing mean the treatment is approved or proven to work?

No. A listing means the study is registered. It does not show that the treatment is safe, works, or is approved by a regulator.

How often is this information updated?

AzTrials copies changed records from ClinicalTrials.gov every night and reloads the whole registry every week. The sponsor last updated this record on 10 Aug 2010.

Free account

Log in to keep searching

You’ve used your 3 free searches. AzTrials is free: log in or create a free account to keep searching clinical trials and save the ones you want to follow.

Create a free accountLog in